Humans logo

5 Types Of Guys You'll Have A Fling With At University

A personal review.

By SophiePublished 4 years ago 5 min read
Like

1. The Fresher Stalker

Like many, I decided it was the right decision to call it off with my high school sweetheart within just days of beginning my first term - it was a long time coming, I promise. Anyway, it just so happened that within three days of my break-up, I'd already caught someone's eye. He lived in the same block of halls, and, to be honest, I thought it was a sign that it was meant to be. He seemed really sweet at first. He was so caring, especially after telling him I'd just broken up with my boyfriend. That's when he said "no way, me too!", and for some reason I believed him. Looking back, it's obvious that he was taking advantage of my emotional vulnerability, but I just didn't see it at the time. We'd text during the daytime and hook up after nights out. It seemed too perfect; and it was. Within a few weeks of this routine I found out he'd also been doing exactly the same with three other newly single girls, who also just happened to have long, blonde hair and blue eyes. Of course, he preyed on a specific type of fresher. Stupidly though, I didn't stop there. I thought he cared so I tried harder and harder to push the other girls away, but it didn't work. Well, it did to an extent, but soon he found new girls to play with on the side. Lesson learnt: don't go for the first guy that says he knows how you feel.

2. The Ultimate Player

This has to be the worst one of them all. The one who leaves a deep and damaging hole, and without regrets. I met him through a friend. She told me he'd been asking about me, and I thought he was cute, so naturally we started following each other on Instagram and soon began hooking up. We actually spoke for a long time first - as in literally two to three months - but I guess that's part of the deceit. He had me hooked around his little finger. He'd be the first person I looked for in the club, and the one I'd want to go home with. But he was also the one that you knew was hiding something. I lost count of the number of times I asked if he had a girlfriend, but given that we'd been talking for a while, plus had mutual friends, I convinced myself I was just paranoid. Turns out, he had (and still has) a long-term girlfriend that was on a placement year at the time, so I was just a toy he'd been using and abusing for fun whilst she was away. Needless to say, this one hurt a lot. I even had to block him on social media to get over it.

3. The Far Gone Friendship

It's only natural to be attracted to like-minded people, right? Well, that explains this next one. Again, he lived in the same accommodation as me in my first year of university (not the same guy as No. 1, honestly). We were on the same course so would walk to lectures together, and generally got on like really close friends. Things went south the moment he started coming round my flat though. After hanging out in the kitchen, drunk of course having just got back from the biggest night out of the week, just as everyone started going to bed we'd both sneak into my room together. It started off innocent. We'd lay next to each other, not at all touching, just talking until the early hours of the morning. One night changed it all though when he leant in for a kiss. There was so much nervous energy combined with sexual frustration that even my flat mates heard the whole thing, but it felt so good. The worst part of it all; things didn't last and it ruined our friendship forever. He wanted to be friends with benefits and, quite frankly, I thought I deserved more than that. It was impossible to get over the awkwardness (mostly embarrassment from his side) and therefore we drifted.

4. The Mistake

You know when you're watching a film and you see an at-least-average female being harassed by a far-below-average male at a club until she stupidly gives in? That was me. He was a sweet but strange guy. No serious problems, just a bit of a loner/drug addict, but a nice guy underneath. Well anyway, he'd been messaging me for while and somehow one night managed to guilt-trip me into sleeping with him. I blame the alcohol. Needless to say, one of the biggest regrets ever. It was incredibly awkward and uncomfortable - in every way possible. Would definitely not recommend it.

5. The One

I could see him staring out of the corner of my eye. I was tipsy, but not quite drunk. I knew exactly what was going on that night, and so did he. After glaring across the room at each other for a good five minutes, I plucked up the courage to invite my friend to dance in the middle of the room with me; just next to where his friends were dancing. Within seconds he approached me. His warm smile and soft voice instantly took my breath away. I was, dare I say, in love at first sight. Unfortunately he had to leave early that night, but the time we spent together was unforgettable. I gave him my number as he left and was delighted to wake up to a message from him the next morning asking me on a proper date. What a gentleman. I was so nervous at first, but we've now been dating for almost two years and I feel like I've finally found love. Once you stop looking for the one, he will find you.

humor
Like

About the Creator

Sophie

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.