Horror logo

Who Is There?

"The Haunting of Blackwood Manor"

By IsraPublished 22 days ago 3 min read
Who Is There?
Photo by Max Kleinen on Unsplash

As I crept through the abandoned mansion, my flashlight casting eerie shadows on the walls, I couldn't shake the feeling that I was being watched. I had always been drawn to the supernatural and the unknown, and this mansion was rumored to be one of the most haunted places in town.

I had heard stories of strange noises, unexplained movements, and ghostly apparitions. But I didn't believe them. I was a skeptic, a seeker of truth and reason.

But now, as I stood in the grand foyer, my heart racing with every creak and groan of the old wooden floorboards, I wasn't so sure.

"Hello?" I called out, my voice echoing off the high ceiling. "Is anyone here?"

There was no answer, but I could have sworn I heard a faint whisper in response. It was soft and raspy, and it sent chills down my spine.

I moved deeper into the mansion, my flashlight beam dancing across cobweb-covered portraits and dusty antiques. Every step I took seemed to creak and groan, as if the very floorboards were protesting my presence.

Suddenly, I heard a loud bang from upstairs. It sounded like a door had slammed shut, and I felt a surge of adrenaline course through my veins.

"Who is there?" I called out again, my voice shaking slightly.

There was no answer, but I could feel a presence watching me. It was a heavy, oppressive feeling, like a weight was pressing down on me.

I slowly made my way up the stairs, my heart pounding in my chest. The air grew colder with each step, and I could see my breath misting in front of me.

As I reached the top of the stairs, I saw a figure standing in the shadows. It was tall and gaunt, with eyes that glowed like embers in the dark.

"Who are you?" I whispered, my voice barely audible.

The figure didn't move or speak, but I could feel its eyes on me. It was a malevolent presence, a thing of darkness and evil.

Suddenly, the figure vanished, and I was left standing alone in the darkness. I heard footsteps behind me, and I knew I had to get out of there. Fast.

I ran down the stairs, my heart racing with fear. I didn't stop until I was back in my car, speeding away from the mansion as fast as I could.

I never went back to that place. I never spoke of what I saw. But I knew that I had encountered something truly evil that night. Something that still haunts me to this day.

And when I'm alone in the dark, I can still hear that whisper in my ear. "Who is there?" it asks. And I know that I'm not alone.

As the days went by, I couldn't shake the feeling of being watched. I would see movement out of the corner of my eye, only to turn and find no one there. I started to feel like I was losing my mind. I knew I had to do something to rid myself of the feeling.

That's when I discovered the dark secrets that the mansion held. It had been built by a wealthy family, but they had been plagued by tragedy. Their son had died under mysterious circumstances, and the family had been torn apart by grief and guilt.

I realized that the presence I had felt was the restless spirit of the young boy who had died. He was trapped between worlds, unable to move on. I knew that I had to find a way to help him, to set him free from the mansion's grasp.

supernatural

About the Creator

Isra

Versatile writer skilled in both tale & stories. Captivate readers with engaging content & immersive narratives. Passionate about informing, inspiring, & entertaining through words.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    IsraWritten by Isra

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.