Humans logo

A Letter to My Best Friend

You know who you are...

By Lex ToombsPublished 4 years ago 3 min read
Like

Dear Best Friend,

You know how sometimes people come into your life and they either stay for a reason or a season? You get used to someone being in your life, you love them, and sometimes it’s just time for them to go? There’s no rhyme or reason to it, but sometimes they just disappear from your life and you’re moving on without them.

Well, I’m glad that you never left. Even as time goes on, sometimes our relationship and distance get between us. We live in different cities, we experience different things, and we lead different lives. We fight, but we always make up. Even when you’re snippy with me, or I ask something stupid, we somehow still manage to be there for each other. Regardless of when I do something that you disapprove of, you don’t hold it against me for too long. You speak your mind: you don’t sugar-coat it. You say it out, loud and clear, and I can’t help but appreciate your bluntness.

Psychology says if your friendship can survive seven years, it will most likely survive a lifetime. You’ve stuck by me for way longer than that now. That hurdle has been surpassed and we’re still going, so it must be in some part true.

As such, I thought it only fitting that since I have an opportunity to write and express myself, that this would be a good choice.

Here it is, my friend. A collection of all of the many things I want to express but haven’t ever taken the time to.

Thank you for staying in my life, even when time and circumstance separate us. Thank you for loving me through my mistakes, for finding the will to pick up the phone and check on me when you miss me. Thank you for being the human that knows so many different aspects of me, from who I was as a young child to the woman I am becoming today.

The times and trials may test us. They may test our resolve. Life may get in the way of our adventures. After all, we’re no longer children without a care in the world. Now you have a child and I am still exploring who I am becoming. Every day, we are changing. After those seven years, even the cells in our body are no longer the same. We’re a whole new being, but somehow you still find it worthwhile to be my friend and we've still held on.

I want us to be like the Ya-Ya Sisterhood with our sisters and family beside us. I want every step in our journey to be as filled with our friendship as the last chapter we experienced and every chapter ahead. So far, it’s been a joy. I’ve seen a lot of your dumb moments and you’ve seen a lot of mine. Our inside jokes from years ago still make us snicker; you still manage to find a million ways to remind me of all the memories that you have that I can’t remember and vice versa. It’s been a delight every second, even when I couldn’t see the blessing that you represented in my life at that time.

Here’s to many more lifetimes of friendship together, always helping each other to never feel alone in this world, to beautiful experiences and people that come to enrich our lives and make us grow into our best selves, so that someday when we’re old and grey, we can look back and laugh with the memories we created along the way.

Thanks for being my best friend and confidant.

Love Always,

Lexi

friendship
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.