Humans logo

A Date, When Magic happened!

Roses are lovely, so are you!

By ankit priyadarshiPublished 3 years ago 13 min read
7
A Date, When Magic happened!
Photo by Kristopher Roller on Unsplash

"Like, a lazy ocean hugs the shore...

hold me close,

Sway me more... "

I was driving my Maserati Gran Cabrio sport, through the calm and scenic countryside roads of Tuscany and this song was playing in its full grandeur through my car's music system.

Music has a way to touch your heart in the most seductive ways possible! This song did the same to me. It was then, I was reminded of the emptiness in my heart and for the record, the loneliness in my car.

If you would like to know about me, I can explain it in one simple sentence. In terms of the things that money can buy, I am quite well off, whereas for the things which money can't buy I am quite poor!

Also, I am super busy!

I love my car and everything in it! But lately, that is all I could say is close to me and of course, music! I find solace in the soulful words and these melodious tunes.

As I felt the longing for love, I could not help but admire the amazing scenery. The beauty of nature has a magic technique to calm your mind!

By Engjell Gjepali on Unsplash

If I can be really honest with you, I was actually running away from the situations in my life or perhaps chasing something which I did not know but needed desperately! It has been a long time, I have not been my usual self. The 'me' in my memories could take on the world and still ask for more. But the 'me' at present is completely exhausted, it doesn't want to put in any more effort, but panics suddenly when it tries to rest!

I don't know whether it's because of the force of habit which my mind has formed due to the constant struggles it has gone through and successfully overcome most of the times or is it because the power of will needs replenishment and for some reason, I have been devoid of it.

I got engrossed in these thoughts when suddenly I saw a kid on the road!

Luckily my driving skills are good and almost involuntarily, I steered my car off the road into the fields on the side. I stopped at a short distance ahead. In the rearview mirror, I saw the horrified kid, she started crying loudly.

I got off the car and went towards the child, she was scared and confused perhaps also thinking that I would be mad at her! Well, lucky for her, I despise getting angry. I believe it is a waste of emotions.

I asked her, "Are you alright?"

She nodded her cute face in agreement.

I smiled at her! and said let us not stand on the road, come this side.

"So where is your mummy?" I asked.

She pointed towards the east from where a woman was running towards us.

She appeared quite terrified, and understandably so!

I picked up her daughter, and moved towards her. When we came close, I said, "Your daughter is completely fine! No need to worry!"

I have handled a lot of stressful situations in my life and I have learnt that stress has nothing to do with reality, it is a by product of your imagination. So if you are going to beat that you simply need to give your brain the right message. Like I first tried to do with the little girl,when I asked her if she was alright, in a way I conveyed to her brain that her wellbeing was more important than anything else that happened. With her mother, when I said her daughter was fine and she doesn't need to worry anymore, I tried to take away all the negative aspects out of the picture. I did not want to make her feel terrible by making her think she was not able to take care of her child properly.

She extended her hand to take hold of her daughter, then held her close. She said in her daughter's ears, "Oh my baby! don't run away from mummy ever!"

The little girl had calmed downby now and she said in the most innocent way, "The wind blew away my drawing!"

Her mother replied, "Whatever happens, you should not cross the road without me!" To which the little girl replied, "I looked, there was no one on the road"

I admit I was driving fast!

The lady again said to her child, "Promise me, you would never do it again!" The cute reply that came was, "I promise!"

Then the lady looked at me and said, "I am extremely sorry, for the trouble caused to you. I am such a fool, I didn't even ask you if you were alright? And is your car ok?

I said, "Both me and my car are excellent! Please don't worry about me! I am happy that this young lady is safe, though we will have to do something about her drawing!"

While I said that, I gently stroked the little girl's cheek. She gave me a big smile which brought a smile on my face as well.

"Can I draw something for you? would you come to my house? All the papers and my crayons are there I only have two crayons now, green and purple I need red, yellow, blue and brown as well!"

"You certainly know how to draw!"

the lady said ,"Please, be our guest if you could spare some time! I run a restaurant I will prepare something nice for you!"

I said, "It's fine! You don't need to trouble yourself!"

"Oh no! I will be honoured! Please, I insist!" said the lady.

I agreed.

Then I suggested that we should go in my car. The restaurant was around a kilometer away and her house was on the 1st floor of the same building, as she explained to me.

First I drove the car back on the road and then stopped and opened the door for the lady and her daughter. We got into the car, and left for their home.

The little girl was impressed with my car. I did not have a child seat in my car, but I thought it would be ok because it was just a small distance. She said, "I like your car!" with a cute jovial smile. "Thank you! But you haven't told me your name yet."

She said, "I am Karen." Then her mother also told her name, it was Sophia Sophia Lauren.

"I am Ankit Priyadarshi! I am from India, living in Italy for the past two years and I design cars."

"I see! You must be good at your job."

I replied, "Perhaps too good! So much that it has been the only good in my not so good life lately!"

I thought, what the hell did I just do! there was no need to say that. I immediately corrected myself, "I am sorry, you touched a sensitive spot."

...That did not sound like correction after it came out of my mouth!

"It's ok, we all have our problems. I would pray to god, that you get everything you deserve and you surely deserve to be happy!" sophia said and smiled at me. I smiled back!

I took a turn as suggested by the navigator app, our destination was about to come. Karen was listening to this conversation patiently, well till now!

"Would you like to be friends with my dog, Bucky?" Said the little girl and it really amused me!

I asked, "Is he friendly?"

Now listen to the reply, "All dogs are! Dogs think like babies, If you are kind to them the love you much more than you can love them, and I think you need more friends!"

That was wise! I was starting to enjoy the moment!

"I said, what about you, would you like to be my friend?"

Karen replied with an overwhelming, "Absolutely!"

Sophia and me shared a laugh.

We reached the restaurant after a minute. We got of the car and went inside. There were two staff members, a middle aged man and an old lady.

Sophia said, "Vittoro, Zola, meet Ankit, he is our guest.."

Karen interrupted, "..and my friend too"

Zola said,"Of course, dear!" Vittoro jumped in, "Let me tell you a secret, then he is our friend too!"

I thanked them for their hospitality. Sophia showed me to a comfortable place to sit and said she would be back in a couple of minutes. She also showed me the way to restroom, in case I wanted to freshen up. I went to the rest room and when I came back, I saw, there was no other customer in the restaurant at that point of time. It was a very beautiful place every thing was made up of wood. if not for the electrical appliances, one would feel like taken back in time.

I noticed, a portrait of a man in police uniform on one of the walls. Vittori said, "Angello, Karen's Father! He died on duty two years ago. He was like my younger brother. I had taught him to cook and to shoot!"

I looked at him surprised! He replied in a cheeky way, "Ha ha I got you there! Gosh! I am a big fan of the old western movies!"

I chuckled.

Then he asked me, "would you like something to drink?"

I said,"A glass of water would be fine!"

I heard, Sophia's steps coming down the staircase. Following her was Karen, with her elaborate drawing apparatus in her hands. I thought this little girl is really passionate about drawing.

"Please have a seat!"

She sat opposite to me and Karen sat in between us. She asked, "What would you like to have?" I replied, "Whatever you suggest! The chef's choice probably." She smiled and then looked at Zola. Without Sophia even uttering a word, Zola gave a thumbs up and went to the kitchen. I was amazed to see the understanding between them.

As we settled Karen picked up her drawing board, and started to draw something. I asked her, "What are you drawing?"

"It's for you, but it is a surprise. You can't see it!"

I said,"Okay!"

Suddenly there was a sound of a dog barking, coming from the back yard. I presumed it would be Bucky my 'going to be friend'. I turned around to see the dog playing with a boy in the backyard.

"Mummy, Romeo has come take bucky for a walk, can I go with him?"

Sophia said, "But you have to come back soon." Karen nodded her head and ran away. I looked at her going out of the door, and thought that I have gained two little friends with big hearts, Karen and Bucky (well we are yet to be introduced)!

Sophia said, "I can't express how much I am grateful to you! Had there been anyone else, I can't imagine what could have happened." She became teary eyed. I passed her a napkin and told her that everything is good now it was just a bad moment that has already passed.

We chatted a little more, I told her about my family, my job my hobbies,and so on. She told me about her life and the grief she had suffer when his husband was martyred two years back. Also how she had to keep herself motivated to help her daughter not miss her father too much.

She then asked me, "So how are you still single?"

I said, "I believe luck has not been on my side, I have been in love but probably with the wrong people."

I continued, "Anyways, I am very happy to have made new friends today!"

She said, "Me too!"

"And me too, any friend of karen is a friend of mine! ha ha!" Vittoro said from behind, he had brought the food. Karen also entered from the door almost at the same time. Sophia told her to wash her hands and come back to eat. The food was delicious, I enjoyed it thoroughly.

She then asked me, "Would you like some wine? we have a very nice collection"

I said, "Well, my knowledge of wine is very limited."

She instantly replied, "Tell me, what do you know?"

"Only that Cabernet Sauvignon is called the king of all wines and you have to make the wine swirl in the glass, and smell it before drinking. It determines the flavour one would pick up."

"hmm... not bad! I feel, today you don't need the king of all wines, but the queen of all wines, Merlot!"

She opened the bottle and poured us two glasses. I moved my glass gently for the wine to swirl, and smelled the aroma. It was exotic! I took a sip.

Sophia asked "Did you like it?"

I replied, "Very much!" with a gentle smile.

Then she took me for a walk in the back yard, where I met my new friend, Bucky. Karen was right, dogs are like babies, you need to show them some love and they would treat you as if you were there own.

"I spent a great time, I can't express how happy I am to know you guys!" I said when I was about to leave. Sophia said, "Wait, just give me a minute!"

She went inside and came back with a bottle of vintage Merlot! I said, "Please you have already done so much!"

She silenced me by putting her finger on my lips and said, "I won't take no as an answer!"

I looked at the bottle, she had written a note on the bottle, "May you find the queen of your hearts, soon!-Love Sophia, Karen, Vittoro, Zola."

"Oh! I forgot to complete the drawing for you!" remembered Karen.

I said, "You complete it later, good things take time!"

Sophia said, "Baby, when you complete it, I will send a picture to Ankit!"

Karen was ok with this. Then I left in my car, I thanked God for giving me such a beautiful experience! With that bottle of merlot even my car doesn't feel lonely anymore :)

I reached home in the evening, and went for a shower when I came back, there was a message on my phone.

It was a cute picture of roses drawn by Karen. next to it was a question from Sophia, "How are the roses?"

I replied, "The roses are lovely, so are you!"

"...and how was the Merlot?" she texted back.

"Absolutely magical!" ...............

Exactly two years have passed and we are getting married today!

When we were thinking about the date, I remember I said,"Which day better than the one, when magic happened in both our lives!"

....................

Hope you enjoyed reading, this little piece of fiction. This is also my first on vocal, I have used my own name and some of my experience to write this story but I am a bit different from the guy in the story in this way-

"In terms of the things money can't buy I am uber-rich, and in terms of the things that money can buy I am alright!"

Maserati and me, but not mine yet!-Photo by author's friend:)

marriage
7

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.