Horror logo

Top Horror Movies

The Top Horror Movies I've Seen So Far

By Darby weatherlyPublished 5 years ago 3 min read
Like

So I really enjoy watching horror movies. I don't know why but I do. It's just another weird thing about me. But I've watched a good bit of horror movies and in going to go ahead and list the top five that I have enjoyed the most!

Number 5: 'The Ritual'

It is a movie on Netflix. I know Netflix isn't always the best, but this one had well placed jump scares and the story line is kinda cool. It's about several guys that go on an all guy weekend hiking in the Swedish country side. One of the guys gets hurt and they take a short cut through the woods and are stalked by an ancient Norse creature who feeds on human flesh and remains. It is insanely creepy. Has amazing jump scares that literally had my heart racing. My only thing is it's a bit confusing to start off with and you don't find out a lot until the very end. But the story line is pretty good once you actually figure out everything and like I said jump scares are on point.

I'd have to give this movie a 5/10.

Number 4: 'It'

Alright let's just talk about this. Stephen King is an amazing writer but I'm telling you now, I'd rather read the book than watch the movie. I watched the movie and now I'm reading the book. The book is way better. Now, I'm talking about the new version of the movie. Too much CGI now, some jump scares are good in it. Some things are super creepy yes. But, I like watching horror movies for not just the plot line but to actually get scares. I didn't get any of that with this movie. I jumped once in the beginning and that was it. And I was expecting worse since I have a severe phobia of clowns. Seriously, I went in a haunted house this year. They had clowns, I saw an exit door, I ran crying. Lol so the only thing keeping this from being last on my list is the fact that the story line is awesome I mean, come on, it's Stephen King. And there were some parts that made me want to look away due to it being insanely creepy.

So I'd have to give it a 7/10.

Number 3: 'The Nun'

Alright I just watched this one. It's brand new and I was terrified of my dark room after. Jump scares are definitely there, story line is awesome. And I enjoy how it ties into the other conjuring movies at the end. For those who haven't watched it yet, I won't spoil it for you I promise. The only thing taking away points for me is it's just your classic demon possession story. Same old same, only this time it takes place in catholic church and the demon is in the shape of a nun. But the graphics are great story line awesome. All over a great movie worth seeing.

I'd give it an 8/10.

Number 2: 'Insidious Series'

Alright, all of the Insidious movies are the bomb. There is hardly anything I can say bad about it. Storyline is always great and I enjoy how each movie ties into the next even if sometimes they are backwards. I love the jump scares and graphics. The way it is all set up and it's an all in all great series of horror. So great my boyfriend, for our first date, took me to see Insidious the Last Key and even though we had just met I still ended up jumping and screaming in his lap. This series is great and I love watching it at anytime night or day.

10/10

Number 1: 'Ju-on: The Grudge'

Alright this movie right here is just why I like Japanese horror so much. They literally are the best at horror. This movie scared me soo bad. I'm not talking about the knock off versions of this. I'm talking about the ones where if you don't speak no Japanese, you gotta read the subtitles at the bottom. That is the good version. That is the version that gave me nightmares for days after I watched the whole series. The story line about the house and the grudge girl and the little boy with his cat is amazing. The jump scares or just scares in general are amazing. It keeps you on your toes at all times and literally gives you no where to hide from her. (There is a part where she comes out from under the girls covers on her bed literally no where to hide) this movie is amazing. Well, both of them are. They have awesome plots, awesome scares just awesome everything. Kudos to you Japan.

11/10

movie review
Like

About the Creator

Darby weatherly

Hi I'm Darby. I'm new at writing but have always enjoyed doing it. My favorite topics that I will probably be writing about most are horses and pets. Along with anything horror and gaming. Hope you guys enjoy my content! Thanks.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.