Humans logo

7 Days Left

The deadline

By HummingbirdPublished 7 months ago 3 min read
2
7 Days Left
Photo by Scott Broome on Unsplash

Last night I had a dream where my husband received a diagnosis that he had only seven days left. Naturally, I kept it to myself - thinking I don't want to cause unnecessary alarm. After all, it's just a dream.

I gather my robe, go downstairs, read my Bible and get ready for my day. As I get breakfast ready, my man arises too. The smell of bacon wafted upstairs and did the trick... just like in the cartoons. He makes the best cappuccinos so we have come to understand that it's his responsibility when he is at home. I look back at him, as he faces away from me, reminiscing about certain events we have shared together over the years. One such example would be when he decided to propose to me with a flash mob! Others, like walking down the aisle to him, or snorkelling in Hawaii. I go up behind him as he froths the milk, holding onto him with the tightest squeeze. He puts the milk down, touches my hands, and turns around to kiss me on my forehead and proceeds to hug me for as long as I wanted. I look up at him, smile and inhale deeply.

I set up breakfast outside. We eat, then look up at each other, with our mouths full, raise our eyebrows whilst simultaneously nodding. This was how we acknowledged that the food was good. He hands me my cappuccino while balancing his carefully in the other hand, as we sit on the veranda couch, watching the dawn blossom. He snuggles up next to me and places his hand on my knee, staring distantly into the horizon. He looks so peaceful and content with his life. I lay my head on his shoulder so he would not see any sadness in my eyes. As my thoughts race toward last nights' dream, I just couldn't imagine my life without him. He may have sensed something because he placed his cup on the side table and gently stroked the side of my face. It was comforting and overflowing with love. I wondered how strange it was that we can gather all that from just a touch.

We are so perfect for each other, that we can have entire conversations without uttering a single word. It's a skill that comes handy in public when we're trying to behave well. Once we went to a Queen concert and the girl next to me was excited to be there, dancing the night away. Her trousers eventually had enough and decided to give way and nobody was telling her! I look at my husband, move my eyeballs in the opposite direction and it immediately caught his eye because the colors were contrasting. I look at him with big, flabbergasted eyes, with the inner part of my eyebrows pointing up and a single nod upward. This meant "what should we do?" The entire crowd was on their feet at this point. He looked behind me, over to her seat and gestured to her jacket hanging on the back of her chair by jutting his neck forward. I took care of it from there.

Two weeks later, we had the most amazing anniversary dinner at our favorite restaurant!

love
2

About the Creator

Hummingbird

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.