Humans logo

A Broken System

8/8/2014

By Jefferey A AyersPublished 2 years ago 4 min read
Like
A Broken System
Photo by Aaron Burden on Unsplash

We are currently living in a world where knowledge is available to all. If you have a question, you can hop online or reach for a book and find answers. If it is a question of science or mathematics, there are calculations or studies that have been done or are being done, and you can be brought up to speed just by having the drive to seek this knowledge. If it is a question of faith, interpretation, or philosophy – you can find the works of people who have spent their lives researching and debating. Resources like Google, Bing, Webster’s, and The Philosophical Review are only a mouse click or a library card away. There are even resources like People magazine, Sports Illustrated, and Teen magazine for personal interests. One has but to ask and the knowledge he seeks will be his. I came across a cold, hard realization today, though: there are people out there who are being robbed of their ability to seek out the information that they desire.

I tutor reading, writing, and ESL. One of my students is a 5th grader in the Portland Public Schools system, and that system is failing him. As we were working on a simple alphabetization problem, I realized that he was struggling more than any 5th grader should. “Write out your alphabet on the side of the paper for reference” I said (with a bit of frustration creeping in on the edge of my voice). I got an apologetic stare as a response. “What is the first letter of the alphabet?” A… “And the second?” B… “Keep going.” C,D,E,F,G,H,I,J,K,L,M,N,P,Q,R,X,T,U,V,Y,Z… I couldn’t help but stare at the poor kid with a look of absolute astonishment. Has no one taken the time to teach this child his alphabet? Has anyone ever cared enough to ask? The system has failed.

Many people believe that it is the job of a teacher to teach, but it goes deeper than that. A teacher needs to inspire. They need to build confidence and the desire to seek knowledge in their pupils, and above all else, they need to instill a sense of intellectual independence into their students so that when the time comes where that individual desires to seek knowledge on their own, they have the means to do so. My young friend lacked that ability. Nobody took the time to build him up to where he needed to be, yet when the time came for him to participate in the standardized testing; he was found to be lacking the mental capabilities demonstrated by his peers. Why? Did he not try? Is he unwilling to learn? Does he have some sort of disability that has hindered his ability to perform intellectually? No. The answer is simple, disturbing though it may be: the system has failed.

I work with my young friend once a week for an hour at a time. During this time, we laugh, we chat, and we work. I ask him what interests him and then I try to find work that he can find intriguing. He asks me questions and I point him into the direction of the answers rather than telling him. I have learned in my studies that knowledge is not only about reaching the answer, but also about the journey to that answer. John Adams once said “let us tenderly and kindly cherish, therefore, the means of knowledge. Let us dare to read, think, speak, and write.” My young friend is an illiterate philosopher. He always asks me why. Today it was “why does a whale cry?” “Because he is calling out to his family. He yearns to have a friend near.” “Does that mean that they can love? Do whales have souls?” “I do not know. Why don’t you research it and write me a page or two telling me why you think whales cry.” “O.K.” The desire is there. The means are not. The system has failed.

So what do we do? Try. Ask questions. I know that the job of a teacher is demanding, and that there isn’t enough hours in the day to work with each student individually, but what if we all set aside an hour a day to attempt to make a difference? I work with my friend for an hour a week, and in that time I have seen development. I have seen improvement in sentence structure, improvement in spelling, and an improvement in attitude. Today he actually asked me when I was going to bring him another book to read. How many children out there are falling behind because nobody cares enough to find the right questions to ask? The system has failed, and it is time to do something about it.

To my young friend: Thank you. You are my inspiration. I cannot help every child who is lacking guidance, but I can help some. Never let anyone tell you that you are the problem. Never let anyone convince you that there are things that you cannot do. I have seen you make great strides, and I am glad that I get to walk this path with you. I look forward to seeing what questions tomorrow will bring.

humanity
Like

About the Creator

Jefferey A Ayers

I am an aspiring writer who was born and raised in the Pacific Northwest. I joined vocal out of desire, and curiosity. This will be the first time I have put my writing out in the public, and I look forward to hearing what you all think.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.