Humans logo

A Love Letter

To My First and Forever Love

By The WavePublished 6 years ago 3 min read
Like

Love is undefinable, love is irresistible, and love is pain. How do you love when you have never seen it? How do you love if you do not know how? When I saw you, it came over me like a crashing wave. It was like a burning sensation in my throat, I had no words to say when you looked at me that way. I tried to run away from this feeling because it was unfamiliar. I did not want to become vulnerable to you. You took my hand and I felt the world pause. In that moment I gave in and never turned back. You made my pain ease and turned it into hope. How can you make me see the world so differently without even saying a word? I felt love when I met you and now I can't let go. I wake up every day looking forward to talking to you. I go to bed wondering how your day went. I feel a thousand feelings when I hear your name. What have you done to me, my love?

I closed my eyes and pictured nothing, but then...you appeared. My heart started to beat faster, but you wrapped me in your peace, and I felt at ease. I don't know where we are, but we are here and it is we, not I.

You look at me and I know you love me. You smile and the world stops. You hold me and no harm could come. You love me and that is home.

A gift. Something we look forward to opening on holidays or birthdays. Something that we usually will only use for a month and then forget we even have it. A gift is something that is intended to show someone's love for us. These are all misconceptions people have because I have a gift sculpted by the Gods. You. The perfect gift that doesn't show anyone love but gives love. A gift that is irreplaceable.

There are not enough words in the dictionary to sum up the love I have for you.

Promise me forever. Can you do that?

Even forever is not long enough.

I see you in my dreams. You are my dream. Walking on silk. A perfect masterpiece sculpted by the hands of an angle. Perfection.

I knew when I met you. I did not want to admit it. I was so silly to be afraid of something so wonderful. I have grown so much since then. I have fallen deeper in love than imaginable. You were so patient and so kind. I knew you knew because when I showed nothing you showed everything. You pushed because you knew that I knew. Love at first sight. Love at first laugh. Love at first touch. The beautiful flower that blooms in every season.

Sometimes I wonder, why me?

"You are beautiful, you know that?"

I love you for a million reasons. I love you for reasons you don't even know. I love you for new reasons each day. I love you for the same reasons flowers bloom in the spring. It just comes so naturally.

I love the way you get me. I love the way you know when I get hungry. I love the way you know what to say when there is nothing to say at all.

To you, the one who never lets me down. The one who puts me before him. The one who sees the beauty where I cannot. The one who cares for me the way nobody else does.

I love you. I love you to the moon and back.

love
Like

About the Creator

The Wave

When it comes to art, it’s important not to hide the madnes. -Atticus

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.