Humans logo

A Night Out

Everything is Better with Merlot

By Lynn MurdockPublished 3 years ago 5 min read
Like

There I was sitting in my bathroom doing my best to look and feel like someone who actually wanted to go on a blind date. So far, I was just letting myself down. I so did not want to do this, at all. What had I been thinking allowing Jessie to convince me that this would be good? I was done with men, after my marriage had been such a freaking nightmare, why on earth would I ever put myself through that again? But here I was trying my best to not call this off before it even started.

I looked in the mirror and the woman looking back at me was scarred and a bit broken, but there was definitely a look that said I will not be trifled with written all over that lovely face. The last few years had been tough, with the affair and then the divorce. That rat bastard had actually after all he had done tried to get custody of their fur babies, hell the bastard had not even wanted her to get them and there he was trying to take them as well. Her faith in people had been shattered. But she had won and still had the only good part of her married life, her furry children. Her daughter was married and had moved away. So now it was just her, T.J, Toes and Malcolm. But her friends were constantly insisting that she should get back out there, she was still young and there were lots of fish in the sea, blah blah. They had all started to sound like the adults in Charlie Brown to her.

But here I was doing my best, to try and look the part, of what? What was it I was trying to look the part for? Honestly I had no idea why I had agreed to this date. I think I said yes just to shut my friends up. I know they think they are helping but I have listened to those same women constantly complaining about their own husbands and sometimes I think they are just jealous that I seem so happy alone.

But I would keep my promise and go on this one date and then when it was over I would be left alone. That was the promise I had gotten from them.

I gave myself a quick once over, not bad for an old lady, I thought. One night out would not kill me, and there would be a few glasses of Merlot to make even the worst date seem better. At least this guy had actually asked her where she would like to go instead of the macho crap most of them pulled. She of course had chosen her favorite, Sushi. You can never go wrong with Sushi.

He had wanted to pick me up, I had quickly declined, as the place I had chosen was only a few blocks from my house, plus if the date went badly I could easily leave. Yes that was my ultimate plan, to leave.

I gave myself one quick look in the mirror, jeans, pretty red top, and my favorite red Nike's. I was all about my Nikes. After they supported my favorite quarterback Kaepernick and are positively the most comfortable shoes ever I no longer wear anything but my Nike’s! They were waiting by the door all three little sad faces and their little eyes pleading for me not to go! I looked at them and sarcastically said, “No worries my little loves I won’t be long!” I gave them each a loving scratch and headed out for what felt like a really bad plan.

As I walked, my mind wandered. The same question popping into my head, why? Why was I doing this? I really just wanted things to stay just as they were. But who knows maybe a new friend would be nice. But most men just didn’t want a friend, no what they wanted was a caretaker, someone to be their maid, cook and housekeeper, oh yeah and help pay the bills. Oh crap there I was getting into my own head again. “Enough!” I thought to myself. “Just let it go please”, I thought. I arrived a few minutes early so I went in and took a seat at the small bar, the server knew me and smiled and said, “The usual?” I smiled back and nodded my accord. He sat my glass of Merlot down and asked why my husband and I had not been in for so long.

I gave a sad smile, “We are divorced.” “Oh, I am so sorry, you two always seemed so happy,” he said. “Seemed is the correct word.” I muttered. He quickly walked away. Divorce seems to have that effect on people, uncomfortable situation at best. But his discomfort was, simply put, not my problem.

I sat there sipping my wine and waiting. I didn’t have to wait long, he sauntered in like he owned the place, it almost made me laugh, almost. He wasn’t terrible to look at so at least there was that, but somehow I just knew that he would open his mouth and ruin it. He came up to me wearing his biggest and brightest smile and went for the hug, to which I promptly extended my hand. “Not so fast there mister,” I thought to myself. He pulled a fast one-eighty and extended his hand, “It’s so nice to finally meet you Maddy!” I faked a smile and returned the sentiment.

He smiled a bit more nervously and said, “Shall we move to the table?” “Absolutely!” I responded. I had just turned the tables on him and he knew it. Men prefer to always keep the upper hand so me rebuking his hug told him that I was not an easy going kind of woman.

We sat down and I looked him directly in the eyes and with a smirk I said, “I am certain you are quite the lady’s man with your good looks and charming smile but here’s the thing, I don’t want Mr. Charming, I prefer Mr. Real, so could we perhaps just this once dispense with the wine and dine and just enjoy an evening with a new friend?” He looked positively annoyed as I started talking but, to his credit by the end of my little diatribe he had a genuine smile on his handsome face.

Our waiter approached and offered us menus to which I replied with my brightest smile, “I only need the sushi menu! My new friend smiled as well and said, “Same here!” I thought to myself, “Well he can’t be all bad at least he likes sushi!” Then to my surprise he ordered a glass of Merlot, maybe it would be a good night after all!

Everything goes better with Merlot.

dating
Like

About the Creator

Lynn Murdock

I have been scribbling for years, I enjoy writing but creating is what i live for. Unfortunately my thoughts do not always come out on paper the way I imagined they would. I am here to learn and grow.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.