Humans logo

5 Male Singers Who Performed in Women's Clothing

Omah Lay is not the first, just the latest

By Jide OkonjoPublished about a year ago 4 min read
Like

When a performer is billed to hit the stage, fans are always curious to see what the performer will wear, or what they may do in the show that is exciting or eye grabbing. Today, Omah Lay is in the news for wearing a women's bra on stage, and so I thought it would make for a fun list to compile other times when other Nigerian male singers also wore clothing deemed for women on stage. Without further ado, here are 5 times Nigerian male singers wore women's clothes on stage.

**Before reading on, please make sure to like and follow my Facebook page (Jide Okonjo) so you don't miss out on any new and interesting lists, articles, and stories that I post every single day. I have a really fun page. If you like my page, you will have fun too. So what's stopping you? Like my page and let's have fun together!

1. Omah Lay

Omah Lay wearing bra

During a recent concert, Nigerian singer Omah Lay was very excited and very hype, so was the crowd. At one point, in the midst of the energy of it all, a female fan threw her bra at the stage. Nobody expected what would happen next: Omah Lay put on the girl's bra and kept on performing energetically. It's so wild.

2. Bella Shmurda

Bella Shmurda wearing skirt

Another Nigerian musician who got a lot of tongues wagging and heads turning is the "Cash App" singer Bella Shmurda. When Bella Shmurda hit the Big Brother Naija stage to perform, audiences couldn't help but comment about the singer's choice of attire. Bella Shmurda had in fact chosen to worn a skirt for the performance, a move that definitely got the internet talking. Speaking about why he made the decision to wear a skirt later on, Bella Shmurda said:

BELLA SHMURDA: I think this is my own way of being unique. Every artiste has a way of being identified so I think this is a better way to identify Bella Shmurda and to promote African culture. I've been wearing this skirt for like 2 years, but it has been unnoticed. So when I got to Big Brother, everybody is now shouting. I was like "Ah ah, we don dey do this thing since na?" It's cool you know? People get to recognize you someday. I don't do clout. When I love something, I do it for my own self. I do it for the growth. I do it for the culture. So wearing skirt on that platform was not for clout or for people to talk. It was just for expression of art, for expression of myself.

3. Burna Boy

Burna Boy wearing crop top

Another Nigerian singer who put on a daring outfit that set the internet on fire when it was time for him to get on the stage is musician, Burna Boy. Burna Boy definitely got the internet streets on fire when pictures of him wearing a crop top and blue jeans hit the web.

4. Davido

Davido wearing heeled shoe

When Nigerian singer Davido rocked a shoe with heel on it, the internet was once again set on fire. People had a lot to say about Davido's choice of footwear, but mostly the comments seemed to be in good fun.

5. Chike

Chike wearing skirt

Finally on today's list is another artiste who made quite the fashion splash when he hit the stage of the Big Brother Naija show. During the show, singer Chike stunned everybody when he came out wearing a skirt. The look definitely caught people's attention and got people talking.

All of these to me are fun looks and fun times. It's always interesting to see artistes have fun on stage and try different things. It keeps things exciting. What do you think about these looks and decisions on stage? Let me know your thoughts by leaving a comment either below or on my Jide Okonjo Facebook post.

That's All.

I hope you’ve had fun. Don’t forget to follow my page (Jide Okonjo) if you don’t already for more stories like this, the fun never end

To catch up on other content you might have missed, click here.

Until next time, have a wonderful rest of your day

celebrities
Like

About the Creator

Jide Okonjo

I have ONE account and MANY interests. My page is a creative hodgepodge of:

🇳🇬 Nigerian news stories for my dedicated Nigerian readers.

🎥 Movie and music recommendations, listicles, and critiques

📀 Op-eds, editorial features, fiction

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.