Humans logo

SAD! RMD Suffers Severe Accident on Movie Set (VIDEO)

Richard Mofe-Damijo speaks on painful incident

By Jide OkonjoPublished 9 months ago 3 min read
Like

Beloved Nigerian actor Richard Mofe-Damijo is opening up about the severe accident he suffered while shooting his upcoming project, The Black Book. Taking to social media, RMD shared the story of what happened as well as video of his condition after. Here's everything, including the video, RMD posted.

**Before reading on, please make sure to sign up for my newsletter below so you don't miss out on any new and interesting lists, articles, and stories that I post every single day. At the end of each week, I'll compile all the best stories from the week and send them right to your inbox, so you don't miss out on any of the hottest things that have happened throughout the week. Sign up now so you always get alerted!

Speaking about the incident, Richard Mofe-Damijo said:

RICHARD MOFE-DAMIJO: It’s impossible to do a big thing without big trials. My own biggest hurdle doing The Black Book was accidentally pouring boiling water on myself 3 days into production!

The shoot was going great and I had a great time for three days. Then I had the morning off.

I did not have to make myself coffee that morning - I could have just ordered it from the hotel, but I was Paul Edima now, a man who cooks for his son, so I was staying in character and being self sufficient.

I do not exactly remember the sequence of events, but what I remember is hot, scalding water pouring on both my thighs and knee, seeing my skin move as I rubbed it in panic and hearing the waiter scream “don’t touch it, don’t touch it”!

My first thought was to the film, what is this temptation? The implication was clear, we may have to delay the shoot. I called Editi…I could hear the gears spin in that head of his. I didn’t have to explain anything, he knew. But he didn’t speak about the film. He said “We have to get you to hospital immediately”.

No one spoke about the film at all. @lalaakindoju sent flowers and a care package and all they talked about was me getting better.

I knew and saw, this was the big trial I had to overcome. Too many people who look up to me had worked to bring us to this stage - I would not be letting them down.

The way out was to have my legs wrapped up and protected, in a way that allowed me function. I was still in pain, but this is why we trained. I could take the pain. It added to the character.

My first scene, I had to react quickly, fall, and get up quickly. Everyone looked at me worried. I looked back, trying to numb the pain. The pain refused to go, there was no going around the pain win, so I powered through it. Blood and all!

After every take, Editi and 5 or 6 people would rush to me to see if I’m ok. We were building a family! …until midway though the night, our generator went up in flames!

Can’t seem to catch a break!

But that’s a story for another day.

Here are pictures and video of Richard Mofe-Damijo's leg in pain.

It's good to see that RMD is at least recovering from the burn. What do you think about this incident? Let me know your thoughts by leaving a comment either below or on my Jide Okonjo Facebook post.

That's All.

I hope you’ve had fun. Don’t forget to subscribe to my newsletter if you don’t already for more stories like this - collated every week and sent right to your inbox so you don't miss out on anything.

If you want to follow me on social media, I am also on Facebook and in the process of growing my account on there. So please, feel free to follow me

In addition to running a blogging page, I also run a gaming Facebook group called "Jide's Games" where you can play real games right now to win big naira. To join the JIDE'S GAMES Facebook group, click here.

To catch up on other content you might have missed, click here.

Until next time, have a wonderful rest of your day

celebrities
Like

About the Creator

Jide Okonjo

I have ONE account and MANY interests. My page is a creative hodgepodge of:

🇳🇬 Nigerian news stories for my dedicated Nigerian readers.

🎥 Movie and music recommendations, listicles, and critiques

📀 Op-eds, editorial features, fiction

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.