Humans logo

6 Signs That You Are An Introvert

Are you an introvert or extrovert?

By Carol SeymourPublished 3 years ago Updated 3 years ago 3 min read
2
6 Signs That You Are An Introvert
Photo by Vladimir Fedotov on Unsplash

This country is getting too crowded to be comfortable for me. With that said, I prefer to limit myself being out in crowds or socializing with too many people. It's comforting to just treasure my alone time, where I can write and read and do crafts of my choice.

As a child, I always knew I had socializing limitations, because I enjoyed sitting alone with my cat or creating new projects that I found interesting. Most of the time being around a crowd made me feel uncomfortable. I was afraid of saying the wrong thing at the wrong time.

Is It Normal to Be An Introvert?

Yes! It's perfectly fine. You may be better off if you are introverted. Let me explain. First, the most comomon definition of an introvert is someone who gets drained by socializing and recharges by being alone. That's me.

We're shaped by our life experiences. If your parents, teachers or others encouraged quiet, thoughtful ways of being, then you probably grew up feeling confident in who you are. I did.

I sometimes get aggravated by small talk, even though it may be necessary. "Hello, How are you? Fine, I say." Sounds like a rehearsal (and it is) because I've said it a thousand times in my life. If I'm spoken to I don't want to feel stuck-up. It's just good manners to respond with a pleasant demanor. So, I do..

But as I age, small talk becomes somewhat of a nuisance. Now give me an engaging, intellectual conversation, and I'll be happy and contented.

Some introverts need only a little bit of alone time to recharge and can handle a fair amount of social time before feeling drained. That's me.

6 Signs That You Are an Introvert

1. You enjoy spending time alone. Most introverts enjoy social time too, but all introverts enjoy the solitude of spending time alone.

2. You do your best work alone. Introverts raarely work well in crowded environments. The more secluded you are, the more likely you are to focus deeply and produce great work. You may feel more creative, focused, or productive, or you may do more in a shorter time.

3. You'd rather hang out with a few close friends than a large group of people. Introverts like to socialize. Sitting with a few close friends, you may enjoy talking all night, and you may even appear extroverted. For whatever reason, these types of interactions don't drain you the way others do.

4. You prefer to stay out of the spotlight.

5. Introverts are creatives and performers and some even love getting on stage. Others even like to speak in front of audiences all the time. But if your natural inclination is to avoid group interaction, you may be an introvert.

6. You're better at writing your thoughts than expressing verbally. If writing something is more comfortable than saying it in person, it's a strong sign you're an introvert.

It's ok to be an introvert.

If you are an introvert, I can understand you well, because I am one myself. I enjoy being alone to write. I focus better. Distractions get me off course easily and I find myself having to start all over to get a task completed correctly.

In contrast of an introvert, the extrovert always wants to be the center of attention. He or she wants to be leaders and run the show most of the time. Extroverts are people persons.

I hope you enjoyed this article. Thanks for reading.

list
2

About the Creator

Carol Seymour

I'm a content creator, an entrepreneur, RV camper van enthusiast. I write about Productivity, love and Mental Health. I love connecting with like-minded people.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.