Humans logo

13 ridiculously cute stories of how couples met to restore your faith in love

love

By Govind DhamiPublished 4 years ago 7 min read
Like

1. "I met my fiancée by offering her my umbrella when it was raining, and we walked through Washington square park at night together." [via]

2. "My great aunt was a librarian at a university where my great uncle was studying to be a teacher. He's very shy and thought she was pretty so he would go in and check out books as an excuse to talk to her. After about two months he realised he had a huge stack of books that were overdue that she had been too polite to remind him about, and he sheepishly had to carry them all back. She told him she would get rid of his fines if he took her to dinner. Three kids and 65 years of marriage later they're still the best couple I know." [via]

lauren conrad, aww, cute,

GIPHY

3. "This bloke and his wife at my church knew each other since preschool. So they're very young, [about] four or five. He writes the girl a little note in awful handwriting that says 'Will you marry me?' essentially. They stay friends through elementary, middle, and high school because this is Alaska and our town is small, church community even smaller. Anyways they ended up being high school sweethearts and broke up or were on a break when he went to university. BUT her mum kept the note he had written way back in preschool and gave it to him when he returned, and he used it to propose." [via]

4. "Friend had been on a flight from London to Australia to go travelling for a few months - she didn't have a full itinerary planned, but roughly knew what she was doing. She was travelling alone, but her seat mate struck up a conversation. They had a great time, and found out they'd even studied the same subject at university. They parted ways when they landed in Hong Kong. When they boarded the next flight in Hong Kong, however, they found they were again seated next to each other. Upon landing in Australia, the guy was supposed to go on to New Zealand, but they both decided to ditch their plans, and travel together. They've been together ever since." [via]

5. "My coworker is from Canada and her husband is from Texas. In junior school they were given random pen pals and just happen to be given each other. They continued to write and talk for the following years until they met. She moved down here and they got married a little over a year ago and just their first kid." [via]

This woman's open letter to her abortion will move you

GETTY IMAGES

6. "Back in the 1960s, one of my aunts was working as a waitress on roller skates, who would go up to people in cars and serve them. She wasn't very good at the job and ended up spilling coffee all over one of her customers. She apologised and ran in to get napkins. When she came back, he gave her a piece of paper with his number and said, 'it was an absolute pleasure, let's get coffee again some time'. 50 years later, they still love to tell the story of how they met." [via]

7. "I kept running into my husband over several months, even though we lived in a major city with a pretty sizeable population. The first time we met I was at a bar with my roommate, he was there with a friend. His friend tried to hit on me but I wasn’t interested. He introduced me to his companion (my future husband) while he was trying to chat me up. We left and I forgot all about this encounter.

"A few weeks later I was at the same bar. My husband remembered my name and face and was like, 'Hey, remember me? We met here a few weeks ago.' I barely remembered him. We talked for a few minutes and I thought he was cute, but as soon as I got flirty with him he bailed on the conversation. I forgot about him and went on with my evening.

"A few months later I was at a concert. My husband saw me in the crowd and started with the hey-we-met-before routine. He still remembered my name. We talked for a few minutes but I was out with friends I needed to get back to. That time I got my husband’s number and said we should meet up on purpose some time. Before I even got a chance to call him I ran into him again a few nights later at a DJ night. I asked if he was following me but he swore he wasn’t. I finally ended up calling him and we’ve been together ever since. Thanks, universe!" [via]

How to break up with someone

GETTY IMAGES

8. "How my mum and stepdad met and then got together: He was teaching a basic computing course back in the 90s, and my mum was (and still is) very technologically inept. She was having some problems with a word processing document, and needed help with something. So my stepdad comes over to her desk, and figures out the problem in a couple of seconds. Instead of fixing it for her, he considered it a learning opportunity and guided her through fixing it herself. 'Ok so right click here...' And my mum wrote the word 'click.' He says it was both hilarious and adorable, and took all that he had not to burst out laughing. My mum is always embarrassed whenever he tells the story." [via]

9. "My uncle owns his own hardware store and he used to order parts from 'X' company. Every time he [called], he would speak to the same receptionist who would take down the order. Eventually, he started making small talk with her, since he was on the phone with her every couple of weeks/months. They got to know each other. Ten or so years later, they decided to meet up for lunch at a McDonald's while the receptionist was in town visiting someone. They ended up getting married a couple of months later." [via]

10. "One day, my grandmother was sleeping at her best friend's house. Her best friend had a brother, who was doing his military service, and was supposed to come back two weeks later, so both of the girls decided my grandmother would sleep in her brother's bed. Turns out he was already at home, in his bed, and when she went into that bed she woke him up, he said something like 'Ho. Hello!'. A few months later, they got married, and one year after my mother was born."

11. "Air Force doctor told me about how she was in a combat zone and needed air support. The pilot who answered her call and picked her up had a really soothing voice so she went out of her way to find him again and thank him for his help. They ended up getting married and have a kid together now." [via]

12. "Cute story my old chemistry teacher told me. She had a boy who was brilliant but never tried and failed the class as a result. Next year he was back and she seated him next to a pretty, very smart girl. You bet he worked his ass off to impress her. They're now married with two kids." [via]

13. "A friend of ours was married and found out he had cancer. His wife left him because fuck that, I guess. A friend of his with really good insurance suggested they get married just for the benefits for him medically. After a while it just clicked that they actually loved each other very much and they stayed married even after he went into remission and are one of the coolest couples we know."

love
Like

About the Creator

Govind Dhami

Content Creator Send More Tips For My Hardwork visit my website: https://topbollywood.xyz

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.