Humans logo

Amongst wolves II

The continued story

By Krissy RomeroPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
Like
Amongst wolves II
Photo by Marc-Olivier Jodoin on Unsplash

Rebirth

One year later

Dottie sits waiting patiently for her bus to Dallas, Texas to arrive. The bus station smells of body odor and cigarettes, hiding from the smell she hides her face in her sweatshirt, carrying only one duffle, with a couple jeans inside and $500 stashed inside, the most she was able to save from little petty marijuana sales.

24 hour bus trip, from Upstate New York down to Dallas, Texas

Dottie was not only anxious to escape the dark loss of her recent past, but ambitious, ambitious enough to take a leap of faith to change her life, and by any means necessary.

Tyesha left to Texas before Dottie, following her boyfriend who landed a pretty good job. Once Dottie received the ok to come down from her best friend she didn't hesitate, she took the first opportunity to go and planned on never looking back.

24 hours on a hot musty bus, was the least of Dottie's worries, she admired the views, watching the winter weather disappear the deeper she headed south. As the weather changed, so did Dottie, every time the bus stopped for a break, she made sure to step out and breathe in the change in the air.

It was 10pm when the bus pulled into the Dallas, Texas station. Dottie's heart pounced with excitement. Stepping off the bus the first face she saw was her best friend, waiting for her, like she knew she would.

Tyesha runs to her friend she hasn't seen in over a year. " MY SIS" Dottie smiles and hugs her friend tightly. "I've been waiting her 3 hours, I didn't know what time you were coming" she laughs. "Thank you Ty, you don't know how much this means to me."

"You know I got you Dottie, cut it out this for life JU HEARD!" they both walk towards a nice BMW X6. "Damn Ty, this yo car?! Let me find out you doing it like that!" Dottie opens passenger seat and jumps in.

" Bitch what ya been doing out here? Put me on right now! They both laugh.

" Nah this is Rah's whip, but you know what's his is mine. He's happy you out here, I don't hang out with none of these girls out here, they be on some iffy stuff."

" I feel you sis, well I'm out here and you know I'm ready for whatever Ty."

Are you hungry? Tyesha ask while handing Dottie the blunt.

"Hell yeah!" Dottie looks out the window, admiring the Dallas skyline from the free way and hits the blunt...." You mind if I open this window, I want to smell the Texas air."

Pulling up to a Taco spot in a gas station seemed Odd to Dottie, but what she saw lit her eyes up, this was no ordinary gas station this was THE SPOT, everybody who was anybody seemed to be pulled up at this gas station.

From foreign exotic cars to candy painted old school cars were out, blasting music and it was a vibe.

"I can get use to this Ty" Dottie laughs

"Hell yeah sis, get use to it, this your new home now!"

Rah Tyesha's boyfriend pulls up to the gas station in a Mercedes Benz, and hops out the passenger. "Yo Dottie, what's good yo?!

Dottie can see his smile from a mile away. "Bro wassup!?"

"Happy to see you sis, word. Now Ty got someone to gossip to, bc Man this girl been burning my ear off, with all this I miss Dottie this, and I miss Dottie that."

Tyesha jabs Rah in the arm, they all laugh.

Rah continues, "But real talk sis, I want you to meet my homie, Zell, he's in the car."

Rah signals his friend to come out.

Dottie's eyes lit up, she hasn't been excited about guys or the idea of love ever since her tragic loss at the court house that morning. Her sons father left beyond traumatized and jaded by love. However when Zell walked towards her, she couldn't help feel a magnetism towards him.

Dottie feels nervous and a bit insecure, although she is beautiful in every sense of the word, she did just get off 24 hour bus ride.

"Damn Rah, you could've at least let a girl freshen up first before you introduce me to your fine ass friend." Tyesha laughs at her friends response

Zell laughs too with a joking response.

"Well damn lil mama its nice to meet you too."

Dottie blushes and they shake hands, everyone eats their tacos on the hood of the BMW.

Rah and Zell, take off and Tyesha and Dottie head to the house.

"So what you think about Zell?" Tyesha asks, with a grin on her face.

"First of all why you looking like that? I know you with your little sneaky self, don't be trying to play love Doctor." Dottie jokingly replies.

Tyesha laughs.

"Dottie....friend... My forever in my heart sis, that man the plug girl, him and Rah got some big shit going, and he's single, so I suggest you play this card right."

"Say no more sis, say no more."

Dottie stares off into the new city she calls home.

friendship
Like

About the Creator

Krissy Romero

IM A WRITER, A STORY TELLER.

I PRIDE MYSELF IN WHAT I DO, WHAT I DO IS WHO I AM.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.