Humans logo

8777 Turnbough Street

When Unexpected Love Brings You Purpose

By Renee VaughnPublished 3 years ago 9 min read
Like
8777 Turbough Street

"DOES LIFE REALLY HAVE TO BE LIKE THIS?" I yelled at the middle-aged woman sitting in front of me. She smiled, a little in disbelief at my outburst. Her teeth perfectly stained the color of my eggshell-colored apartment walls.

Dr. White was her name. My therapist was her relation to me, and my dating failures were the topic.

Oh, I'm sorry let me introduce myself to you before we dive in. My name is Anastasia. I’m a 29-year-old female living in New Jersey. I’m in that weird phase right now, you know? Not old enough to be middle-aged but no spring chicken either. It’s the age where people are accelerating in their careers, planning marriages, and making babies. My job as an attendant at the Sunoco Gas Station wasn’t exactly the big career move my parents expected from me after receiving my degree at Rutgers.

I have one divorce under my belt. The marriage lasted 5 months, and I am the newly single mother to a toddler boy. I definitely didn’t expect these lemons that life has thrown me. I take it in stride, but for some reason today was harder than the other days and I sure let Dr. White know!

I walked over to the window and looked down at the busy streets of people. “I want to share this life with someone. I want a helpmate...a soulmate, someone that loves me more than anything in this world and vice-versa. I want love. I want the type of love that you think is only in the movies but then experience it for yourself only to realize that falling in love with someone is even more beautiful than any movie or love song can fully comprehend.”

Dr. White took a sip of her coffee and smiled, showing off her stained teeth, an extra shade darker due to the cold brew. “I know finding love can be a difficult process to maneuver through. There are many twists, turns and bumps along the way. However, don’t forget you are on a journey to a destination. A destination that will one day lead you to your significant other.”

She reached behind her desk and picked up her purse. She dug in and pulled out a business card and handed it to me.

“Andy Cruise?” I said with a puzzled look on my face as I looked up from the card.

“Yes! Call him any time after 7pm. I usually don’t do this, but he’s a nice guy, so see what he has to offer.” Dr. White stood up and began walking to the door. I reluctantly got up not understanding how this Andy Cruise was going to solve all my problems somehow.

One week later...

Well, ladies and gentlemen, I called Andy Cruise that same night I received his number from Dr. White and he is in one word, breathtaking. We have so much in common and even talked all night the first night. After a week of conversing on the phone we now finally get to meet in person! We meet for coffee today at 5:30pm in the west belt plaza.

Flash forward to 2 hours later and guess what! I’m in love! Ok, maybe not love but strong like. The conversation with Andy was amazing! We talked about each other's likes, dislikes, hopes, and dreams.

“What's the one thing...your biggest dream in life that you have always wanted but never been able to grasp?” said Andy.

I sighed and paused long and hard. “Well, gosh that’s a good question. Ummmm, I would say being able to do what I love. I’ve always wanted a studio in which I could showcase both my artwork and love for candle making. May I show you something?”

“Yes! Please!” Andy gestured a hand out.

I went into my purse and grabbed a small black notebook containing my art. I began showing him the artwork that represented different walks of my life. He went through each page looking at it mysteriously like he was trying to soak up the true meaning of each picture.

“This is beautiful” he exclaimed after looking at the last picture of my son.

“Thank you” I sighed. “I want to one day have enough money to showcase my art in my own gallery, and have my own studio where my art on the page and in the candle-making sphere can come to life together.”

“Why Candles?” he asked

“Candles bring people so much joy. A whiff of peppermint or lemongrass in the morning can make a person's day brighter. Lavender at night can calm a stressful day or event that happened. People underestimate what those little balls of wax can do to people. They are magical and I wish to bring magic to others through my work.” I looked away for a moment realizing that this was more of a hobby or dream deferred than something I should be anticipating in the near future. “But I need to focus on paying the bills and I don't have the money to invest in a gallery.”

I didn’t want the conversation to end. I knew the end was inevitable though. He said he had to go finish up some work for a big project and excused himself. Me, wanting to bask in the beautiful after aroma of the perfect date decided to linger and process what just happened.

As I got up to leave 20 minutes later, I saw another black notebook on the table right next to me, identical to my black notebook. I looked to see if my notebook was still in my purse, which it was. I flipped through the pages of mine and sure enough, it was my notebook which contained all my artwork.

So, I got out my iPhone to text Andy that he accidentally left his book on the table, which was kind of weird according to the fact that he didn't have any kind of bag with him. Also, I don't remember a notebook being in his hand during our date.

"Hey you left your notebook on the table." I texted him. I waited 10 minutes...no response.

Knowing that the date was somewhat successful I decided to keep the second black notebook and drive home, feeling pretty confident we would meet again for me to return it to him.

The sounds of Sade filled my car. “You give me the sweetest tabooooooo” I sang along with the lyrics attempting to stay on key.

Thirty minutes and still no response. Did he just ghost me? Yeah, he was a little strange but I like strange. I continued to be captured by the melody of Sade as thoughts of our wonderful date filled my mind. I looked at the notebook as it stared back at me. “Open me” I imagined it saying.

I finally got home and parked. I opened the book out of strange curiosity. Here’s what it read...

“Dear Anastasia, it was a pleasure meeting you and talking with you. You are wonderful and deserve so much more than what life has given you.” -Andy

Under his name was a single bible verse. “Do not forget to show hospitality to strangers, for by so doing some people have shown hospitality to angels without knowing it.” -Hebrews 13:2

Under the verse it stated “Turn To The Next Page.”

Tuesday, March 2, 2021,

Hi Anastasia,

I know lately, it's been a hard time. You seem as though you’re in a weird frame of mind. Despite the paths that life makes you take. I hope this will help your life to anticipate.

Turn To The Next Page.

I turned the next page to find a drawing of an arrow pointing to a caption “GO HERE” with an address on it. 8777 Turnbough Street. Was this a second date with the mystery man?

Grabbing my keys I excitedly turned the ignition back on. Wait? What if there are thieves there waiting for me? What if I am driving right into a trap? You can't trust anyone now-a-days. I ultimately decided to trust my gut and happily drove to 8777 Turnbough Street to see what awaited me.

I drove to the address leading me to a red brick building with a yellow door. I walked in where a beautiful woman in a dark blue dress welcomed me.

She clasped both her hands “Hello, and welcome, are you Anastasia?”

“Uhhh yes” I said puzzled.

“Yes, my name is Sandra. I am pleased to welcome you and congratulate you!” She handed me a set of keys and I looked at her like she was a ghost. She then began to walk me around to what looked to be an art gallery however the walls were empty and no art was displayed. She then showed me to the back.

“Here are all your supplies,” said Sandra. I saw everything from wax, essential oils, jars, canvas holders, and an array of oil paints and art supplies. “Everything you will need to make your candles and your artwork,” said Sandra.

I then gasped, “Wait a minute, what is all this?”

Sandra chuckled. “It’s your art gallery silly! “Your business partner came to my office and made the purchase, filled out all the of the paperwork, then signed the gallery over to you as the sole owner....Wait, you didn’t know this was happening?”

“No not at all,” I said standing there in disbelief. I could tell my face was turning white. I don’t even have a business partner let alone a business! I had no idea what she was talking about?

“Wow what a great business partner to give a gift like this.” Sandra handed me her card that read ‘Sandra Realty’ on it. “You have the keys and the alarm code is 1234. You can change it once I leave to whatever you wish of course. Congrats again, but before I go your business partner wanted me to give you something.” Sandra turned and walked away, then came back with a canvas of my son! The exact same picture from my black book! She handed it to me, smiled and then waved goodbye as she walked toward the entrance and then onto the busy street.

Tears started flowing down my cheeks as I knew this was Andy. On the back of the painting was an envelope with a note written on the front.

“Anastasia, I am gifting you with this art gallery. Please use the back as a studio. Now that your biggest dream has come true will you pay it forward like Dr. White did for you? She received a gift of similar value and was given my card to gift to someone who she felt needed it. Now I ask you this question, will you pay it forward as well?” - Andy (Hebrews 13:2)

I opened the envelope to find Andy's card along with two stacks of hundred-dollar bills, adding up to $20,000!

The tears kept coming. How can a person be so selfless? As excited as I was that this was the best day of my life, I was even more excited to give someone this $20,000 and change their life forever as well. It’s my turn to be selfless now.

“Thank you, Andy” I whispered as I walked out into the cold and musty city air, excitedly looking for the unsuspecting person of who I was going to pay it forward.

art
Like

About the Creator

Renee Vaughn

I am a writer at heart. I love LOVE stories and falling in love. I am a dreamer. Giving back gives me more joy than receiving.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.