Humans logo

4 Years of My Life I Deeply Regret - Simi

Simi opens up

By Jide OkonjoPublished 9 months ago 3 min read
1

Nigerian singer Simi is living the dream of so many upcoming and aspiring musicians today. She has been able to record and release a number of smash hit singles and enjoy a career that has blessed her with fans from all over the world. But before Simi got to this point of fame, she too was once a hungry aspiring musician, and like many singers, there are decisions she made during that time of hunger that she still regrets till this day.

During an interview on The Official Naija Top 10 show, Simi opened up about what happened during the 4 years of her life she still regrets till this day. Here's what Simi had to say.

**Before reading on, please make sure to sign up for my newsletter below so you don't miss out on any new and interesting lists, articles, and stories that I post every single day. At the end of each week, I'll compile all the best stories from the week and send them right to your inbox, so you don't miss out on any of the hottest things that have happened throughout the week. Sign up now so you always get alerted!

Speaking about 4 years of her life she still regrets, how she entered them, and how she was able to get out of it, Simi revealed saying:

SIMI: When I put out my gospel song "Ara Ile", the song was very popular especially like in the whole of Nigeria but nobody knew my face. I was a trenches babe then, you get. The song is there but the money wasn't. I used to go to a lot of churches to perform. They'd pay me like 5k, 10k to perform. Although, do you know the highest amount of money I collected when I was doing gospel? 70 thousand naira. And I felt like the illest! After that, I just didn't have money. "Ara Ile" was in the middle of a gospel album called Oga Ju and after that, I was just looking for my break. Like I said, they were paying me 10k, it was enough to buy food here and there but like not enough for my career you know what I mean.

That's when I got signed to a record label that I regret, till this day. And I was there for like 4 years.

Ultimately, I waited it out and then I got signed to X3M music. I dropped "Tiff" and you know, we bless God!

It's so sad how many upcoming singers fall prey to wicked and ill-meaning people that trap them in horrible record deals and waste their time. So happy Simi was still able to attain success after the delay and I hope her story acts as caution to upcoming musicians who may get tempted to sign shady record deals out of hunger.

What do you think about what Simi said? Let me know your thoughts by leaving a comment either below or on my Jide Okonjo Facebook post.

That's All.

I hope you’ve had fun. Don’t forget to subscribe to my newsletter if you don’t already for more stories like this - collated every week and sent right to your inbox so you don't miss out on anything.

If you want to follow me on social media, I am also on Facebook and in the process of growing my account on there. So please, feel free to follow me

In addition to running a blogging page, I also run a gaming Facebook group called "Jide's Games" where you can play real games right now to win big naira. To join the JIDE'S GAMES Facebook group, click here.

To catch up on other content you might have missed, click here.

Until next time, have a wonderful rest of your day

celebrities
1

About the Creator

Jide Okonjo

I have ONE account and MANY interests. My page is a creative hodgepodge of:

🇳🇬 Nigerian news stories for my dedicated Nigerian readers.

🎥 Movie and music recommendations, listicles, and critiques

📀 Op-eds, editorial features, fiction

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.