Humans logo

A Woman’s Worth

Chapter 2: Warning Signs

By WriteAboutItPublished 4 years ago 4 min read
Like

It’s been a week since I decided to give dating apps a try, so far it has been going pretty well. There is this guy that I started talking to and he seems decent for the most part. We have a lot of thing in common, his name is Steven and he is twenty-three. I know my parents are going to have a problem with his age because I am only eighteen. Maybe they will see that he is a good guy and give him a chance. Hopefully, when I meet him tonight our connection is still the same like it is over the phone. If everything goes right maybe a relationship can blossom between the two of us. That would be amazing, since it would technically be my first relationship. Steven and I can possibly build a long -lasting relationship. I finally, decide to get up from my desk and head downstairs. Once I get to the bottom of the stairs, my father calls my name.

“Ava, come here.” I enter the living room and see my dad sorting through some papers.

“Hi dad, what’s up?”

“What do you want for dinner?” I take a quick glance at the floor and try to figure out an excuse to go out.

“Do you mind if I go over to Piper’s house to study for our biology test tomorrow?”

“No, I don’t mind. Just send me and your mother her address.”

“Okay, I will send it to you.” I go into the kitchen to get a bottle of water and head back upstairs to my room.

He actually said yes to me going out on a school night I am completely shocked. Well, it actually made since because he thinks that I have to study for a biology test. A part of me feels bad for lying to him, even though I’m not lying there is a biology test tomorrow. My father doesn’t know that I spent the weekend studying for it. What he doesn’t know won’t hurt him.

I grab my phone to call Steven to let him know we are good for tonight. Once I hang up and I begin to get dressed. Trying to figure out what to wear is a headache, I need to dress casual but also look super cute. My outfit needs to stand out enough to impress Steven.

An hour later, I am finally ready to go. I decided to wear a green flannel with jeans and converse. The green flannel brings out my brown skin complexion, along with my dark brown eyes. Hopefully, Steven thinks I look attractive tonight.

Before I leave, my parents tell me my curfew and to make sure I text them when I get to Piper’s house. When I get into the car, I text Steven to let him know that I am on my way and put the address into my GPS. During my drive I blast music hoping to get rid of nervous energy. Please God don’t allow me to make a fool out of myself, everything needs to be perfect tonight. As I’m pulling into the movie theatre parking lot the nervousness begins to take over. I park the car and let Steven know that I just arrived.

Instead of going to see a movie we both decide to sit in his car and talk. This is better than watching a movie because we are able to get to know each other a lot better this way. I just want to get to know him more on a deeper personal level. While we are in his car, we are asking each other question back and forth.

“Okay, enough of the questions. Let’s play a game.” I love hearing Steven speak his voice is so deep. Everything about him is perfect, the way he looks at me makes my heart skip a beat. Wow, this relationship can be something magical.

“What game do you want to play?” After I asked this question, he just kissed me. I was caught off guard but it felt good. This was my first real kiss and I was happy. Steven pulled away and just stared at me for a minute.

“Sorry, I don’t know what came over me. I just had the urge to kiss you.”

“Steven, it’s honestly okay.” From this moment I knew amazing things were going to happen.

____________________________________________________

Today, makes a month since I’ve been dating Steven and let me tell you, it’s not going great. Steven turned out to be controlling, manipulative, and everything that I wasn’t not expecting. I don’t want to be in this relationship anymore, but I’m afraid to leave. How the hell do I get out of this? How did I miss the warning signs? Steven is nothing like the person that he claimed to be.

dating
Like

About the Creator

WriteAboutIt

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.