Humans logo

A friend in need is a friend indeed!!

B.F.F

By Jacqueline PaynePublished 4 years ago 6 min read
Like
A friend in need is a friend indeed!!
Photo by Briana Tozour on Unsplash

(All names have been changed in respect of my B.F.F's)

Hi! Im jaki, what is your name? is how it all began..and then we became B.F.F's. Now do not get me wrong, I do have more than one and it is a wonderful relationship.

Lets begin with my first b.f.f way back when I was in primary school.We were both feeling out of place and a bit out of sorts and were drawn to each other instantly. Sharon was a very quiet but fun girl who seemed to surprise me with her witty jokes..I wondered how come she is such an introvert and can still have me and others in splits of laughter. Yes we shared alot of our time together laughing with and at each other than at others. We were both very empathetic toward those we felt were being bullied..We always stepped up to the plate to protect those being bullied in school.I loved Sharon so much for being part of my life that it hurt when she went away to England.I missed her every day.

Sharon and I both loved dancing and we would spend our time at hers dressing up with very shiny and colorful clothes, makeup and all, while her mum prepared a very delicious meal in the kitchen. The aroma of the food cooking made me hungry and I can remember it even today. Aunty was an awesome cook.

It was a Tuesday and Sharon did not come to school, I was concerned as she would never absent and I wondered what was going on. My class teacher asked me if I knew any thing , as everyone in my school knew we were best friends.I was upset that I had no clue to give any answer and kept wondering all day, distracted and confused.

I walked home along with my sister in silence ,otherwise a very fun experience when Sharon was with us. We clowned around until our destination arrived, every day. Today was different, with a feeling of a heavy heart of the unknown.

My maid Asha, looked at me with this blank face , her eyes welled up with tears , she knew what had happened,as she also helped Sharon's mum with the chores around their home.

I got closer to her while I ate my lunch,mutton curry and rice with a pulses soup,"dal", delicious as it was ...I did not seem to enjoy it at all,in anticipation of what I may hear.

"MIKE BABA , PASSED AWAY...FROM AN OVERDOSE" was Asha's words.I looked at her with my confused but teary eyes saying,"NO..NO.." IT IS NOT TRUE?????Asha, replied," YES BABY" THEY FOUND HIM IN HIS ROOM EARLY IN THE MORNING"

I knew that Sharon and her elder brother Mike were very close and they were never apart from each other. He was more of a father figure for her.Leaving my food , I pulled my maids hand and asked her to take me to my B.F.F'S place right away..

I ran down the road as it was only a few blocks away from my home. On reaching the entrance to Sharon's home , there she sat at the corner of her brothers bed holding on to his pillow still damp with the reminiscences of the morning.She and I ran towards each other and hugged so tight like we were inseparable ...We cried so much that it hurt right down to the core of our being....Our faces red and heads pounding ..we finally made our way into the living room where aunty sat, head in her hands , weeping the loss of her first born.I was eleven and did not know what to say or do, so I just found myself slipping my small hands into hers and holding it as tight as I could, saying in my soft little voice," Aunty , I am here for you."She turned toward me and grabbed me around my waist sinking her already swollen teary eyed face into my belly , breaking into a wailing a heart wrenching cry.I just stood there, frozen, but grateful I could be of some help right then, for I was like her daughter too.

Yes, "B.F.F" is a very strong designation to give someone.It is a position you wanna be very careful with,always keeping it safe and protected, because it is fragile too.I am so glad I had this experience as it taught me to be a stronger person in death..for who would know one day I would be experiencing a loss at 33.

On a lighter note ,while I was in stenography school, I had another B.F.F too. Her name was Jasmine,she would help me with my typing skills and bring me this awesome ," Halwa" a kind of sweet meat made from semolina" I just loved it and looked forward to it every day.

Our friendship began outside the classroom when we were in detention by sister Agatha.We would love to chat during shorthand class , about Jasmines little son.She was a teenage mother and was married into an arranged marriage, where she was very unhappy. Her only outlet was coming to stenography class every day. Jasmine was so beautiful, she had lovely curly blond hair and the most gorgeous blue eyes.I loved her sense of style.She looked adorable in her frilly dresses ,a spectrum of colours. I loved reading the songs she wrote about how she was taken advantage of by a very close family member and had to compromise her life forever. Even though we shared our lives with all its imperfections we had wonderful times bunking and going to the ," Victoria memorial" in Kolkatta, " City of joy" and my mother land"

We rode on the horse and carriage and ate junk food from the vendors along the way, we even raced the lavish green fields ,bare foot and rolled in it too..I will always remember us running so fast to get back to class in the pouring down rain..we were both drenched when we reached Loretta house, our stenography college....All we were received with was a big loud applause from our classmates..Yes we were the rebels of the entire classroom and who other than us could do something like this.Memories ...sweet memories!!

Yes, B.F.F is a sacred person who will be willing to stand by you no matter what and I experienced that when I became a teacher and worked in a few schools along the way..These friends of mine are individuals who are still in touch ..even though we do not talk much.We do not need to speak to know we are B.F.F'S

That is the essence of this relationship.Here is a my love letter to all of them..

Dear B.F.F's

It was my honor to have met you under the circumstances we did, be it good, bad or otherwise.We found a common ground and became friends forever.We laughed ,cried, shared, worked and even sometimes had a difference of opinion .Always winding back to each other and cherishing our bond with ,overcoming our differences and standing tall together.

You have been a solid rock even when you knew you were hurting.We held each other up when we were feeling down.Patting each-other on the back with ata boys to cheer each-other on and wiping each-others tears to console of better day to come.We hugged each other when it came time to depart and leave, never knowing if we would ever feel this emotion physically again.

My dearest B.F.F's you made a big difference in my life and taught me about myself giving me an insight into who you were.I will say, all of you are perfect inside out and unique in your own little ways.Your love and laughter rings though the air like a wind chime blowing in the wind,Yes that is how I am connected virtually with you....Nature... our common ground.

I will cherish the moments we shared together and always appreciate your kindness, understanding and selfless nature when, I was in a time of great need...with out a question or need of explanation, you came forward and helped me..and I am grateful you were there when I needed you the most. " Thanyou! My precious B.F.F's"

You are beautiful like a rainbow!!!!

Om*Peace*Love*

Your B.F.F

jaki

humanity
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.