Horror logo

"The Never-Ending Drive"

The Highway of Horror'

By IsraPublished about a month ago 3 min read
"The Never-Ending Drive"
Photo by Andy Li on Unsplash

As I settled into the driver's seat, I couldn't help but feel a sense of unease. My friend, Alex, had convinced me to join him on a road trip across the country, and I had reluctantly agreed. The excitement of adventure had worn off, replaced by the daunting reality of the long drive ahead.

We hit the highway, and the miles flew by in a blur. The sun beat down on us, relentless in its intensity. I glanced over at Alex, who was nodding along to the music, seemingly oblivious to my growing discomfort.

As the hours ticked by, the landscape outside grew increasingly desolate. The rolling hills and lush forests gave way to barren wastelands and crumbling towns. I felt a shiver run down my spine as we drove through a particularly abandoned stretch, the only signs of life being the twisted, gnarled trees that seemed to reach out to us like skeletal fingers.

As night began to fall, the darkness seemed to press in around us, making the car feel like a tiny, vulnerable bubble in the vast expanse of the unknown. I tried to shake off the feeling, telling myself it was just my imagination playing tricks on me.

But as we drove on, the silence between us grew thicker, like a palpable fog that refused to lift. I began to feel like we were being watched, that unblinking eyes were trained on us from the shadows.

And then, without warning, the car sputtered and died. We coasted to the side of the road, the only sound being the creaking of the trees in the wind.

"What's going on?" I asked, my voice barely above a whisper.

Alex shrugged, his eyes scanning the darkness outside. "I don't know. Maybe we ran out of gas."

By Mark Cruz on Unsplash

But as we sat there, the silence grew more oppressive, the shadows seeming to twist and writhe around us like living things. I knew then that we were not alone, that something was out there, waiting for us.

And in that moment, I knew that we would never make it to our destination. The drive had become a journey into the very heart of horror itself, and we were trapped in the grip of a terror that would never let us go.

As we sat there, frozen with fear, the darkness outside seemed to coalesce into a presence, a malevolent force that was watching us with cold, calculating eyes. I could feel its breath on the back of my neck, a chill that ran down my spine like a trickle of ice water. Alex's voice was barely audible, a whisper that seemed to come from a thousand miles away.

But my legs were frozen, my body paralyzed with fear. I couldn't move, couldn't speak, couldn't even breathe. The presence outside seemed to be drawing closer, its presence suffocating me, crushing me beneath its weight. And then, without warning, the car door creaked open, the sound echoing through the stillness like a death knell.

I tried to scream, but my voice was trapped in my throat, unable to escape. Alex's eyes were wide with terror, his face a mask of fear. And then, he was gone, pulled from the car by some unseen force. I was alone, left to face the horror that lurked outside. The presence loomed over me, its eyes burning with an otherworldly intensity. I knew then that I was doomed, trapped in a living nightmare from which there was no escape.

The presence reached out a dark, shadowy hand and grasped my arm, its touch like ice. I felt myself being pulled from the car, dragged into the darkness, and consumed by an eternal nightmare.

supernatural

About the Creator

Isra

Versatile writer skilled in both tale & stories. Captivate readers with engaging content & immersive narratives. Passionate about informing, inspiring, & entertaining through words.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    IsraWritten by Isra

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.