Humans logo

An Accused Man

A story within a story

By Don Anderson IIPublished 4 years ago 4 min read
Like
Photo by Jonathan Rados on Unsplash

It was a hectic time during the middle of 2015. I was working, was going to school, fell in love, got my heart kicked the shit out of, and I got depressed because of it but there was another thing that happened that I wish I could've stopped other than the thing that I was in the middle of with Sofia and Ellen, it was being put under a light to be seen as something that I'm not.

It all started around the end of 2014, I went and saw Guardians of the Galaxy, I was dating Linda at the time and I wanted her to come but she couldn't make it to the movie so I ended up going with a group of friends instead which was fine. Among the group of friends, there was a gal, who we'll call Rue, that I never met before. She was cute and all but I didn't think too much of her.

A few months later, we ended up being in the same play together and by that point, I and Linda had gone our separate ways but before I tried to get with Sofia. I sadly tried to get with Rue first and I flirted with her but she wasn't feeling it so she said no, which is fine so I moved on. After that, she ended dated one of my friends and from what I saw they were doing okay but they broke up and it was pretty bad from what I heard because she always complained about him.

The next day, after I found out about Sofia and Ellen, she started crying when she came to the green room because it was another episode of her complaining about my friend while he's moved on from her so my friends took her in as if she's with us when really, she might as well have been Zemo from Captain America: Civil War because the shit she pulled was some bullshit.

About a month or so later, I found myself having to defend myself from my friends a lot because they'd always tell me to stop flirting with Rue and I'd always tell them that I wasn't but the more I thought about it, I'd admit my mistake so yeah, I did flirt with her sometimes but the way she would paint it made me sound like I was a creepy guy who just never took no for an answer like I was making my way towards raping her or something which is something I'd never do.

Another thing that clicked with me was that she was always quiet and everything around me but whenever I was gone, I know for a fact that she'd talk about me a lot when I wasn't around like if I was away from her to be at home or something because within a few days, they'd always tell me the same thing to stop flirting and everything. So take the fact that I was dealing with the news of Sofia and Ellen and add the stress of practically defending myself to my friends every day because of Rue's perception of me so to put it simply, she turned my friends against me.

I didn't want to believe that my friends were against me but near the end of 2015, I went to hang out with a friend who did what I was about to do and I met his girlfriend that night. I found her insanely attractive and I thought about flirting with her but my common sense came in to remind me that I never flirt with another guy's girl and most importantly, that's my friend's girl and she's off-limits so I didn't act on it. After I went home, I talked to another friend about it and they said that I had to apologize but I had nothing to apologize for. I knew everything had changed because Rue had gotten into my friends' heads and I couldn't do anything about it.

I left all of them behind and moved on except for Peter because he was always willing to listen to me and he knew that I wasn't the kind of guy that Rue was making me out to be. Now, because of the news with Sofia and Ellen and the fact that Rue turned my friends against me amid the news, I had to get away from all of it so I moved to a different city after I graduated from community college and quit my job I was working at the time plus all my friends were getting married, having kids, and being in relationships. I figured it was better to start over than to try and fight for something that I can't get back since the damage was done. Call it my endgame.

friendship
Like

About the Creator

Don Anderson II

Movies, memoirs, music lover, graduate of community college, and university

Quiet writer but I'm sure my stories from years ago are still of interest

Tips are welcomed

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.