Humans logo

A Thousand Thank-yous

My digital appreciation practice

By Dream SilasPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
2
A Thousand Thank-yous
Photo by Greg Rosenke on Unsplash

Every morning before I open my eyes and every night before I drift to sleep I practice appreciating all the lovely things in my life. I do this by assembling various images of the things I love most in my life to the front of my mind and then repeatedly saying 'thank you' over and over with my inner voice and a deep sense of appreciation. I stop when I reach one thousand 'thank yous'.

Seeing all the beautiful images that make up my life on the screen of space in my mind helps me refocus when I am feeling down. It allows me to remain aware of the lovely life that I am actually living and provides me with much-needed clarity. This practice has proven especially useful for me this year.

I would like to share a few of the lovely portions of my life that warrant a thousand thank-yous.

I am thankful for this scenery here at home.

I am very appreciative of where I live. Being able to experience the natural world every day in such an intimate manner is an absolute privilege. The beautiful greenery and huge wide skies take my breath away every time I step foot outside. The air is so sweet that I could utterly evaporate into it. The sky is sometimes painted with a large double rainbow, it is sometimes painted pink to express the sunset, or overwhelmed with a sheet of white, dazzling stars. Either way, All of my worries have disappeared under these skies and have been replaced with a strong, prevalent feeling of clarity, reassurance, and well being. And for this reason, I want to rejoice and say...

Thank you. Thank you. Thank you.

I am thankful for this lovely movie "Orfeu Negro" released in 1959.

I deeply appreciate all the moving, heartwarming movies that I have had the pleasure of watching this year. I am crazy about romance movies and so every year I scour the internet in search of the crème de la crème of films in the genre of romance. This year, I came across the film “Orfeu Negro”. It is a beautiful rendition of the Greek myth love story between Orpheus and Eurydice. I absolutely adore how the entire movie is basically a long-drawn-out dance between the characters to beautiful Brazilian music. I admire the sweet romance and love shared between the main characters Orpheus and Eurydice. And I am taken aback by how incredibly attractive the actors and actresses are in this movie and their strong chemistry. This film has definitely found a special place in my heart and I express that by saying...

Thank you. Thank you. Thank you.

I am thankful for my little Mora-Bora.

Throughout quarantine, I’ve been wonderfully “stuck” babysitting my little cousin that I have so gleefully nicknamed “Mora-Bora”. I actually remember taking this picture of her sometime in June and she cried her eyes out right after because she was tired. We have had many sleepovers, picnics, and snack times together this year. She is the most energetic baby I have ever known and her personality is just so lovable and unique. She has become my little partner in crime and my best friend. I never thought I would be friends with a one-year-old and although our twenty-two-year age gap acts as a barrier sometimes, we make it work somehow. Mora-Bora has made my year so happy and filled with so many loving memories. For her I say...

Thank you. Thank you. Thank you.

I am thankful for Tyler Childers and his incredible music.

This year I have exclusively listened to lovely Americana music. It is my favorite subgenre and my favorite artist by far is the very talented Tyler Childers. I am seriously in love with him and all of his music. I've been playing and dancing to his music religiously this year and I do not plan on stopping anytime soon. Childers is an incredible musician, singer, and songwriter. The lyrics in his songs are so beautiful that sometimes his music leaves me with little pieces of heaven and makes me feel like there is no outside world; just me and the music. I am so thankful for him and his music as it has helped me so much over the course of this year.

Thank you. Thank you. Thank you.

I am thankful for reconnecting with people I missed and love very deeply.

Lastly, this year has been difficult for me as I have been struggling with being away from people I really miss and love for long periods of time. For this reason, I am very thankful for everything that allows me to be able to reconnect and deepen my relationship with my far-away loved ones. To be able to feel their essence through a text message, to hear their voice through a voice message, or see their face through a video message is such a miracle to which I feel compelled to say...

Thank you. Thank you. Thank you.

love
2

About the Creator

Dream Silas

I love to write about love, the beautiful, and the natural world.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.