Humans logo

All That I Am

About Me

By J. Delaney-HowePublished 3 years ago Updated 3 years ago 5 min read
47
J.Delaney-Howe

I recently saw a few stories on Vocal that were “About Me” from the creators, which prompted me to do the same. Yes, it is an excellent way for people to understand me, and with that comes some sense from my writing. But it is also difficult for me.

For the last ten years, my life has been a hard road filled with seemingly perfect moments and events, overshadowed and drowned out by difficulties and trials. But, for the first time in my life, I know who I am. And even more importantly, I like who I am. I am content with who I am. A life that has been filled with difficulties, from childhood to adulthood, a failed marriage and a divorce where I lost everything, and a moment of clarity about myself all made me who I am. All of these things give me plenty of material to write about. And that is what I do.

Currently, I am devoting much of my writing time to Vocal, working on my novel as well. The sense of community and support from the Vocal communities on Facebook have been great. To know me now, to understand me now, I have to start at the beginning.

After my divorce, I was wrestling with my sexuality. I guess I have known since about junior high school that I was also interested in guys. I had a girlfriend, whom I married and had a family with, but this never-ending attraction to men was also there. I was also attracted to my wife, very much so. I still find women attractive. After the divorce, as I tried to put the pieces of my life back together, I came to terms with being gay.

I planned to tell the kids when they were older and only have flings to meet my needs. No relationships.

Almost immediately, I started feeling this pressure from friends, family, and the gay community as a whole to assign myself a label. I have always struggled with fitting into a specific label until I decided it didn’t matter to me. Bisexual? Polysexual? Gay? Bear?I don’t know the answer to that, and I don’t care anymore. I met a man who had accepted me where I was. He never pressured me to come out. We were dating for months, and he was known to the kids and a close friend. I eventually did tell my kids I was gay and who this man was, and they accepted it. We moved in together, and one of his primary goals became making a home for my children. Now our children.

That man’s name is Mark, and I married him in a picture-perfect winter country wedding. We had pine, and candles, and a fresh powder of snow. The white church from the 1800s was glowing from inside. The choir in the loft sounded like angels as we proceeded down the aisle. Our ceremony was all about our love for each other and our family. A bagpiper played us down the aisle after we both said I do.

So am I gay? Sure. Am I bi? Probably. But it doesn’t matter to me. I am a husband to my soul mate and partner in all things.

I have bipolar type 1 with suicidal ideations and dysphoric mania. My husband is in it with me. He is my biggest supporter, my biggest encourager, and knows the cycles of my bipolar just as well as I do. And he loves me through it. I write about mental health, both in narrative and poem. It is part of who I am.

I am a father. I have four great kids. They are all independent thinkers. They are all kind. And they all have struggles of their own they are working through as they come into adulthood. My three sons are adults, and my daughter is twelve. (I am dreading the teen years!). I am very fortunate to be a close-knit family. My ex-wife, myself, and my husband make a pretty good parenting team!

I am a son and a brother. My father passed when he was fifty, and I was thirty-three. The process of losing him and being with him as he took his final breath changed me forever. I have a mother who has taught us kindness and love. She always made Christmas so special for us, and that has certainly rubbed off on me.

I am a friend. I have a small circle that is more like family to me. I would do anything for them, and they would, and have, for me.

I am a patient. It takes hard work to manage bipolar, but it can be done. Appointments and procedures for the brain condition are a considerable part of my life. Pain is a massive part of my life.

I am an artist. I love to create and have spent the last five years building signs, furniture, and art. I have painted as far back as I can remember. I also play the piano and sing.

I am a gardener who feels an almost spiritual connection to the land and nature.

And because of the things listed above, I am a writer. My favorite assignments in school were the writing ones. I have written poetry for my loves, stories, narratives, blogs, and journals. Writing and the other forms of my creativity are in me, and that outlet is great for my well-being.

All of these parts of me make me who I am. I am a lover. I am a fighter. I am a bipolar poet, a warrior with words. An old soul loves to sing about life, love, grief, and happiness. I love to tell stories and paint pictures that help others see through my lens. I love to restore. I strive to be kind and compassionate. I love withabandon and fight just the same. I am an overcomer. I am a storyteller. I am loud. I am funny. I love to be the life of the party. I can also be quiet and reflective. I am a big thinker. I am a procrastinator. I am the sum of all my life up to this point. I am content with that.

I am me.

lgbtq
47

About the Creator

J. Delaney-Howe

Bipolar poet. Father. Grandfather. Husband. Gay man. I write poetry, prose, some fiction and a good bit about family. Thank you for stopping by.

Queer Vocal Voices on Facebook.

Find me on Facebook.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  4. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

Add your insights

Comments (14)

Sign in to comment
  • River Joy4 months ago

    This is such a lovely picture into who you are Jim. You're a strong person. This is beautifully written.

  • This is so beautiful and intimate. Thank you for sharing Jim!!!

  • Mother Combs4 months ago

    Great to know more about you. I'm proud to call you my friend.

  • This was so powerful I’m really glad you’ve found a point in your life where you can finally be who you are

  • Tiffany Gordon 12 months ago

    It's great 2 learn more about you Jim! You're an amazing talent!

  • L.C. Schäfer12 months ago

    Raw and honest - well done. That takes guts. Guts I don't have! I feel, if you read me, you know me more than well enough. 😁

  • Kelli Sheckler-Amsdenabout a year ago

    Being transparent is such a difficult thing, especially with yourself. Thank you for trusting us with your story. I am glad you have found happiness, that is the legacy your children will cherish and mimic. Beautiful

  • Heather Hublerabout a year ago

    Thank you for sharing this and being so honest and open. So happy that you've found someone to just be who you are with and that you know who you are. Those are priceless in this life :)

  • Yes, you are you and that's all that matters. Just be the way that makes you happy. I'm so glad you found Mark who's so supportive of your mental health. You also have such lovely children. Sending more happiness your way!

  • Cathy holmesabout a year ago

    This is a beautiful, personal story of coming to terms who you are. You sound like a damn good man to me. Thank you for sharing.

  • Gina C.about a year ago

    Thank you so much for sharing your very endearing story! It is one of amazing strength and beauty. ❤️ It's really great to get to know you! You've inspired me to write one about myself as well! ☺️

  • Babs Iversonabout a year ago

    Re-read! Previously hearted!!! Fabulous stoey that's from your heart!!! Loving it!!!💖💖💕

  • Donna Reneeabout a year ago

    “I am content with that.” I love this and I love that you got to this place! It’s such a process (and a work in progress for me.)

  • Judey Kalchik about a year ago

    I'm glad that comments are now here, so I can publicly state how much I LOVE this article.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.