Humans logo

A hopeless future

Modern devastation

By Bryan WaitePublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like

The year is 2062, and life couldn’t be much better. I feel safe, loved, and well taken care of.

A heart-shaped locket dangles from my neck, and I can’t help but smile when I grasp it between my fingers and remember the image inside.

Bryan and I in front of those massive waterfalls, the crystal clear water with colorful rocks throughout.

I woke up this morning and turned on the news to hear about what incredible things people have been doing.

These days it seems the whole world is just one big community. We all do our part and take responsibility for keeping this place clean and beautiful. We look after each other and make sure every country has the essentials they need.

Pollution is zero. The air is so crisp and clean and refreshing! It almost feels too good to be true. Today marks the 30th anniversary of world peace day. And I must say, life is good!

Who knew we were creating our suffering for all those years? The moment we got rid of the stock market and debt was when the world started changing for the better.

It’s almost as if we got rid of money, but all we did was take away its evil power. I mean, people still use cash to buy things and as a way of “earning,” but there is no debt whatsoever.

I understand if you’re lost; let me explain a little bit further.

World peace day was organized and planned for almost a decade. Everyone was United and in on it. We forced the governments of the world into submission when the whole world stopped on that day.

Now, we still have governments, and every country is still its own country. But the whole world has agreed upon a set price for every single item, and that price is to remain the same forever.

Every government has unlimited funds. They can print as much as they want and never acquire any debt.

Every country works together to provide for its citizens most economically.

Drs earn some of the highest pay, and there is a limit set on how rich one can become.

The governments all agreed upon what things should not be created and decided that if any government does evil deeds, it will be dismantled by all the other world's governments.

We have created the best renewable resources and pollution filtering technology ever, and our oceans are pristine!

We are only required to work three days but can work as much as we want. We have free healthcare, free education, and instead of unemployment lines, we have job selection lines, and the jobs that are needed the most pay the best.

We still have sports. Those passionate and good enough to make the teams do, and they love playing. And some of us love watching.

Things like poaching and human trafficking have come to an end. Our wildlife is healthier and happier than ever before. Our forests are flourishing amazingly.

Overly processed foods are a thing of the past. People are healthy, strong, and happy. Everyone looks after each other.

If I get hurt and can’t work, my government pays for everything until I’m better. I honestly love my life.

As I sip my coffee, which tastes like magic, by the way. (all organic)

I can’t wait to get out there and get my day started doing what I do best.

I wish this were the truth, unfortunately, Bryan died of cancer ten years ago, and the world is so polluted, filthy, and dreadful. It’s 100 times worse than ever, and I don’t see any hope for a future. People get sick and can’t work and end up eating from dumpsters, and no one cares about anything. we created our suffering. All we need to do is love one another and take care of the planet and its inhabitants.

love
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.