Humans logo

A white Christmas

Fated love

By Sherry jacksonPublished 2 years ago 5 min read
1

The white snow fall softly and light to the ground.

Tomorrow will be Christmas and it looks like it was were going to be the white Christmas I had hope it to be.

My grandma and grand papa were so excited that I was spending spending the Holidays with them so had the whole house decorated for Xmas at every nook and corner. My grand mother came from a very affluent family and choose grand dad over many suitors to be with his world as a farmer and she said to me she would if she had to house again she would do it all over sgaim and again.

They had very special relationship I could see it when they laughed together and it was plain to see that as long as they were together nothing else mattered.

I knew in my heart that I wouldn’t t settle for anything but what was real like they had so now at the age of 32 I was beginning to wonder if that special person would exist in my life one day.

After a delicious dinner of meat pie and salad we went to bed early.

Laying in bed I pulled the red and green Xmas quilt tighter around me and watched though the window the snowflakes falling around the glowing lamp.

Grandma was up before daybreak putting the turkey and ham in the oven.

Tonight there was going to be the annual Christmas dance and i brought a pretty red gown to wear.

I felt I had forgotten how to dream and had become a woman that went only by all the rules. What had happen to me?

When I was growing up I believed in fairy tales and loved watching fluffy clouds floating in the sky making wishes on falling stars.

Working as a bank manager and living alone in the city had seem to have drained me and taken away that part of me.

I needed to breath to smell the fresh air to let my mind come back to the true me.

Now that I was about to turn turning 30 - close to becoming an old maid. Something had to change.

Was it the thoughts of my childhood sweetheart my first love who broke my heart by eloping with someone else the reason I had become a walking calculator with no feelings?

I know that experience helped me become the strong person I had become but it left no room for the trust of love.

Yet I saw it with my grandparents that gave me hope that it did exist, so I had to come here to see it again between them.

By morning when I looked out the window the snow had fallen all night and everything was covered in a lovely winter wonderland.

Grandad had actually gone out early and took the ladder to the roof and got fresh snow for snow ice cream that grandma was going to make for dinner.

With our pj still on we exchanged presents.

There was a small box from grandma and when I opened it - it was a string of pearls and earrings to match.

Those my darling little one belonged to your grandma and I wore them when we got married she and grandpa looked at each other and I could see they both got thrill for even just thinking about their wedding day. They exchanged smiled then grandpa walked over and kiss her tenderly on the cheek.

I heard that grandma choose to him a farmer over

many who were better off financially.

The dinner was delicious and we sat by the fireplace and talked about the fun times we had on all the times I visited them.

That night on our way to the Christmas dance we drove down Main Street which was all lit up with bright colored lights and wreaths , trailing evergreens, and candy canes.

There was still crowd of people strolling and laughing going to theaters restaurants walking around. It was like in Santa’s Village bursting with joy.

The dance hall was decked with lavish Christmas decorations of wreaths and gorgeous lit pine trees.

I was dressed in a red silk gown red heels and my gift of pearls.

I felt someone watching me and turn and to see a dark handsome man dressed in a dark suite looking at me. He didn’t look away. He continue watching me with unblinking eyes.

I went over to the punch bowl to get a drink.

When I turned around he was standing in front of me and I almost spilled my drink.

I’m sorry, he said

That ok, I said and I was a bout to walk away when he grabbed my hand and said,

Would you like to dance?

I was surprised but nodded with my head in agreement.

He graciously took my drink and put it on the table.

He held my hand tightly as we walked to the dance floor.

It was a slow and romantic song.

I looked at him as we were going to the dance floor.

He was tall built nicely with wavy black and charcoal grey eyes.

He held me tightly as our bodies moved perfectly together.

He had to know what I was feeling, because he pulled me closer and the electricity between us was over whelming.

When the music stopped we both stood there looking into each other’s eyes and we both knew something had happened. I knew I would never be the same.

When I walked away from him, It felt like my feet were heavy and seem to move in slow motion. My body my everything wanted to stay with him.

When I got to my seat I turned to look at him but he was not there.

I didn’t see him anymore that evening so I finally realized he had left.

A total stranger who from that moment on never left my thoughts.

I was in bed when my grand ma came in and sat on the side of my bed.

I saw you dancing with a young man tonight,

I beleive that Was attorney Don Morris.

He just moved here from the city opened up his own office on Main Street.

You know - she looked me straight in the eye- He would be a fine catch for any young lady.

Forgive me I just want you to be as happy as I am- then she smiled at me and went out closing the door as she went out.

dating
1

About the Creator

Sherry jackson

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.