Humans logo

A Tale of Two Diaries

Make a fair wind of it homeward. - Herman Melville

By J. S. WadePublished 3 years ago 10 min read
4
Freeclipart

June 3, 1851 - Charleston, South Carolina.

Charleston-SC.gov

Jacob William Rhett

Salt air filled my lungs as I yawned, awake, from another turbulent night of restless sleep aboard the clipper ship, Constellation.

We are two nautical miles outside the Port of Charleston.

I left eight hundred days ago and have been lost without my beautiful fiancé, Lesa Marie Huger. I hope my last letter arrived that announced my return.

Charleston-SC.gov

Lesa Marie Huger

The cool dampness this morning seeped under the quilt and touched my legs when Joanne, my younger sister, arose early and pulled the curtains aside.

I tucked the quilt tight against the cold and rolled away from the light and back to my slumber.

Jacob

I rolled out of my cabin bunk, dressed and splashed cold water on my face and went in search of coffee. By tomorrow morning I'd enjoy fresh ground coffee that didn't taste like the rats had played in it.

At the railing I made out the skyline of Charleston as the sun radiated its light upon the church spires. The steeples reflected bursts of shimmering gold. Gold that could never be bartered or sold, priceless. I loved this city.

Lesa

My sister ran into my room and said,

"A ship came in last night!"

My Jacob is home. I've waited two years for his return from England. The post as Secretary to the Ambassador outweighed our personal desires and established the foundation that would allow us to marry.

I dressed, ran to the third floor, and climbed the steep ladder up to the Catwalk atop the pitch of the house.

The morning sun broke over the water and its golden light shimmered across the harbor like liquid gold.

Through the brightness I could just make out the shadow of a Clipper ship on the horizon.

"There you are my love!" I said.

Jacob

I entered the Galley amidst the celebration of our successful voyage and eminent docking at Adger's Wharf. The rum flowed freely.

I observed all present and became perplexed by the Captains' demeanor as he appeared quite pale. Something was wrong, When he left the galley I followed him to the deck and hailed him.

"Captain Black? All is well?"

He stopped and turned to me and said.

"Keep this to yourself, but we will know in an hour when the Customs Officer arrives."

"What issue could there be?" I asked.

The Captain looked away, out to the sea, as if in debate with himself.

"Four crew members fell ill overnight with high fevers! We may be quarantined.

Lesa

The morning sailed into noon like the rising tide of a hurricane. I had to get ready for the homecoming.

I am beyond giddy that Jacob and I will be reunited at Adger's Wharf in mere hours.

Will he still love me? Has he changed?

Soon, after he's settled, we can set our wedding date.

Jacob

Quarantined? The standard in 1850 for quarantine required forty days of isolation. The thought that I would be trapped on this ship so close to the one I loved became intolerable.

I gazed, across the waters, towards Charleston and like a ghost the sloop approached. The Customs Officers were close.

Lesa

Our carriage arrived and my entire family made the short trip to East Bay Street where the Constellation would dock. To my dismay, the ship had not docked, nor did one approach the wharf.

I knew something was amiss.

My father instructed us to stay in the carriage while he sought information. My heart sank into my stomach because there were only a few reasons there could be a delay.

Fifteen minutes later he returned and told the carriage driver to return us to our house on Tradd St.

"We will talk when we arrive home and not before." He said.

I fought fear of the unknown as tears filled my eyes and trickled down my cheeks.

Jacob

My assigned Porter approached me with the news that all passengers were requested on the main deck for an important announcement. I feared the worst as I made my way to the main deck.

The festive atmosphere carried over to my fellow passengers in anticipation of our docking. It seemed only the Captain and I were somber as our eyes made contact.

"Ladies and gentlemen." The Captain announced and continued.

"It's become my duty to inform you that we will not dock today, four crew members are sick with fever. The Customs team, by law, placed our arrival on hold until the Chief Medical Examiner boards in the morning to make a determination of Quarantine!"

If ice water rained from the sky, it couldn't have frozen the festive atmosphere more frigid.

The Captain held his hand up to the passengers' protests and continued.

"All passengers are hereby confined to their quarters until further notice. Meals will be brought to you and we will keep you informed. Dismissed. "

I noticed for the first time that the crew and the Captain all carried sidearms.

Lesa

By Robert V. Ruggiero on Unsplash

My father sat across from me in his study and my mother stood beside him.

"Lesa, there is a delay in allowing Constellation into Port, four people, on board, are ill with a fever."

He paused.

"The city chief medical officer will determine tomorrow whether the ship is to be quarantined for the mandatory forty days.

I bowed my head as the tears could be held back no longer. After a minute, with a voice I didn't recognize as mine, I asked,

"And Jacob, any news?"

"I only know that he is in the manifest, nothing more!" My father responded.

Jacob

It is evening and concern over my plight forced me to request an appearance with the Captain, which I received.

"Captain, could you tell me why the circumstances require the crew to be armed?"

The Captain hesitated.

"If the medical officer refuses entry I am under strict instructions to set sail immediately for Cuba, our secondary destination. The cargo on board that must be delivered on time."

"But Captain, what about the passengers destined for Charleston? There is a civil war being fought in Cuba!" I replied with control that concealed my anger.

"I have my orders and I will follow them." He stated.

The cargo is the priority to assist in putting down the Lash Rebellion. Each passenger will be on their own once we arrive in Cuba. It's out of my hands."

*****

June 4, 1851

Lesa

I barely slept last night hoping and praying that Jacob was not ill. I love him and would be lost without him.

Jacob

I tossed and turned all night with the coming events of the day. All night I thought of Lesa and what anguish and concerns she might battle, not knowing of tomorrow. She is the love of my life and I'm ready for our future.

Lesa

Fearful, I lost the day in a mental fog as I awaited the report by the medical examiner. Later, like Déjàvu, I sat in the study again with my father. He said,

"I'm afraid there's bad news and some good. The ship's been quarantined for forty days. The sick are all members of the crew, so we know Jacob isn't sick, yet."

"You said bad news, plural! What haven't you told me?" My voice relieved but my heart trembled.

My father looked at my Mother then back to me.

"The Captain of the Constellation has rejected the Quarantine and sets sail for Cuba in the morning! The Harbor Master is returning to the ship in the morning to dissuade their departure, by force of arms if necessary."

Jacob

The Captain rejected the Quarantine order and will set sail for Cuba, in the morning, at first light. My precious Lesa is only a few miles away, but soon to be a thousand.

It Occurred to me that the armed crew served a dual purpose: to keep the passengers under control and to prevent the Charleston Authorities from commandeering the ship.

I am lost to this situation and surprised at the greed of the ships owners and Captain with such disregard for their passengers. A grievance will be filed.

We are forbidden to write a letter to send ashore due to the potential transfer of disease.

Instead, I will try to convey a message to the HarborMaster in the morning as I have no doubt the City will try to prevent the ship from sailing. I fear that there may be a violent resolution.

*****

June 5, 1851

By Anton Darius on Unsplash

Lesa

I knew what I had to do the minute my father shared the news. I woke at three a.m. and slipped out the door and walked to the wharf. The smell of fish and decayed marine life overwhelmed my senses but nothing would stop me.

My actions today will break every rule of etiquette and embarrass my family. My duty to Jacob and myself, our future, and our family outweigh the rules of Charleston Society.

At the wharf I came upon the HarborMaster’s sloop and slipped aboard unnoticed. I will see Jacob and speak to him today.

By Annie Spratt on Unsplash

Jacob

I rose before the Sun broke and stood at the bow, with a mug of coffee, braced for the soon arrival of the conflict. A sloop approached and came alongside, bow to stern, with a shouted order to heave ho. The Clipper Captain ordered his crew to reject the tether. The Ship and Sloop were fifty feet apart.

Lesa,

I hid at the stern of the sloop under the Jolly boat, a rescue vessel. We arrived alongside the Constellation and I heard the shouting of the sloop and ship's crew.

I stood and scanned the Clipper's sleek railing for Jacob, to speak to him. This was my only chance.

I stepped closer to the ship side to better see. The report of a musket roared and the HarborMaster ordered the sloop to come about. The unexpected shift sent me over the gunnel into the sea.

Jacob,

Through the shouting and rising ire, a musket boomed. I saw a woman stand at the stern of the sloop and fall into the sea.

"Oh my God,” burst from my mouth as I recognized her, " Lesa!"

I yelled "Woman overboard!” Without thought, I dropped my coat, and dove into the sea.

The braced impact of water shocked my senses as I hit the water.

I swam towards her.

Lesa's arms floundered in the swells and for a moment our eyes locked. Then she disappeared from sight, buried in a swell. I held my bearing, swam, and cried out,

"Hold on Lesa, I'm coming."

By Alice Alinari on Unsplash

Lesa

Those who might read my entries might think me a fool but I grow weary of a world where women are told what they can and must do. I have taken my life in my own hands as it is mine to do as I wish. My wish is to live my life with Jacob come hell or high water.

My dress, saturated and heavy, pulled me into the abyss of the sea. I grew weary and sank for the final time.

"This is the end....I tried,” I thought.

A hand, Jacobs's, clasped mine and pulled me to the surface.

*****

October 10, 1851, St Augustine, Florida.

By Matin Keivanloo on Unsplash

Lesa,

After many travails and our escape from Cuba, Jacob and I married at Trinity Episcopal Church in St Augustine today. This is now our permanent home.

We were welcomed and honored with a consulate position at the Governor's Palace as the North American trade liaison for Florida and tutor to the Governor's and Councils’ children.

Jacob and I are happy as we start our new life together in the oldest city in America.

*********

Jacob and Lesa parented seven children and are both buried in the Trinity Episcopal Church Cemetery. Their Epithet reads, "The sea, nor principalities, could separate them."

humanity
4

About the Creator

J. S. Wade

Since reading Tolkien in Middle school, I have been fascinated with creating, reading, and hearing art through story’s and music. I am a perpetual student of writing and life.

J. S. Wade owns all work contained here.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.