Humans logo

A New Hobby In Lockdown

Getting arty for the first time in my life!

By Rebecca SmithPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
4

Like many people, the lockdown means that I have been stuck inside the house, for the best part of a year now. At the beginning of the dreaded pandemic, I lost my job because I worked for a small company, who couldn't afford to survive anymore - they were having money issues way before the virus. I was jobless, homeless and had to move back in with my dad. Which I saw as a massive failure, because I never wanted to move back in with my parents. Sadly, my mum died in 2018, otherwise I would've lived with her instead. As many of us have, I've been really struggling with my mental health all through lockdown. I've had depression and anxiety for years, but this past year has really heightened that.I hate being stuck inside at the best of times, but when you're actually being forced into it? My idea of absolute hell.

My, let's call her my 'mother figure', loves cross stitch hoops. She has several around her house. Something happened, whereby she had to remove one of them and replace it with another one, because of some idiot. So I decided to get her a custom one made, to replace it. I found a lovely small business that makes them, we got chatting and I commissioned her to make one. I also brought a pattern from her, to give it a go myself. Well, since then, I have really taken to it. Now, not to sound like a weirdo, but when I was little, I loved sewing. Absolutely loved it. And cross stitching is basically sewing.

A new love was born.

I was actually surprised how quickly I took to cross stitch. I'm normally very bad with art. I can't even draw a stick man properly. I'm a writer by trade, and generally people aren't blessed with being good and writing AND drawing. But luckily, cross stitch is all just boxes, and once you learn to read a pattern, there's nothing really stopping you. Of course, I still mess up (a lot), but the more practice I get, the more confident I'm getting, which is a massively welcomed feeling, compared to how the lockdown has been making me feel.

For the best part of 5 months now, I have been making and selling my stitches. I'm in no way amazing at it, but I think I'm okay. I've sold a few on eBay, so I have now just started up an etsy shop, in the hope that I can try to make some money, so I can save up and finally get on with my life once the pandemic begins to ease. I know that I won't become a successful cross stitch business from this, but it is a hobby and I like knowing that people have my designs hanging up in their houses.

If you'd like something created, then feel free to get in contact with me via my etsy shop, and we can discuss what you want. Link below:

Also, if you're in the position to help a (very) small business, and would like to leave me a tip via this website, it would be very much appreciated. I HATE talking about money and stuff like that, but I really am trying to make something of this, and materials are expensive and etsy has very high fees, etc. So if you can, please leave a tip here, buy something or even get a custom design. Every little thing helps. And I really need to get out of where I currently am.

Thank you.

art
4

About the Creator

Rebecca Smith

She/Her

Just be f*cking nice 🙌

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

Rebecca Smith is not accepting comments at the moment

Want to show your support? Send them a one-off tip.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.