Humans logo

A Queen That Inspires Me

Miss Gayle

By Shanae LindsayPublished 4 years ago 4 min read
1

Latisha Gayle was born on February 20th during the early 80s. She was raised by her grandmother and her dad was Jamaican. Miss Gayle is one of 24 children. She went on her own at 13 years old. This shaped Miss Gayle into the woman that she is. You might be wondering why I refer to Latisha as Miss Gayle?

Latisha Gayle was born on February 20th during the early 80s. She was raised by her grandmother and her dad was Jamaican. Miss Gayle is one of 24 children. She went on her own at 13 years old. This shaped Miss Gayle into the woman that she is. You might be wondering why I refer to Latisha as Miss Gayle?

I met Miss Gayle in 2013. She worked at my son’s charter school as an art teacher. I reside in a shelter and have two children living in the Bronx. My son, Noah was disruptive in school. She made sure that he did not act out in her class. Miss Gayle was firm,and her face looked like she always had an attitude. She always dressed like she was pro black. Miss Gayle said, “my style was ecliptic.” When her parents judged me, Miss Gayle defended me. I was never aware of this until later on.

I love this quote, instead of tearing down a women’s crown let’s fix each other. We are queens and kings. Miss Gayle’s mouth does not have any filter. Due to being spiritual, I tend to be quiet. In 2016,my son went to live with relatives. I inform Miss Gayle about my decision. She was not supportive.She told me,” I wed to put my foot down and Noah needed a male in his life.” I told her Noah's dad does not want to be in his life. It is hard raising a boy in New York. I felt down south would be a better environment.

At this time, I was pregnant with my third child. Miss Gayle and I went our separate ways. Some call me stubborn. My mom and step-father did not make good choices. I was stuck at home to care for siblings. I was molested. Miss Gayle too was 13 year old. She had to take care of her younger siblings. It is amazing howwe come across people that have gone through hardships also. I tend to push good people away cause the bad influences tend to stay longer. I gave birth February 25, 2017 to Janae Gayle Lindsay.

In June, I moved into my new apartment. Latisha came out of nowhere. She called and I told her about the new baby. Miss Gayle came by to get Janae(Miss Gayle calls her baby Gayle). Janae had colic and I had postpartum depression with her. I was thrilled when Miss Gayle offered to get her. Miss Gayle does not have children of her own. I love the way she kissed and loved those students. Those students would or to her with problems from home. I never thought I would befriend a teacher. While at the charter school, we had to keep our close relationship a secret.

The school was big on boundaries. Latisha did not care. Our bond was strong. Miss Gayle is no longer employed at the school. When she needs me for help, I help her. Latisha is working owning property in Jamaica. She wants to own a house with a special room to do art. Miss Gayle and my adopted mother have taught me that there are good people in the world. I may not depend on family but strangers have been good to me.Miss Gayle wants me to acquire knowledge and better myself. Miss Gayle hates when African American people do not stand up for themselves. In late 2019, I was battling a CPS case. Latisha helped me clean my house and talk with me. I battle with depression and I tend to not care about my appearance. It gets so bad that I let the children do whatever they want. Miss Gayle was not having that. She taught me to be consistent and give the children. I obtained my associates degree because of Miss Gayle. Being deeply loved by someone gives you strength, while loving someone deeply gives you courage. Lao Tzu

friendship
1

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.