Humans logo

A Long Time Coming

Just Kids (Part 2)

By J. R. RusbridgePublished 3 years ago 15 min read
1

Chris's POV:

I've had a lot on my mind lately, football being the last on that very long list. Which was a mistake on my part because of my frazzled thoughts I missed the pass and knew I was in for a good yelling from my younger brother. My girlfriend Marissa close to the bottom of that list as well, she has become something else lately. Someone else that I don't recognize, all she wants to do is fight. She also has been hanging out with my friends or her guy friends a lot more lately, she says it's because I don't talk to her anymore. I know it's supposed to hurt or bother me but it doesn't and I know why it doesn't but I can't let her know that now. Not after what I did to her, not after what I didn't do. all the mistakes that I made and all the things I should have done but didn't. Thinking about that week a year ago now only hurts me. I'm pretty sure she moved on now. How could she not, I've only hurt her and did nothing when the truth finally came out.

The ride back home from the field was quiet and full of tension. My brothers and sisters noticing my depressed state. It was Talia who spoke first. "Well, at least it was just practice." I looked at her trying to lighten the mood. I gave a small smile to her for the effort but they all knew why I was feeling this way. Well everyone except John, He was not old enough to know why I felt this way. My youngest sister Amanda started something she shouldn't have by opening her mouth. "Why don't you just talk to Cece? With everything that happened, I'm surprised she doesn't come over again?" I looked at her and had no clue what she was talking about. Talia kicked her with her cleat and that shut Amanda up. "What are you talking about?" I looked at them and knew they had some secrets by the way they exchanged glances and just turned away. I knew Amanda though, she could not hold a secret to save her life. She just kept looking at me the whole ride home trying to tell me what she knows through her eyes. It took us about twenty minutes to get from the field to our house. I saw Talia run towards her swing and when I went to follow Amanda stopped me. "Can you just tell me what you are trying so hard not to tell me?" She sighed and looked at me this time determined to say what was on her mind. "I know it's been about a year now. She's not with him anymore. He hurt her, broke her heart" Amanda left it at that and went into our house through the back door to avoid me asking more questions.

It was Kai who decided to talk after that little detail. "I'm surprised you didn't notice." I looked at him laughing a little at my confused face. "What are you talking about?" Kai just shook his head in disbelief, "You could have asked me about her." was all he said as we started walking toward Talia. "It wasn't my business, SHE wasn't mine." I just looked up to see Talia scare her, I remembered how easy it was to scare her. The book she was currently reading landing at her feet, just as she bent down to get it the wind picked up blowing the bookmark towards my brother and me. "Close your mouth brother. shes heading our way." I was distracted enough to see her heading my way but looking at my sister. Coming out of my distracted state just a little too late she ran into me knocking us down. I looked up to see the light from the sun enhancing everything about her, from her long brown hair to her petite figure. Her eyes still the same deep brown I love. I don't even think she realized that it was me she ran into, "I am so sorry!" she apologized as she got to her feet and stuck her hand out to help me up. Warmth enveloped my senses as I placed my hand in her small one. Just as I was getting up she noticed something and let my hand go while I was mid-stand, effectively dropping me back down. This time my back taking the brunt of the fall and not my arse. "Oh Gosh. I am so sorry! again." she said quickly realizing what just happened. This time when she goes to pick me up she trips and falls on me her elbow landing on my stomach and knocking the air out of me. My body acting on its own as I realized my arms had wrapped around her, holding her body to mine.

This time she looks up to my face, how she managed all of that without looking at me once. Has me surprised and a little impressed. The fact that she looked taken aback when she looks at my face puts a small smile on my face, remembering how much of an effect she still has on me and I on her. She looked so embarrassed and her face letting the world know, "Your face is all red." I whispered knowing she can hear me and no one else. "Hi, Cecilia" this time I say much louder. "Hi Chris," she says while trying to get up off me. I was too busy watching her and enjoying the feeling of just being this close to her again, to notice that I was still holding her to me. My heart racing and the warmth she lets off, I couldn't let her go. Not when she is finally in my arms, her voice knocking me back into reality I hear, "You can let me go, so I can get up now." The heat from her breath like silk caressing me, my body reacting making my breath hitch and makes me hold her just a little tighter. It was then that my brother John saw us, "Chris. I told you No!" he picked us both up off the ground and pushed Cecilia away a little too hard. "He doesn't have time for your crap!" He yells in her face before pulling me towards our house. I wanted to say something to her, anything to let her know I had all the time for her but nothing comes out.

Just as John closes the door I had him against the wall by his shirt. "WHY? Why would you do that!" I yell in his face feeling livid. "YOU still have a girl, I know you miss her but YOU left HER! YOU chose Marissa! I know what I said to her Chris but the truth is. She doesn't deserve to hurt again, She deserves better than that and YOU are no cheater. and she is no side piece or homewrecker!" I let his words sink in and as they did I released my brother knowing the truth behind his words. He loves Cecilia like a sister all my siblings do. How could you not love her, She is smart and kind, a goofball for anyone needing a laugh and she is more than generous and forgiving. A year ago I loved her, but not enough for me to stay. I didn't realize how long I was standing there until Talia and Kai came in, "How is she?" I looked at both of them. "A little hurt by what John said but she is going to be fine," Kai answered because Talia wouldn't look or talk to me. "Talia? How is she really?" I lowered my voice this time almost like a whisper. "You want to know how she is? Why don't you ask her? talk to her? GO to her?" Talia seethed out as she pushed me against the wall the way I had John just moments ago. I looked at her as Kai just watched the altercation. "She has liked maybe even loved you since you guys were twelve, She was going to stay and then the Blonde Barbie walks by during one game. ONE GAME, while Cecilia has been to every game, every fundraiser to support you. support us. She watched you fall for someone else. Do you know how many times that broke her? still, breaks her? and then when she finally finds someone who helps put her back together, he does the EXACT same thing you did to her. so you tell me, how do YOU think she's really doing?" Talia walked away from me with a disappointed look and shame in her eyes for me.

This time I walk into my room and get my cell out to call Marissa to tell her I'm done. I sit at my window as it starts ringing and look outside. my window having a perfect view of her swing, it also happens to be right across from her room. I see her face scrunch up as realization hits her a small smile on my face at how amazing she looks, "Dang it!" I hear her yell into the empty space and my small smile grows into laughter at her reaction. Just as I hear Marissa answer my laughter is muted and just becomes a smile. "Hey, babe! How was the game?" ignoring the fact that she knows nothing about it, I got straight to the point. "Marissa, I don't think we are working out. We are different people now and things have changed." The smile still on my face, I looked up to see Cecilia looking at me. She gives me a small wave as Marissa says something, "No. we aren't breaking up." she stated like her words were law. That wiped the smile right off my face, as I was about to wave back Cecilia just walks away looking a little disappointed. "Marissa, I wasn't asking. I'm saying, I. AM. DONE. It's over." with that said and before she could respond I hung up. Feeling a hell of a lot of pressure off my chest and relief that she was off the list.

I take my cleats off and throw them to the corner of my room and my jersey I toss on the ground. I walk into the bathroom in need of a long shower. I don't know how long I stood under the water letting it wash away the dirt and sweat. But my mind started to wander, to when we were just kids.

~Memory 4 years ago~

After practice, our parents decided to have a cookout with the neighbors. My parents became friends with the neighbors since they moved in. They had two daughters around mine and my sibling's ages, so we all sort of got along. One of the girls instantly becoming friends with my sisters, the other not so much. She looked like she was into her books more then she was in friends or people. I think that was what caught my attention, I don't know why but I went and sat right next to her. "You smell nice," I said regret already on my mind that I said it. She looked up from her book and smiled a little, "Thanks." was the only response I got before she went back into her book. What surprised me was the fact that I didn't get up, I just sat there with her not minding the silence that she came with. "Would you like to read with me?" She asked looking up a little at me. I just nodded my head noticing the smile I had now and how she had a little blush on her cheeks. She pushed the book to the middle of us, signaling that I should hold one side as she did the other. Holding one side I noticed the feelings I got when my hand touched her hand or how it felt when our skin touched. I knew it was something I would want more and more of. As we started reading I noticed that she was fast. I was done with one page at the same time she was finished and turned the page, I stopped her in the middle and she just looked at me. "I'm not that fast. sorry." I apologized and scratched the back of my neck. "How old are you?" she blurted out and quickly in realization she hid behind her hair. I chuckled lightly and moved her hair from her face, "I just turned 13. how about you?" she looked at me as if trying to figure something out. "Me too." We both were too busy looking at each other to hear our parents telling us the food was ready. Our dad's finally in front of us and her dad gently pulling her to the table to eat and pulling me away from her made me notice the looks our mothers were sharing. She started blushing at what my sister Talia just whispered in her ear. "Come on son, let's eat." Walking over to the table everyone took places around her leaving an open chair to her right for me to sit. I grabbed a plate and walked to her not paying too much attention to the conversations that were starting. As I sat down we both looked at each other and then looked away.

In the middle of our meal, I hear my mother ask Cecilia a very personal question. But one I wanted the answer to. "So Cecilia, do you have a boyfriend?" She stopped with her spoon in her mouth and looked at my mom, I just looked wide-eyed at her. I saw from the corner of my eye Cecilia look at me then around the table. "Uhm, No I don't have a boyfriend." as she said that I released a breath I didn't know I was holding. "Is there someone who has your attention at least?" I looked at her with that question, she looked at me that time and looked back at my mother, "I don't know. maybe" was all she said before she started eating again. I was busy biting my lip to keep from smiling that I may have a chance. I didn't hear her mom asking me the same question. "Chris?" I looked up and saw everyone looking in my direction. "What?" I asked this time ready to answer, "Do you have a girlfriend?" Her mom asked again. "No, no I don't," I answered quickly making my dad and her dad laugh and look at each other. "Is there a girl that has Your attention?" this time her dad asked. I looked at her and notice she was biting her bottom lip and pushing her food around her plate. I looked at our parents and smiled, "Yes. there is someone. Now." They all knew I was talking about her, I didn't know what this was or what it meant. But I wanted to be around her, to see her smile, I wanted to be the reason she smiled, and our parents knew. As our mothers talked and our fathers looking at us, I just looked at her. "Hi, I'm Chris," I said finally starting something with her. She looked at my hand and then to my face. I saw a smile growing bigger and she laughed lightly, I noticed our parents staring at us waiting to see her reaction to me. "Cecilia, nice to meet you, Chris." when she placed her hand in mine I smiled just as bright as her, loving the way my name sounded when she said it.

~Memory end.~

I finally came to with cold water now falling on my skin and my sister banging on the door. I turned the water off and got out of the shower drying myself and wrapping the towel around my waist. I opened the door and saw Talia glaring at me, "What now T?" I asked still thinking about the time we first met. Even then I knew I wanted to be with her. Well sort of, "Tell your girlfriend to stop calling my phone. I won't be held responsible for what happens to her if she keeps that shit up" she said walking into the bathroom, "Do it, I broke up with her, and she won't take it as it is." I said lazily just trying to go to my room but Talia stops me again. "Wait, did you really?" she asked hopefully. "Yeah, I did." Talia smiling a little as I closed my door successfully entering my room. I picked my cell up noticing the ten missed calls and fourteen text messages from Marissa. Ignoring them all and opening my contacts in search of one number and once I found it, I opened it in messages. I was really nervous thinking about texting her but I took a deep breath and started with the easiest opening I could think of.

~text~

C: Hey Ce.

I hit send, hoping she would talk to me. When my phone beeped, my heartbeat jumped

Ce: Hey

C: It was nice seeing you.

I replied, not wanting to seem like a creep or a player. At least I hoped that wasn't how she saw me.

Ce: I'm sorry about today.

C: It's okay

C: Can I call you?

I hit send getting nervous when she didn't respond. I was just about to go to bed when my phone beeped. When I opened the message I was in a better mood then I was in the last few months.

Ce: Sure.

~Text end~

I sat up and slapped myself before I hit the call button. When it started ringing my heart started to race, but when she picked up I swear my heart skipped a beat. Her voice was soft and sweet when she answered. "Hello" I sucked in a deep breath and all I could think about was that this time I was going to do it right.

~Hey guys sorry for the cliff hanger, I hope you guys are enjoying the story so far. I will be updating it again soon.

literature
1

About the Creator

J. R. Rusbridge

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.