Horror logo

Withering Falls

A INSIGHTFUL FALL

By Desormes Published 3 years ago 6 min read
6
WAVERING WITHER

Ascending from another late evening of reading books to mid-day break; I awaken to a chill uncommon around this time of day. Shrugging it off I head to the fridge near my dimly lit pantry door with frost glass searching for lemon to finish of this last bit of chamomile tea left in the tea kettle I brewed earlier this evening. I head back to my reading room where the curtains were draped back a bit leaving little to know light to shine in from the shimmering moon light of the night sky. As my hand grasp the dark curtains to pull them fully shut I notice something perching from the eighty-foot old oak centered in the yard. The tree had to be older than the house, and I've never noticed how tall it was until this moment. Glaring into the distance of the coffee table in the reading room searching for my glasses; to get a better look at what was up higher than my sight can reach. Setting my glasses on my nose bride, pushing them closer to my face with my index finger to fixate on the fixture up above, before I knew it, it was gone whatever it was. Closing the drapes I head back to my book White Fang by Jack London and continue to read for another ten minutes or so before I hear a strange sound outside my window. Pausing I stare at the window, I just closed wondering; should we take another gander? Nah, I rebutted to myself and continued to read without second thought. A chapter in a half down and my curiosity starts to get the best of me, so I place the book face down on the reading table and head for the window once more just to see if anything's out there. As I pull back the curtain the sound repeats itself again! I panic and slipped I nearly brought the drapes down with me. Foolishly laughing I realized I didn't even know what I was jumping for since the culprit to the sound never actually revealed itself. Leading me back to the window darting out with anxiousness to try an ascertain confidence as I blindly search for this figure and sound. Unknowingly my glasses had fallen under the love seat near the draped window so I couldn't see a thing only blackness and grey figures, however looking to the direction of the tree I noticed glowing gold ocular shapes. Jumping from the random find I trip over the love seat to face my glasses eye to eye so to speak. Reaching out to grab them the sound arose again from outside the window. It had to be what I couldn't make out the first two times since my balance wasn't my best friend at the moment. Fastening my sight to my face once more as I look out the window and it’s gone again! At this point it’s all I can fixate my mind to think about since it peaked my interest; none the less cant waste my time staring off out a window at nothing so I headed up stairs with my reading. Thinking to myself a hot shower can wined me down after that rambunctious roundabout over nothing I prepped to bathe. Sitting my book on the night stand along with my readers I notice the bedroom window was ajar causing a minor chill to be left on the room. Shutting it I couldn't help but to glare back at the old oak since I was at a more leveled eye field to get a better glimpse, but the water was running so the thought was short and before you know it I was in and out the shower in no time. As I exited the restroom I notice the glow from my window again, but this time it was far closer than earlier. Its cold glare made me grab my glasses without my eyes leaving the window in fear I'd lose the encounter again. I slowly dart to the window and the glow began to move backwards as I walked forward almost responding to my noticing it from a distance. It was frightening to say the least but I couldn't take my eyes off it. Reaching the window finally I bump my head not paying attention to how close I was upon the window gazing so hard at the glowing eyes. What I found odd was the eyes never blinked and they were abnormally huge. The head never moved in any other direction as well even as it moved backwards away from the direction I approached. Seeing me for the first time only made it shadow its self. Those thoughts made the hairs on my neck stand a bit since it gave no blinking response but more of a hiding one. Turning away from the window and heading for the stairs reaching the top one the sound shrieked out this time. It startled me as bad as I jumped from the sound attempting to look back at the window there it sat on my window seal. The sound in my lungs acted as white noise. My chest felt a sharp pain from my lungs retracting so fast. For the first time I could actually make out the image that shocked me so bad by the time I fully realized what I was looking at I was hurling ten feet in the air over my staircase. It was as if time froze for a moment for my feet were flailing in the air as my hands reached for the rails only to miss it, as I darted backwards down eighteen mahogany stairs with no padding. This felt like a dream since I could only picture the grotesques look on the face of what perched itself in my window seal maniacally. The eyes felt like they were piercing my soul at this point since I could only imagine where I was going to land. My neck hit the bottom step and in one breathe instead of letting out ouch like a normal person I yelled out OOOOWWWWLLLLLL!!!!!! Blacking out unconscious I couldn't remember anything, and when I tried it was the owl it came to me in a dream and spoke to me as if it was an old aged man. "Did I SCARE YOU?" mocked the owl. "I only wanted you to turn out the lights". I simply replied, you did a damn good job as we both looked down at my lifeless body being zipped into a body bag passing yellow tape to be put in the back of an ambulance.

fiction
6

About the Creator

Desormes

Join me in my short stories request a topic on my fb page. I CAN CREATE ANYTHING.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.