Humans logo

Ahhh Chris, what now?

What his Chris Pratt's post tells us about him

By Caroline EganPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
4

Far be it from me to usually be bothered with celebrities and what they normally get up to in their own twisted version of reality, but what is up with Chris Pratt recently?

I saw this Instagram post recently and couldn’t help but feel weird about it. I used to think Chris Pratt was cool and cute. But this solidified the creepy way he has seemed to evolve — starting with him finding God. It's more than likely a coincidence more than anything, but it's where he met his current wife, Katherine Swcharzenegger.

Firstly, I’m not anti-religion or anything. I’m planted firmly on the agnostic fence where I want to believe but can’t see that there is anything to believe in. And I don’t think faith or a support system like religion is inherently bad. It’s just that once Chris went down this route, he visibly started changing negatively. I know coloration is not necessarily causation, but this was a definite marker on his timeline when Chris started to change from his Parks and Recreation days.

This post seriously rubbed me up the wrong way for several reasons, and this isn’t just the feminist in me speaking.

Here are my main issues with it:

He never names his wife (her again name is Katherine Swcharzenegger, and yes that means what you think).

He simply talks about what she has given him, including a ‘healthy son,’ which is extremely problematic when you think of his previous wife, Anna Farris, and their son, who had some severe health issues. Is there previous child not of much use to him? It's arguably an unintentional comment, but the fact that he did not even consider how tone-deaf this sounds, it's a pretty bad reflection on his view on his other kid.

He compares her to baseball cards (well I mean I think they're baseball cards, I'm Irish and don't like sport or care enough to research this). Is she an object? Why would you compare her to an object? Is she a prop to him?

He admits he won’t do anything nice for their anniversary (this is probably an attempt at humour, but it’s more cringe than funny). His contribution to the relationship is basically zero (opening jars *slow clap*). He is making a joke out of his laziness/ineptitude as an equal partner and expects people to find it amusing.

It seems he wanted to create a post like Ryan Reynolds and Blake Lively posts, which are both adorable and hilarious. He fails badly. A post that would have had a much more earnest approach, with genuine appreciation, instead of attempting to be funny and missing the mark, would have been way more effective.

It smells a bit narcissistic to me, from the way she’s looking at him in the post to the language he uses to tell her how great ‘she’ is for giving him everything.

He also talks about how annoying she is, but it’s not funny, and the issues are minor and somewhat blown out of proportion.

At best the whole thing reads a bit like those tiring boomer jokes where people give out about their partner for merely existing. 'Take my wife, right?' *winks.

I know you might be thinking that I’ve got too much time on my hands, and perhaps I do. However, I think the words that we use to describe our partners can be very telling as to how we view relationships and treat those closest to us.

If you like what you read you can support my writing with a tip, or you can buy my book Fahckmylife 2: The Devil’s Doorbell here.

celebrities
4

About the Creator

Caroline Egan

Hailing from Dublin, Ireland, Caroline has a variety of published fiction and non-fiction, written in a wry style on all things nerdy and neurotic. Her collection of essays Fahckmylife: The Little Book of Fahck, is available on Amazon.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.