Humans logo

Access

Access

By Tabitha Published 4 years ago 9 min read
Like
Photo courtesy of Victoria Heath via Unsplash

I remember the moment where my life seemed to fall apart. It wasn't karma, just an incredible run of bad luck, or at least that's what I thought until I found out the truth.

It was little things, to begin with, almost imperceptible, I noticed I had stopped receiving my emails on time, people were never able to get through to me on my mobile, I changed phones and email addresses, but nothing seemed to help. I was always meticulous about how much information I shared online careful not to click on dodgy links, so you can only imagine my shock when I realised that someone had managed to hack to my bank account and drain my entire savings. Devastated I leaned on my best friend and flatmate Delilah for support who did her best to console me "it's going to be okay Becca" she said reassuringly, "we will get to the bottom of it, I promise" she stroked my hair soothingly as I wailed into her lap.

Delilah was kind enough to loan me some money and graciously offered to cover my rent as I was struggling with my business as an interior designer. I lost three of my most consistent clients; suddenly, prior to this they had always been pleased with my work and gave me glowing reviews. There was Lyn with her endless renovations to her home and office, Andrea who in her words required 'dog-friendly homes" for her four properties and Maria who always hired me for her monthly upscale corporate events. I couldn't help feeling like it was some sort of heartless prank when they all emailed me one after the other on the same day all telling me that they no longer required my service neither one of them offering an explanation.

I attempted to get the authorities involved describing in detail what had been occurring over the last few months, the hacking and the fact that money had been stolen from my bank account. They were no help, they informed me that my bank would have to investigate and as for the hacking well they simply couldn't care less in my opinion, you have to be a famous celebrity with a million followers for it to be taken seriously apparently. It occurred to me that someone seriously had it in for me the night that I found my car tires slashed. I was horrified, why was this happening? Who was doing this, and why?

I felt isolated and alone the night I phoned Caleb, my oldest friend, we had known each other since we were children, but I didn't see him as much as I would like since his move to Japan. I was delighted to learn he was back in London for a few weeks. I dialled his number (memorised by heart) from a payphone as I knew my calls were being listened to, I would hear that strange clicking sound every time I spoke to someone, interspersed with an eery static din. "Hi Caleb, I know it's late I whispered into the receiver, "but I really need to talk to you, can we please meet?" an hour later we were sat in the cosy booth of Mo's 24/7 diner, I gazed despondently into my warm mug of coffee as I relayed to Caleb everything that had transpired since we'd last seen each other.

Caleb worked in IT and offered to look over my phone and laptop for me. I was just beginning to feel an air of relief when a host of text messages started trickling in, *ping, ping, ping* the first said "are you okay? Please don't do it!" I sat there bewildered, what on earth is going on? Do what? I then saw my Mums name flashing on the screen "hello she said...her voice sounded ominous "Rebecca, where are you? I got your messages, we know you must be very...she paused, distressed about these", she hesitated again, beads of sweat were beginning to form on my nose. She continued "distressed about these images of yourself that have been leaked, but it's not worth taking your own life! Where are you? I can come over... let us talk this over okay, just please don't do anything stupid, Rebecca?... Rebecca?"

I stood up in confusion and leaned against the table, I could no longer hear what she was saying as the blood rushed to my head, I could feel my knees quivering, "what images Mum?" I ask apprehensively I racked my brain trying to think what she could possibly be talking about I had never taken any indecent or potentially scandalous pictures in my life. Yet, it was like I had watched this movie before seen it played out and knew the ending. I promise to speak to my Mother later, and I frantically began examining my accounts, there was a new status update that I definitely hadn't written that could only be interpreted as a suicide note or at least a drastic cry for help.

I had an ill feeling in the pit of my stomach, the panic intensified as I checked through my inbox, and there it was... a photo of me, well it was my face, but it certainly wasn't my naked body attached to it, I opened my mouth in horror "Becks are you alright?!" I turned to face Caleb, who in my hysteria had momentarily been forgotten about, he wore a concerned expression his brown eyes wide with worry. "Caleb whoever has been hacking me, has just photoshopped a nude photo of me and put it all over social media and if that wasn't bad enough they've made me look suicidal, and I can't even delete it because they've changed my passwords" a lump was forming in my throat now "Don't. Cry. Hold. It. Together " I scold myself as I wipe a tear from my cheek. Caleb clasped my hand in his "this ends now" he said sternly.

We left Mo's and walked towards my flat purposefully, as we entered I called for Delilah, I knew she was just as eager as I was to find out who was behind this attack. I expected to find her sat up waiting for me when I entered the living room, but there was a note on the table "Last minute sleepover at Erica and Sabrinas, see you tomorrow hun xxx" I felt a pang of disappointment that she wasn't home to talk this over with me and when did they arrange a sleepover? Why hadn't she invited me? I push the uneasy thoughts from my mind and bring my laptop and phone over to Caleb.

Caleb set to work and less than an hour later he said "I've got her' here's your hacker he pushed my laptop screen towards me "Delilah Coleman" the name on the screen slaps me in the face "Delilah Coleman" I read the words over and over again. Still, it couldn't be, the walls felt like they were closing in on me "I need some air" I stated morosely I stepped towards the door my legs barely carrying me and then I stopped and turned around "no" I think, I need to face this, I will myself to sit down again and stare at the screen my goodness I lament... the disloyalty, the invasion of privacy, the sheer evil, she's supposed to be my best friend, "how could she? how could she watch me day in, day out in complete and utter torment knowing she was behind it the whole time?" and "she just continued" I yell as Caleb watches me saddened by my pain 'my income, my livelihood, my reputation she sought to destroy it all, and for what?" Caleb holds me as I collapse in tears. I am simultaneously full of sorrow and relief. I compose myself and dial her number.

Present Day

A year on from that terrible revelation and I am in a much better place, my business is thriving, I have people in my life whom I trust, and I'm more resilient than ever. My old clients returned after I reached out to them, it turned out Delilah had sent them emails pretending to be me, notifying them that I had decided to change career and advising them to find a new interior designer immediately. Their emails to me were also fake, and she deleted the true email replies they'd sent to me.

I got back every last penny that witch stole from me, she was so frightened I would report her to the police that she promptly returned all the money she had in her account and then paid the rest back a few months later, her cousin June let it slip that she was forced to borrow money from her parents, she lied and told them she had fallen into debt, June knew the real truth as did everyone in our friendship circle but I thought I'd spare her parents the shame.

Looking back, at that whole debacle she was the most obvious suspect, I was simply too trusting to ever have considered her. But, she had access, she could always install whatever spyware she was using on my devices even when I replaced them. I recall the occasions where I'd catch her using my phone or laptop. She'd calmly say something along the lines of "I'm browsing your photos, your soooo beautiful hun" or "I'm just checking my Instagram likes on your phone my battery died" other times she would make no excuse at all because that's how comfortable she was and I thought nothing of it, she was my best friend, my sister, how could I ever suspect she was trying to ruin my entire life. I found out that she is now a motivational speaker her aim is to "empower women" oh spare me I chortled she had managed to fool everyone, everyone but herself, that woman is completely hollow on the inside, despite the carefully carved out social media persona she has created.

I saunter into Mo's 24/7 Diner where I am excitedly greeted by the owner Freddie "congratulations Rebecca!" he shouts pointing to mine and Caleb's marriage announcement in the 'Time's newspaper' I beam with joy as I think about marrying the man of my dreams this summer. I already have so many pretty ideas for the wedding venue. I sit down and ask Freddie to bring me my usual "coming right up" he replies "oh and it's on the house, congratulations again gorgeous". It really is ironic that a vicious sabotage attempt ultimately brought Caleb and me closer together, the whole fiasco sparked a realisation that we had been in love the entire time, I smile as I reflect on this fact and softly whisper "Thanks hun xxx."

humanity
Like

About the Creator

Tabitha

Hello, I'm a singer-songwriter from London currently working on my debut EP. I love telling stories whether its through writing, acting, or song.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.