Humans logo

A Family of Strays

Chocolate Bonds

By MichaelPublished 3 years ago 5 min read
Like

Had it already been two weeks? What was meant to be a one-day stay began to become a more permanent stay. I can’t believe Steph and Coop would let another stranger into their home when they’re already struggling to maintain things as it is. Ugh! It irritates me so much knowing there’s nothing more I can do but stress-bake. Nathan doesn’t seem like a bad guy, but it’s already too much. He shouldn’t be here. I shouldn’t be here.

I was the last to join the family, and even then, times were rough for everyone. I’ve had this feeling of guilt ever since. Because of it, all I can do is cook and bake and waste the small number of resources that we have, which only causes the guilt to grow even more. So why are Steph and Coop so kind to everyone when they’re drowning? A question I can’t answer.

The first dinner with Nathan went alright. After that, of course, I didn’t like the idea of Nathan staying, but I made the best of it and enjoyed the time. He said he was only going to be there for a night or two. He lied, but I can’t fault him for it. We’re the same.

I leaned atop the island in the center of the kitchen. Stacey walked in just a moment after cutting myself a slice of the chocolate cake I had only just baked. It was a sense of therapy in its own right.

“Whatcha up to, Michelle?” asked Stacey.

“What does it look like?” I responded.

“Attitude much?”

“Sorry. I’m just a little stressed out.”

“Apology accepted. Mind if I have a slice?”

I slid over the cake to Stacey, and she joined me with an irritating conversation. So, of course, the first thing she asks me is what I think about that stranger. All I could tell her is what I’ve been saying over and over. He doesn’t belong here. None of us do. That’s when the realization hit me. I’ve been so busy stressing over another person that I forgot I once had a destination beyond this place and why I stayed in the first place.

Stacey went on about Nathan as if she had a crush on him or something. I pretended to listen up until the point she mentioned his reasoning for being here. “I overheard Nathan’s convo with Steph and Coop,” Stacey whispered, “...and you’ll never believe the reason he ran away from home.” So naturally, I was intrigued and wanted to know more. Sure, it wasn’t any of my business, but if this kid is going to lay his head where we lay ours, it’s vital to know the details.

“So, are you going to tell me or not?” I asked Stacey as she went for a second slice of cake.

“So here’s the deal….”

Before Stacey could even begin the story, Tori walks in.

“You shouldn’t be eavesdropping and telling business that isn’t yours to tell,” says Tori as she grabs a plate to place a slice of the chocolate cake.

“Well, isn’t that the pot calling the kettle black, huh, Tori?” Stacey responds. “Plus, I think it’s important we know who this guy is before we welcome him into the family.”

“I totally agree,” I said.

Nathan only gave us a small piece of why he ran away, but it was clear as day that he was hiding so much more. Though Tori disagreed, Stacey and I both knew she was right.

“It’s a trust thing,” Tori says, “We’ve all been there and withheld things from our past. We didn’t open up until we knew we could trust one another.”

“Well, he seems to trust you an awful lot, and pretty quickly, too,” Stacey says to Tori, “You know something, don’t you?”

“Tori responds, “ I know enough, and I know there’s more to his story than what he’s told to Coop and Stephanie.”

It is that type of thing that worries me the most—secrets upon secrets. I only say that because I’m the same way. I, too, am holding back information regarding my past that I don’t want anyone to know. It’s not that I don’t trust anyone will understand. It’s just that I can’t bring myself to say anything about it.

I did find it odd the closeness of Nathan and Tori. The boys I can understand, but I notice Tori blushes whenever Nathan is mentioned anywhere outside of a serious conversation. I wonder.

“You really like this guy, don’t you, Tori?” I teased.

“What? I-I mean, he’s okay...I guess.”

“Just okay?” teased Stacey. “Okay, or smoking hot?”

“Oh my gosh, shut up! It’s not like that, okay?!”

Tori’s cheeks burned a bright red as she tries to hide her smile. Stacey and I laughed in the moment. Quickly, Tori grabs the entire cake and cuts another slice just to avoid the awkwardness. Then, she began talking about how moist the cake is. Stacey’s response, “I bet that cake isn’t the only thing that’s ‘moist’!” Both mine and Tori’s jaws dropped to the floor. I died in laughter. Tori stuffed her mouth but couldn’t hold back the laughter. She’s so bashful that it’s adorable. As we each joked and laughed, Steph entered the kitchen to see what was going on.

“What are you girls talking about?” asked Steph, who, too, went for a slice of cake.

“Nothing!” we all said in sync with giggles and full mouths.

I couldn’t help but let out Tori’s little secret about her crush on Nathan. Naturally, Tori denied the accusation, all while lightly placing her head on the island. She’s feeling embarrassed. Then went Stacey. “So, Steph? Would you say this cake is ‘moist’ or what?” Immediately, I dropped to the floor and cracked the hell up as Stacey couldn’t help but laugh until she fell alongside me. Tori herself slid down onto the floor, redder than a ripe tomato.

What’s happening now is what I love the most about this place. When I got here, it was just a farm and a place to lay my head for a short while. Now, it’s a home with the most amazing people in the world. Who knew a bunch of strangers could form such strong bonds and become a family? This realization alone is what knocked some sense into me. None of us belong here, but we are here, and there’s nowhere else I’d rather be. So in that aspect, I want to apologize to Nathan for the cold shoulder and welcome him to what we call “a family of strays.” The story continues.

love
Like

About the Creator

Michael

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.