Humans logo

Advice From A Boss Mom

Advice I Took With Me Thoughtout My Life

By Amanda J MollettPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like
Advice From A Boss Mom
Photo by Sandra Seitamaa on Unsplash

"Do onto others as you would like them to do to you!"

This is the golden rule... so, why do more people not follow this rule?

Could it be that we have forgotten this rule? Or is that we were never taught?

My mom drilled this in my head growing up. I will always remember when she first explained this rule to me.

Not that I had done anything wrong, but others had sone wrong to me and I asked her why are people like this. She told me that people simply do not follow the golden rule as amthey should. I remember asking her what the golden rule was. And she said, Honey, what is our golden rule for our home and family ?" I answered her, " "Do onto others as you would like them to do to you!" "Yes." She said. "See, honey, some people treat you one way , and sometines that way is badly. And they expect you to treat them nice, no matter what behaior they show you. So you need to trest others how you want to be treated to teach them how to treat you the right way."

My mama was a smart lady. I never knew that was a rule , or that it was read in the word, I just thought my came up with it and taught us to follow through with it to teach us to be good humans.

Now, do not for one second think my mama was stupid, she did treat people right, how she wanted to be treated, and did use people. But she also did not let people come in and treat her like crap and then say, "Oh. Thank you. "

We are strong enough to step up and say we will not put up with the behavior we get back. But we will not stop treating people like we want to be treated. Some people have to be shown how they are doing wrong, how they can do better, and what behavior we were tolerate.

I have used this lesson throughout my life, when someone at work gives me problems, it would help me to instead of blowing up, I was able to try to show them by example and treat them the way I would hope they would treat me.

I have taight my kids this lesson that my mom taught me, and hopefully it does them well in their lives.

I also use this with my husband . I try to show him how to be a good husband by trying to be a good wife. Showing him how i would want to be shown reapect and love. Some times it does not work out, but that does not mean to give up.

I hope that my kids will pass on the lesson that they learned from me to their own kids , the lesson I learned from my mom.

I learned a lot of lessons from my mom. However, this was one of the lessons that took me throughout my life and stuck with me no matter where my life took me.

I have always believed the words my mom spoke to me that day. The look on her face that she belived what she was telling me, and had hoped that I belived it as well.

I remember that talk very well. I loved having these talks with my mom. She gave the best advice. Advice that she gave me, I took throughout my life, and even passed on to my kids. The lessons she taught me I u have used every day of my life since they were taught to me.

She was indeed a boss mom. Thank you mom.

family
Like

About the Creator

Amanda J Mollett

First, and foremost I am a mom…always . I am a proud mom of a graduate & artist. I am a author/writer and a journalist. I have multiple certificates in journalism and various writing certificates such as novel writing and creative writing.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.