Horror logo

‘Us’ Is a Horror Masterpiece That Will Keep People Talking for Years to Come

No Spoilers!

By Jonathan SimPublished 5 years ago 3 min read
Like

Holy fucking shit. I am in shock. I don’t know what to make of this movie. So, I’m just gonna write down my thoughts on this movie and watch it again in a few days.

Us is a psychological horror-thriller written and directed by Jordan Peele. This is Peele’s second horror film following Get Out in 2017, and it follows a family who goes on a trip to Santa Cruz. Their trip gets interrupted when a family that looks exactly like them arrives on their doorstep, who will stop at nothing to kill them.

Now, I really loved Get Out. I gave it a 10/10, and I was interested to see where Peele would go with this movie. And I fucking loved it.

This movie’s screenplay is fantastic. It tells a perfect horror story and I really loved how it followed this family as they were hunted down by the family. It was exciting, it was thrilling, and it was almost everything I wanted from a horror film.

Peele also does a fantastic job directing this movie. This movie has some long takes and a lot of nice little touches with the directing that actually connects to the story in a few ways. I’m gonna go in-depth on that in a later article, but this movie is directed very well.

I also loved the performances in this movie. There was not a single bad performance in the movie. The main actors were especially good, as they had to portray both their normal characters and their evil doppelgängers, and it was pretty impressive how different each character felt from their counterpart.

Winston Duke was pretty good and he nailed both comedy and drama in this film. Lupita Nyong’o was definitely the best out of all of them. She was so fucking convincing as both her normal self and her evil counterpart. Nyong’o was definitely Oscar-worthy, but since this is a horror movie, she’s not getting nominated.

Something I loved about this movie was how not everything gets spelled out for the audience. There’s only one scene in particular where it felt like an exposition dump, but that scene was necessary, in my opinion.

But this movie is a bit ambiguous at times. Not everything is spelled out for the audience, and many parts of the movie leave mysteries open for the audience to solve themselves. And that’s why I think many people are gonna be watching this a second time, myself included.

There are already a shit-ton of articles and videos trying to analyze this movie. And if you watch this movie, you’d understand why. Rabbits have an undisclosed importance in this film, and this movie also has a fair bit of social commentary and meaning, similar to Get Out.

I also thought this movie had some good moments of levity in it. There are some beautifully crafted scenes, but I didn’t personally find this movie to be very scary. That’s a very subjective thing, but I didn’t find myself too scared by this movie.

And this is gonna be a movie where when you walk out, your head is gonna be running in circles from all the questions you have. That doesn’t mean Peele’s story is filled with plot holes. I think there’s an answer to every question we may have.

But unlike Get Out, which was pretty straightforward in terms of everything that happened, this movie hides a lot from the audience, and it was very effective, in my opinion.

Holy shit, I need to see this movie again. There’s just so much to unpack from this movie, and not everyone may like that, but I love having an excuse to see this movie again.

Now, how does it compare to Get Out? It’s hard to say because they’re such different movies. I might like Get Out a tiny bit better, but out of all the new releases I’ve seen this year, Us tops them all.

I’m gonna give ‘Us’ a 10/10!

Will that score change? I don’t know. I had to juggle between a nine or a ten, but I do need to see this movie again. Us was just a fascinating film and I think this movie is a horror masterpiece and audiences will be talking about this for a while.

movie review
Like

About the Creator

Jonathan Sim

Film critic. Lover of Pixar, Harry Potter, Star Wars, Marvel, DC, Back to the Future, and Lord of the Rings.

For business inquiries: [email protected]

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.