Humans logo

Adventures of The Rubber Lady

The Steamer Trunk

By L.A. CumminsPublished 3 years ago 5 min read
Like
Photos by Martin Griff * Bordentown, NJ * 1990

I picked up this old steamer trunk at a thrift store in about 1985, I think I paid about $15. for it. I was intrigued because it was locked, with no key. I had to ask myself, what kind of treasures are locked inside? I tried and tried to gently pick the lock, so as to not damage it. I finally lost all patience and pried the lock open. Although slightly bent, it was intact and could still latch and lock. A screwdriver became it's forever key. So, you ask, what was inside? Nothing, that it didn't originally come with. It had specially made hangers and drawers. The hangers sat on metal rods inside the trunk. One of the rods had an extension that slid out, so you could hang clothing on it, when open. It was very well crafted and something to behold. I had no idea, at that time, just how it would become so much a part of my story.

The Contents

I had just made my rubber skirt and The Rubber Lady was in her very early days of figuring out what all this meant. One day, I decided I needed a neoprene wetsuit. Not a newer one but an older REAL neoprene wetsuit. Surprisingly, that wasn't hard to find! There was a scuba diving school/business here in Dayton. I had no idea, until I saw the wetsuit in The Trading Post. She wanted it out of her way because they didn't use it. It was taking up space. I can't remember what I paid for it but it wasn't much.

Early pictures of the wetsuit. OMG... I look so young!

It didn't take me long to figure out why these heavy neoprene wetsuits went out of use. They are very restrictive. The pants were awkward and it took a lot of effort to move your arms. I ditched the pants and cut the arms off of the suit. It fit beautifully inside my steamer trunk. It was like the custom hangers were made for that wetsuit.

In the early picture (above) I'm wearing a chain belt and studded leather belt. They didn't seem like enough of a statement, for what was becoming an interesting use of the wetsuit. That's when I decided to make a handcuff belt. My belts were all made from rubber and weaved together with macramé knots. I added a thumb-cuff belt, just because I could and it really balanced the look.

One day, I walked into Arms Depot Gun Shop. They sold old war memorabilia. I saw several spent ammo cartridge belts. I asked if I could try them on, Ha! He helped me get two sets to the size, where I could wear them over each shoulder. Sold! I probably paid more than I should have for them, but I just had to have them.

Just before my father passed away, he gave me a ceremonial sword. I never really knew what to do with it, but I kept it because it was the last thing my dad ever gave me. I decided that it needed it's own rubber belt with clips to attach to the sheath.

Steamer Trunks are made for Travel

The Rubber Lady had certainly taken a turn from the original skirt. My trunk was filling up with some pretty interesting items. In 1986, I made a move from Dayton, Oh to New Jersey. It only made sense to leave The Rubber Lady packed in the trunk, she had come to be stored in. Over the next five years, RL remained locked up in that trunk. Occasionally, I would bring out a bracelet or handcuff belt.

By 1990, I cut that Rubberbitch loose from the trunk. I knew lots of photographers. I started putting together a portfolio of RL photos. Although, I never wore the wetsuit in those early days, it was always safely tucked away in the steamer trunk.

Photos by John Michael * Hoboken, NJ * 1990

By 1991, I moved back to Dayton with The Rubber Lady in the back of a Uhaul, inside that trunk. The steamer trunk was perfect for storing the wetsuit and all it's accessories. It kept everything together, safe and clean. By 1992, the wetsuit came out of the trunk and onto my latest mannequin, Entity. The costume is titled "War Against Racism". To this day, she is still wearing it.

Entity has some great stories!

In 1992-93 I did five live performance shows around Dayton. The steamer trunk was in most of those shows. I would tell the story of locking The Rubber Lady in that trunk and finally letting her out. The one exception to that, is the last show at The Foundry. The stage was way too small to hold the trunk and everything else.

I did a show at a gay dance club, 1470 West. It was the "Cut Loose" edition. I found that if I removed the drawers of the trunk, I could fit inside it! OMG! I could even peek out through a small hole, in the lock. The idea was to open the show with me inside the trunk. We rehearsed it in the club, that afternoon. My headset worked great. The base was able to pick up the mic, while I was inside the trunk and amplify my voice across the club. I had a whole spiel about locking the RL in the trunk and busting her loose. While all that was going on, Robb (my partner in life) stood behind the trunk and waited for my cue. Ok, that was rehearsal, what happened in the actual show, we never put fresh batteries in the headset base. It was the greatest opener, that nobody ever heard. I knocked on the trunk and Robb pulled it open. I came slithering out of that trunk and all over the dance floor. To be honest, I don't think anybody noticed that they were missing anything. Robb had to leave the stage to find me another mic. He really does know how to think in the moment.

Where is the Steamer Trunk now?

With the original costume permanently on Entity, the steamer trunk became storage for old rubber. There were many knotted pieces and raw O rings, in there. It moved with me for decades. We landed in a smaller house and it was put in the garage. After years in there, the rubber inside the trunk had gone to rot and the moisture in the garage, destroyed the trunk. The last time I saw it, it was a hot mess.

I did see one just like it, about a year ago. It was on Antiques Road Show. It was exact, right down to the drawer that looked different from the others. I always assumed my trunk had the drawer replaced or repaired, but that was it's original drawer. To my surprise, it was valued at $25K. I fell off my chair. I can't change the outcome of the trunk but it really doesn't matter. The memories are priceless.

I have lots of Rubber Lady stories to tell. So, keep checking back! If you haven't read my intro to The Rubber Lady, it's worth the read.

I Introduce to you The Rubber Lady

humor
Like

About the Creator

L.A. Cummins

Let the creative juices flow!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.