Humans logo

25 Miles of Small Steps

I am filled with questions about my wallet?

By Karen LichtmanPublished 4 years ago 3 min read
Like

What small steps have I taken each day to continue with my PTSDiscovery?

SATURDAY

Shroom

• Meditated

• Brewed a huge pot of tea

• Reached out to Headspace

FRIDAY

• Woke up and drank 24oz of home brewed iced tea

• Shroom

• Meditation

• Interpretation

THURSDAY

• Simple meditation on bus ride to work

• Tai chi before shift

• Wrote my ass off

WEDNESDAY

• Called out simply because I needed the day

• Shroom

• Drank home brew

• Made home brew

TUESDAY

• Shroom

• Meditated on the bus to work

• Sat on the Gowanus Riviera before my shift started, and reached out to family

• Left work early. Because I felt like it. And because everyone was irritating me.

SHOP CLASS OR HOME ECONOMICS?

Let's just say that there's a place that serves food. Let's call the place Widgets. It doesn't really exist, BUT they sell the best widgets you've ever had. They're slightly addictive, and you know that they are pretty bad for you. But hey, you're willing to take that chance because they are that good.

Now let's say that Widgets is a morally corrupt business. They do little to hide their practices, and actually take pride in the political donations they make with your money, especially to organizations you oppose.

• If you eat their widgets, does that make you morally corrupt?

• Are you bank rolling organizations which you oppose?

• Or are you simply eating some delicious widgets, because ultimately a widget is just a widget?

Imagine me at work this past week, surrounded by co-workers, who were all eating widgets. It was gross.

• What the hell am I supposed to do with that?

• If I do or say nothing, what does that make me?

• Am I supposed to just shut up and eat my vegan carrots?

• Or do I educate them on the fact their widgets only lived six weeks before they were killed, and that I support gay marriage?

• Perhaps I should direct them to www.grabyourwallet.org even if The Biggest One is on the list.

@shannoncoulter

@ommushrooms

@hostdefense

BOTH OF MY PARENTS WERE LIBRAS

I have joined the 1 Million Miles for Justice challenge, through the Civil Rights Race Series. I have pledged to run 25 miles between June 15 and July 15. Profits will go to the National NAACP, an organization fighting against injustices in our communities.

https://runsignup.com/Race/AL/Anniston/1MillionMilesforJustice

WHERE AM I RIGHT NOW?

It's hard to say. I guess I'm alright. But these are tricky times. I may have to let my therapist go, for a multitude of reasons. But my health coverage is really bad and doesn't take into account my hourly wage. I'm kind of screwed no matter where I turn for assistance. So what do I do?

I'm not sure yet.

I'm having some daytime energy issues. My menstrual cycle skipped a beat, which I believe is a part of my issue. I'm also pretty certain my monthly egg delivery got misplaced during my return to work. I have always been a follower, when it comes to time and space changes. One of my college roommates once started to get her period every two weeks for three days. And my body started to follow her's. She also, used to have sex in everyone else's closets except for her own. And she used to throw cereal on the floor, and suck it up with her mouth. To her, that was breakfast.

She finally went to health services and got on the pill. Her menstrual cycle straightened out within a month, as did mine. That's all it took. Personally, I've never liked cereal out of a bowl with milk either. I prefer to eat it right out of the box.

humanity
Like

About the Creator

Karen Lichtman

Plant based. Runner. Young widow.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.