Humans logo

5 Ways to Slide in the DM’s

Tips to Guarantee success with sliding in the DMs + 20 Conversation Starters

By XelPublished 2 years ago 5 min read
Top Story - March 2022
27

Whenever sliding into the DMs, the average person will have two different worries. What if they are ignored or what if the other person replies but then rejects them. Well, unfortunately, sometimes we are just not people’s type OR that person just simply is not available. However, I have learned A LOT of tricks to succeed by years of being the peruser by choice. These tricks have gotten me a response 100% of the time. Whether you are a guy or girl, this will work. It is important to note that these tricks will 1. Get you a response for sure & 2. Grab their attention. The rest is up to you!

1. Respond to a tweet with interesting information.

For instance, one time, a guy tweeted “can all water be holy water?”. At the time, I was just bored and wanted someone to talk to so I thought, hey, I’ll look it up and then send it to him in his DM’s. I sent him a screenshot of my research, with a little opinion of my own attached to it. Then we just started talking after. We went back and fourth about holy water and now to this day we are friends who discuss new episodes of different tv shows.

So let’s say, someone tweets “what’s the move this weekend?” Then, you would DM them and not just say “Club vibes should be lit”. I would say something like “Mannnnnn.. you have to check out vibes! The $5 wings are a must try!” with a little gif. Even if the wings aren’t $5, everybody loves wings and $5 is a steal. After they respond, I would say “LMAOOOO.. the wings really like $12.99 but they still are amazing😂” and then just do your best to continue the conversation.

2. Ask a Question that they will feel forced to answer.

My old trick that had a 99.9% success rating was messing people and saying “Omg guess what”, sometimes I would put laughing or crying emojis or LMAO with it. Now mind you, half the time whenever I DM people, I do NOTTTT know these people whatsoever! So if someone you do not know comes into your DMs seeming like they have the tea, then 9/10, you are going to respond.

The hard part is having something to say after they say “what?” Your response after will have to depend on the person. From tweets alone, you are able to get a general idea of what they like or the type of things that they are into. If you don’t see much of their tweets, take a second to look through those and their likes.

Or, if you saw that they went somewhere recently, I’d say, “hey I saw that you went to … and I just wanted to know if the place was any good. I’m thinking about checking it out. Don’t wanna waste my time lmao”.

If you don’t want to say guess what, just use their interest to form a question that they will feel obglitaed to answer, either because of interests or curiosity.

3. Tell a Joke!

This sounds corny BUTTTTTT.. everyone loves to laugh. If someone does not love to laugh, you probably should not DM them anyway. But okay so make sure the joke is short and easily understood. Unless you partially know this person, I wouldn’t start it off with “wanna hear a joke?” I would simply dm the joke or at least the first line of the joke.

So for instance, one thing I did recently was DM someone that Pieca said to tell their mom hey. Whenever they asked, who is Pieca, my response was “PIECE OF DEEZ NUTS”. Unfortunately, that person was boring so we only talked for a day but the shock factor of the joke really reeled them in.

A lot of people thinks jokes like that are corny but you’d be surprised at how many people like corny. One good example would be DMing someone “aye” and then “how do you teach a tissue to dance?” Before they can reply, quickly say “put a little boogie in it”. LMFAO, now remember the choice of joke should be based off the kind of person they are. Every joke is not for every person. Go through their social media to get a good gauge on what they find funny.

4. Funny Modern Pick Up Lines

Not going to lie, pick up lines did lose their style years and years ago but that’s only because the same old pick up lines were being used. The best part of pick up lines are the shock factor. If it is something that they have heard before, ofcourse they are going to ignore you, because at that point you are like every one else trying to get their attention.

For instance, a good pick up line would be DMing someone, “Damn! I see you made the list so I just wanted to tell you congratulations!💖” Wait for them to respond with “what list?” or something of that nature and whenever they do, you say “my contact list” LMAO. It’s clever and invites them to interact in the pickup line.

One that I have used and it worked 2/3 times was DMING someone, “D6” and then waiting for a response knowing that out of confusion it could go either way. If they don’t reply, I’d send “damn, whats wrong with the machine” and then once they reply like “what are you talking about”, I would say oh my bad, I thought this was a vending machine because you a snack. LMFAO it sounds corny but it throws people off fr.

Pick up lines that I would recommend staying away from would be the old school ones like Did you fall out of the sky? Cause you’re an angel. Like Aw shut up!

5. Point out a similarity.

This is simply waiting for something that they like to do or have that is the same as you and then DMing them about it. I wouldn’t say “we have the same dog! Lol” because I would say something more interactive and be like “oh so you went and bought the same dog as me huh? #trendsetter😂😉”. You can’t just state the facts, you have to add alittle of your personality with it.

This could be with ANYTHING! Just point it out and bring it up in the DMs. Simple. Do not be boring with it.

These are only some of the many ways to slide into someone’s DMs and succeed. Like I said before, everyone is not a one shoe fits all. See which of these fits their personality the best and then try it. Remember to be confident because confidence is key.

If you get past the initial sliding in and find yourself lacking the confidence or brain power to keep the conversation going, here are some good questions to slide in.

single
27

About the Creator

Xel

A writer with a lot to say. Below you’ll find advice, late night thoughts and diary entries! Don’t forget to check out my podcast, tik tik and instagram!🌸❤️

All The Feelings.

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Top insights

  1. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  2. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.