Horror logo

Trick of the Light

It must have been a trick of the light.

By MalaPublished 2 years ago 22 min read
1
Trick of the Light
Photo by Johannes Plenio on Unsplash

The cabin in the woods had been abandoned for years, but one night, a candle burned in the window. I'm sure of it. A faint flickering was just visible through the mist that blanketed the cabin, which rested upon the soft shoulder of a foothill overlooking my township.

"Lisa"

She startled slightly, my voice a pick among the sheet of silence that was between us moments ago. Honeysuckle flowing from her crown gently separated to softly kiss her on the chin as she pulled her gaze from her book and directed it at me. Her voice acted as an auger, further breaking the silence between us.

"You startled me. What are you doing? It seems like you've been staring out that window for hours."

"Come here."

A grovel in my voice masked the excitement I felt in the anticipation of being validated. The night was heavy now, there could be no denial that a light was flickering in the window. Lisa swiftly placed her book down wearing a slight grimace.

"Fine."

"Look now, you have to see. It's faint but it's definitely there, see?"

I placed my hands on her shoulders and guided her over to where I had stood. I smirked as I pointed to where the cabin was. My face softened as I studied her gaze. She squinted as she bit her lip lightly then cocked an eyebrow as she turned to face me.

"Are you serious, Gavin?"

She crossed her arms and tilted her hips. Was she really that annoyed that she had been wrong?

"What did I tell you, huh?"

My smirk quickly returned. Finally, she must have seen it, it was a stark contrast, a small sign of life among the dead of night. Her lip dropped, just a bit.

“Gavin, there’s nothing there.”

My eyes slowly widened and my mouth went slightly agape as I processed what she said.

"What do you mean there's nothing there?" There was clearly a light flickering in the cabin now. I pointed to the lit window "Just look at it, there's a light there right now."

I was trying not to raise my voice but irritation cut through in my tone.

"What are you talking about?” Waves of honeysuckle crashed against the shoreline of her face as she shook her head at me. “It's so dark and foggy out I can barely even see the cabin, let alone a flickering light."

How could she not see it? Am I... losing it? I examined the scene before me. Blackness consumed most of the town. Darkened trees swayed in the wind that waded through the mist, illuminated by the soft glow of distant streetlights. As the ground curved upward and away from town, the trees became more scarce and the brush more dense. There was a point at which they all seemed to back off. No one had tended to the cabin in decades. It was as though they refused to grow too close to it. Instead, they loomed over from afar, like they were watching. I could faintly see the small face of the cabin. A door and a window on either side gave it a life-like quality. The roof seemed to be caving in, this gave the face an almost sinister expression. And there. In the right eye of the cabin, a flicker. A faint glimmer, shining through the window. I closed and rubbed my eyes then squinted back at the cabin.

“You don’t see that?”

Lisa rolled her eyes over to the cabin.

“No, there’s nothing there Gavin.”

If I focused hard, I could see the window sill of the cabin. If I tried hard enough I could see what appeared to be a candle and even a candlestick. I noticed just then that the light hit up against something. An outline barely visible. In that moment a sharp chill shot up my spine, striking me in the throat which immediately closed. A face? Long and round, a grimy gray, black beads that I could only assume were eyes glistened from the light of the candle. They were almost lost amongst what looked like dozens -maybe hundreds- of holes that this thing was covered in, from its face all the way down what I could see of its hunched shoulders. My eyes now stuck on the image, I stood breathless as I watched its mouth slowly open to reveal hundreds of sharp needle-like teeth that were dripping a black liquid which flowed in and out of the holes on its face. What the… was that there the whole time? I blinked and it was gone. Maybe I am losing it.

“Forget it. You’re right. I probably need to go to bed.” I closed my eyes and tried to shake the image from my mind.

I’ll figure it out in the morning… Did I really see a face? The pit in my stomach refused to settle as I got into bed. The dark from outside now infected the inside of my home, the bedroom was enveloped in darkness. Lisa, as usual, had fallen asleep not much sooner than her head hit the pillow but my mind was still ablaze, restless from that unsettling image. Did she really not see what I saw? The thought picked away at my mind. It was all I could focus on. Eventually it gave me a headache that got worse and worse, until my head felt like it was ready to explode. I couldn't take it anymore. I decided to get up and check the window again when I realized I couldn’t move. I was stuck, laying there like a frozen corpse in my bed. My head was throbbing as I felt it get tighter and tighter. My eyes darted around the room. Why can’t I move? I didn’t understand what was happening …Oh god, what is that?

In the corner of the room was a dark gray figure. It looked almost like a person, but clearly wasn’t human. Flesh was rotting on exposed bone as maggots squirmed off it and the black and gray stained cloth hanging from its limbs onto the floor. Over the thumping and pounding in my head I could hear a subtle cracking, slurping, and popping. In this -thing's- long clawed hands was its own rotting flesh. It was eating its own rotting flesh. The slurping and crunching of its chewing got louder and louder with the pounding in my head until

*POP*

My head exploded. Gray matter splattered on the ceilings and walls, blood gushed from my body and pooled on the mattress. The sound of my head exploding caught the attention of the monster in the corner as it turned in the direction of my now lifeless body. Flesh was still hanging off its sharp jagged teeth that jutted out the side of its head. It lunged toward the bed, one foot dragging behind it. The monster fell forward into the pool of blood on my mattress and reached into my open skull, wheezing as it pulled a handful of my brain into its mouth.

“What the fuck, Gavin?”

What the fuck, what the fuck, what the fuck.

“Wh-what the fuck? What just happened?” I shot up into bed, hearing Lisa’s voice was a sweet relief from whatever just happened to me but I had no clue what was going on. The pain in my head was gone, my mouth dry as a desert.

“Ugh, disgusting, you’re drenched in sweat. I woke up to find you pulling my hair into your mouth.”

The sun shone into the bedroom, illuminating Lisa’s partially dampened hair.

“What?” I shook myself awake “Are you for real?” The look on Lisa’s face told me she was dead serious. “I’m sorry. I just had the most terrifying nightmare.”

“And it involved eating my hair?” Lisa’s grimace told me she was annoyed and wouldn’t be any comfort to me.

She doesn’t understand what just happened to me. I didn’t want to go to the effort of having to explain it either.

“Forget it. Listen, I’m sorry. Let’s just get something to eat.”

We spent the morning coming back from the night before. We made breakfast together and by mid morning Lisa’s playful demeanor had returned but I still couldn’t shake what I had gone through. Somehow, we managed to get through most of the day and into the early evening as though nothing had happened. As we cleaned up from dinner my mind began to wander back to the night before.

What the hell was that about? Why was I seeing a flickering light in the cabin? Why couldn’t Lisa see it too? I looked out the window of our home. The cabin was clearly visible, for now, the sun would begin setting soon. As it drew my eyes in I felt a magnetic pull toward it. My face began to soften as my gaze upon it strengthened. Is it still there? I began to focus on the window. I began to crave even the faintest glimmer. The flicker was like a taunting wink from this sick twisted cabin.

There it is.

“Are you still staring at that damn cabin, Gavin?”

Lisa’s voice shook me back into our home.

“What? No.” She rolled her eyes at me and crossed her arms. I could see Lisa was losing her patience with me. I had to find out what was in that cabin. I didn’t understand why but I knew our lives depended on it.

“Sorry, you’re right. I feel like I’m losing it.” I looked down at my feet “I think I’m going to go for a walk. Maybe it will clear my head.” Lisa’s appearance transitioned from annoyed to slight concern.

“Okay.” She crossed her arms as her doe eyes rested on my face. “I don’t know what you’re going through, but I want you to know you can talk to me if you need to.”

She reached out to touch me. The moment her fingers met my shoulder a memory of the horrifying dream I had last night flashed into my mind. Oh hell no. I was not going to reiterate that bullshit.

“Thanks, babe. I’ll be okay. I probably just need to get some fresh air. You’re always telling me to get out and get some anyway!” I grabbed my jacket, though I didn’t think I’d need it and left, blowing Lisa a kiss on my way out. She caught it and put it in her pocket as I closed the door. I have to find out what’s in that cabin. I figured that even if there was nothing there, seeing nothing would make it easier for me to sleep tonight.

The sun was shining. The municipality had a small town charm about it. We never had any issues with homelessness because if someone was that down on their luck, someone would surely open their home. Our streets were kept clean and our people were generally well put together. As I walked down a mildly busy street toward the hillside, I felt reaffirmed that I had to make sure there was nothing lurking in that cabin, to protect the town. I turned a corner to the last street before the trail that led up the hill toward the cabin. People were bustling around, going in and out of shops, parking and pulling out. That was when I noticed something that seemed out of place, or rather someone.

I stopped dead in my tracks as somebody stumbled out of a gift shop about 50 feet from where I was. Is that person… naked? A tall and slender, pale-gray body fell onto its knees on the sidewalk. Why isn’t anyone stopping? No one else seemed to even notice this… person. Everyone walked over or around it. Is that a man? It knelt down on the pavement, staring at the curb of the road. It didn’t appear to be wearing clothes but had no distinguishable features other than silver white eyes that were contrasted against the deep dark sunken bags that met this thing’s sharp pointed cheekbones, which ridged like gills down the side of its head. I could only make out a small slit for what I assume was a mouth.

It stayed there, kneeling, for what felt like forever. I was frozen in fear. The same bone-chilling sensation I had felt the night before flooded my senses. This.. thing, then quickly fell forward onto the curb and began violently bashing its face into the asphalt. The people on the street continued to walk around it as its white eyes disappeared into the bloody pulp its face had become. What the fuck is happening? Why isn’t anyone doing anything?

“Hey!”

Finally, a cry escaped my body. As I lunged forward an elderly couple in front of me turned and backed away from me, the man took the arm of the woman.

“Why isn’t anyone doing anything?”

I shouted and gestured toward the monster, which was now splattering blood onto the cars and people going around it as it continued to bang its head into the road. I started to move toward it as a crowd exited the same gift shop the thing had come from. By the time I got through the small sea of people the thing was… gone?

Not again. I looked back to the elderly couple who stood in shock, staring at me.

“Didn’t you see it?” I ran back to them, grabbing the old woman by the shoulders. “Tell me you saw it too.”

“What in the world are you doing?" I didn't realize how tight my grip on her was until the old man ripped me off her.

I turned to face him, about to ask him to affirm my sanity. My grip met his and when I looked in his eyes I saw… fear. His eyes were wide and his jaw had dropped. I relaxed my hold and let him go. Did he think I was going to hurt him? ….Was I? I looked at the old woman and saw her standing frozen, a piercing look locked on to me.

“I-I’m sorry. I thought I saw-” How could I explain this to them? “Never mind, I’m just really sorry.” The man shook himself like a bird rustling its feathers then grabbed the woman and the two walked away in silence, glancing back at me as though they were afraid I was going to follow them.

My jacket slid out of my hold as I slumped over beside a mailbox that was covered in blood moments ago. It really wasn’t there. Then what did I see? I covered my face and screamed silently into my arms. What is going on with me?

“Are you okay mister?” A little boy had stopped. I should have realized it wasn’t real the moment I saw people minding their own business.

“Yeah, kid. I’m fine.” I stood up, dusted myself off and kept walking. Maybe if I can find what was in that cabin, these terrible visions and nightmares would stop. I had to find out. Even if there was nothing, maybe it would be enough to snap me out of this madness. As I neared the edge of the town and approached the trail up to the hillside, I felt the magnetic pull drawing me to the cabin. What the hell is in that cabin?

Light shone through the leaves, casting shadows that shapeshifted with the breeze. The sun was setting now, which gave the forest floor an orange tint. I had hiked this hill many times but I had never gone up to the old cabin before. I’d never even noticed a trail that led to it. In fact, now that I thought about it, before last night I had barely even noticed the cabin at all. It had always just been a piece of the scenery. I wasn’t sure how long it would take me to reach the cabin but I could only hope to reach it before sundown.

I listened to the crunch and cracking sound of my steps walking through the moss and leaf carpeted trail. For a moment I felt at peace. Maybe Lisa’s right. Maybe I should get out more. I closed my eyes briefly and took in the serenity of the moment. As I walked further up the hill the light from sundown slowly shifted from a bright orange to a deep red. Shadows began to blur into each other. I now walked through a flurry haze of red and black.

*crack*

What the? That came from behind me. I stopped dead in my tracks. I really wished I had better prepared for this. Even a flashlight would have brought some reassurance. I tried to slow my breathing as I slowly raised my hands.

*crunch*

Oh god it’s coming closer. I frantically tried to remember what to do if approached by a bear. I decided to turn as quietly and slowly as I could with my arms still in the air when I remembered that there haven’t been any bears spotted in this area in decades. Then what the hell is making that noise? I felt the now familiar chill shoot up my spine as my throat closed and I was once again paralyzed in fear.

"RAAAWGGKSSS"

What the fuck is that thing? It looked like a pile of dismembered bodies, but it was… moving, toward me. Various limbs pulled it up off the ground and swung it forward a few inches at a time creating a small breeze. That was when the smell hit me. I had heard the smell of death described before but I thought this was somehow worse. My stomach turned and I immediately got nauseous. My insides tightened until I was in so much pain I fell on my side into the fetal position. That was when I noticed that my stomach had bloated up. Something is literally turning inside of me. I could feel it clawing at my torso from the inside, grabbing and twisting my stomach.

Still unable to move, my gaze was fixed onto the monster in front of me. Rotting gray arms and legs reached out from its side to the ground and pulled it closer to me. The last remaining light from the setting sun gave everything a hue of dried blood.

The movement from my stomach began to travel up from inside me, forcing its way up my esophagus. The pain was unbearable as I felt something push its way up my throat and out my mouth. Fingers? A hand reached out from my mouth and grabbed onto my jaw.

*RRRIPP*

It ripped my jaw off my face, pulling it in two as something climbed out from me. It was the thing from the street, still faceless and bloody. I felt its cold and slimy body exit my torn cavity as the dismembered-bodies monster grabbed what remained of me and pulled me into it, to become another faceless part of the pile of bodies it was made of. I was consumed by darkness.

That was when it stopped.

I was curled up on the ground, the sky was now black. I no longer cared about what was in the cabin, I needed to get home. I didn’t understand what was happening to me but the padded walls of a hospital sounded like heaven after everything I had gone through. I had reached my limit. I was done. I stood up and began to run when I saw it.

The flicker.

The candle.

The cabin.

There it is. I could just make it out through some bushes that seemed to be hiding the cabin away. I once again felt the magnetic pull drawing me toward it.

No, I need to go home. Despite my mental protest I felt my body begin to move forward. My limbs tightened until they cramped. My bones begun to lock up as I pushed myself closer to the light. I need to find out what’s in that cabin. This was it. This was my chance. I had come all this way and gone through all of these grotesque nightmares for this. Maybe seeing it would put an end to everything. I reached my arm forward through the brush in my way.

Thorns.

I no longer cared. I pushed and pulled my way through them until I was covered in scrapes and scratches. Finally, I was here. Finally, I had made it to this fucking cabin.

Up close it looked almost homey. It was clearly not taken care of, but it looked like something you might want to explore if you happened to find it while on a hike. In fact, I was sure this was the case as I noticed some graffiti on the side of the cabin not visible from my house. The face of the cabin that looked so sinister from my house looked worn and tired up close. I took a step closer. This time, instead of a chill, I felt a pool of warmth within me. The sensation flowed throughout me as I neared.

This is it.

I had made it to the door. My bloodied hand reached for the rusted handle. I took a look at the candle, clearly flickering in the window and briefly thought of Lisa. Lisa, you fool, I told you there was a candle.

“Come in”

I heard a faint whisper as I turned the knob and opened the door. It was dark. Very dark. It was pitch black. Where is the candlelight? I stepped forward into the cabin and fell. What the?

I fell into an endless hole. It was a dark abyss. I was cold and burning at the same time. My eyes burned as though I had been looking into the sun but I was surrounded by darkness.

This is it.

I thought as I felt the entirety of my sanity begin to crumble away.

The end of everything.

***

One year later…

I was tidying up while waiting for some friends to help lighten the mood tonight. I set a bottle of wine on the coffee table and picked up a newspaper.

We Remember: One Year Since Local Man’s Disappearance

I wiped a tear away using the sleeve of Gavin’s jacket I was wearing and brushed my honeysuckle hair behind my ear then I threw the paper into the trash can. I can’t believe you left me like that, Gavin. His jacket was the only trace of him he left behind that night.

*knock* *knock* *knock*

Oh good, they must be here. I opened the door and invited my friends inside. We spent the night drinking Gavin’s favorite wine and telling our stories about him.

“I still miss him everyday.” I cradled my head in my hands and the room went silent for a moment.

“I still can’t believe he’s gone too, Lisa.” My friend spoke softly.

“So no one’s really seen or heard from him since last year?” There was caution in my friend’s voice as we shook our heads and quietly uttered “no” to each other.

“I wonder what could have happened to him” She asked quietly.

I thought back to the night before Gavin went missing.

“I don’t know, but the night before left, he was acting strange.” My friends sat up a little straighter, leaning in. “The night before he left, he kept going on about this candle he saw in the window of that old cabin on the hill.”

I wanted to think the looks my friends made to each other were of concern but I knew they thought it was strange. And I couldn’t blame them, I thought Gavin was nuts too.

One of my friends stood up and went to the window where Gavin stood that night.

That cabin?” She asked. We all rose from our seats and made our way to the window.

“I can barely even make it out.” one of them said.

“Neither could I.” I said as I glanced up to where Gavin had pointed one year ago.

There it is.

I froze as a chill shot up my spine into my throat.

“I see it, the light, it’s right there. Do you guys see it?” My friends again exchanged looks of concern.

They went silent and looked down or away from me. The same friend who had gently asked if anyone had heard from Gavin put her hand on my shoulder and smiled.

“You’re joking, right?” I looked her in the eye. She looked so sincere. I looked up at the cabin again, and there it was, a candle light. Oh no.

“Yeah.” I forced an awkward chuckle out. “Heh, sorry guys. I know that was in bad taste but you know how Gavin always had that twisted sense of humor.” I looked back to the cabin. There was a definite flicker of light.

“You guys sure you don’t see anything?” I blinked and took a step forward. My friends took a step back.

“Never mind, it must have been a trick of the light. Sorry, I feel like I've been losing it since Gavin’s disappearance.” My friend hugged me and we sat back down. We tried to keep things light for the rest of the evening.

I have to see what’s in that cabin.

I felt an almost magnetic pull toward it.

What if he’s been waiting there for me this whole time?

When the night ended and my friends left I went back to the window. The town was now blanketed in darkness. There it is.

A flicker.

The candle.

The cabin.

If I focused on the light I could make out some of the finer details of the cabin. That was when I noticed that the windows seemed to give it a face. What is that? There. Beside the candle, was a face.

Gavin?

It was Gavin’s face. His eyes were black and sunken, his face a pale gray. His expression was cold and empty, but I knew it was him.

I have to go to cabin. I couldn’t be sure, but I got the sense that my life depended on it.

The End.

fiction
1

About the Creator

Mala

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  2. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  3. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  1. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  3. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarran2 years ago

    A fantastic story with a clever title. I just couldn't stop reading. Excellent storytelling

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.