Humans logo

Adesua Etomi and Jade Osiberu Talk Rise of Action Films in Nollywood

Action is on the rise!

By Jide OkonjoPublished about a year ago 3 min read
Like

In recent times there has been a significant increase in the number of action and crime movies that have come out of the Nigerian movie industry. Movies like Brotherhood, Shanty Town, and the recently released Gangs of Lagos have brought in a new audience and created a new path for creators in this genre to thrive. For the longest time, comedies and romantic films dominated the market. So the question now is what has led to this new onslaught of action and thriller movies, and will they be here to stay?

Nollywood actress Adesua Etomi and filmmaker Jade Osiberu while speaking during the premiere of the movie Gangs of Lagos spoke to Channels Television about their feelings towards action and thriller movies now dominating the scene, and how it is trying to do a movie in that genre. Here is what both women had to say.

**Before reading on, please make sure to like and follow my Facebook page (Jide Okonjo) so you don't miss out on any new and interesting lists, articles, and stories that I post every single day. I have a really fun page. If you like my page, you will have fun too. So what's stopping you? Like my page and let's have fun together!

Adesua during interview

When asked how she feels about the fact that there are now a lot of action and crime thriller movies in Nollywood, Adesua Etomi said:

ADESUA ETOMI: I think there is a place for romantic comedies but I also think there is a place for action, there is a place for horror movies. And I think we are in a very interesting time because Nollywood is starting to spread its tentacles into different genres and I personally am very excited to see what we come up with. The possibilities are limitless and endless so you know, fingers crossed.

Jade during interview

Speaking about making action and thriller movies, the hardness of it, and why she started doing it, Jade Osiberu said:

JADE OSIBERU: So I like different genres but crime thrillers I've liked since I was a child. I've LOVED actually since I was a child. I love Martin Scorsese, I love Quentin Tarantino. So yeah, that genre, whether it's just crime thrillers or even gangster type, I've been obsessed with since I was a teenager. So yeah, there was no way I wouldn't go to that. But because of the way Nollywood is structured, typically, dramas and comedies are easier to make. So I started out my career with that, what was easier to execute, and then built up the resources, the confidence to go into crime thrillers. It's not an easy path so it's not as though anybody can wake up and do it. But I think if you are brave enough and you can find partners who will work with you. Cuz I didn't go on this journey by myself. I always say there are about 30 investors in this film. There are 30 people who I had to convince to put not only their words, but their money, into backing this film. And then we had the privilege of getting Prime Video, this global massive platform to say "yes, we also believe in this dream". It's not an everyday thing. But I believe Nollywood is heading that way where we will see more and more filmmakers get that opportunity as well.

What do you think about what Adesua and Jade Osiberu said, and what do you think about this new dominance of action movies in Nollywood? Let me know your thoughts by leaving a comment either below or on my Jide Okonjo Facebook post.

That's All.

I hope you’ve had fun. Don’t forget to follow my page (Jide Okonjo) if you don’t already for more stories like this, the fun never end

To catch up on other content you might have missed, click here.

Until next time, have a wonderful rest of your day

celebrities
Like

About the Creator

Jide Okonjo

I have ONE account and MANY interests. My page is a creative hodgepodge of:

🇳🇬 Nigerian news stories for my dedicated Nigerian readers.

🎥 Movie and music recommendations, listicles, and critiques

📀 Op-eds, editorial features, fiction

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.