Horror logo

Serene Tragedy

Story Series of a Psychic Girl Helping the Spirit of a Murder Victim!

By Darby weatherlyPublished 6 years ago 4 min read
Like

My name is Becky Vement. I am a 16 year old girl that lives in a small town in the midwestern United States. My life is pretty normal to a point. I enjoy music and drawing. I like hanging with what few friends I have; we go to the mall and movies. You know, normal teenager stuff, right? Well, I wish my life was that simple.

I have a secret, something I don't tell anyone, as I'm still trying to convince myself it isn't real. But, once again it's not that simple. I see ghosts. Crazy, right? Well, I normally try to ignore them most of the time, and of course most of the time I succeed at this task. But, this story isn't about that, it's about the spirit that I encountered that led me on a wild chase for justice that nearly cost me my own life.

It was a normal day. I was walking down the halls of my school after my final class period had ended. I had just finished putting my things away in my locker when I looked over and saw a woman staring at me. I rolled my eyes. Oh boy, another one, I thought as I slammed my locker door shut. I turned around to leave and felt an odd sensation of something following me. I ignored it of course and walked faster. After I was out the door and into my small, grey car my parents bought used for my 16th birthday, I glanced up in my mirror and almost screamed.

She was in my car! I slammed my hands on my steering wheel. "What do you want?" I snapped, a bit aggravated at the pale woman. She had long, brown hair that was messy. It cascaded in tangled locks down over her shoulders. She stared at me with blank green eyes. I raised my eyebrows waiting for an answer. She finally looked up at me. "I need your help," she said in a light timid voice.

I frowned, "Well, I don't help people, sorry," I said, agitated.

She shook her head. "You need to help me!" she said in a desperate tone. I rolled my eyes again.

"I don't need to help anyone I don't feel obligated to help!" I said as I cranked my car.

"He's coming back, he will do it again!" She said in a voice filled with terror. I stopped and looked at her in my mirror.

"Who's he?" I asked.

She shook her head hard. "I don't know his name!" She said and looked at her hands in her lap.

I sighed. "Well, that helps me a lot," I said. "And besides, I'm not helping you. So just leave," I said in a determined voice. The woman looked up and frowned. She then vanished into thin air.

"Of course," I muttered as I put my car into drive and maneuvered out of the crowded school parking lot.

As I pulled into my driveway I noticed my parents' vehicles weren't in the drive. "Of course they're working late again," I said as I unlocked the door, and found a note on the table saying just what I suspected. My parents always worked overtime and it drove me crazy. I always got anxious being home alone.

"Oh well," I said as I walked to the kitchen to grabbed a drink before going upstairs and, starting my homework in my room. I put some music on while I worked on my biology homework. After I finished I fell asleep watching a movie.

I opened my eyes to see the stars above me. It was cold and dark; the ground I was laying on felt cool and damp, like it had just rained. I went to turn my head to look and stopped when I felt a searing pain in my head. I make a painful noise as I reached for my head only to see something dark and wet on my hand. Was it blood? It was blood! I began to panic as my vision blurred slightly. I felt someone put their hand over my mouth. "Shhh, it's all gonna be over soon, precious girl." I heard a male voice whisper in my ear as a tear streamed down my cheek. All I could hear was my muffled screams as I felt a pain sear through my abdomen. Then everything went black.

I jerked awake in a cold sweat. I looked around the room and almost screamed before I realized it was just the woman from earlier. "You have to help me," she pleaded. I shook my head.

"No, I told you, I don't help people," I said to her.

"Don't you see what he's gonna do again!" She said more desperate as she reached out towards my bed with a pale hand dripping with blood. I began to shake.

"T-the dream, was that who you were talking about?" I asked her, as it wasn't unusual for spirits to make me have dreams of their demise. She nodded.

"He will come back," she said in a frightened tone.

I frowned at this. "Who is he?" I asked her, wanting and needing to know more. "If I'm gonna help you, I need to know more," I said to her before stepping out of bed. She shook her head.

"I don't know his name," she said to me as she looked down. I frowned.

"Well, what's your name?" I asked her.

"My name is Serenity Barker," she said.

"Well, nice to meet you Serenity, I'm Becky." I said before mustering up a smile. And that was the first time I agreed to help a ghost.

To be continued....

Hey guys, this is my second story. Be sure to be on the lookout for the next part of this story to find out exactly how all of this goes down!! Thanks for reading!

fiction
Like

About the Creator

Darby weatherly

Hi I'm Darby. I'm new at writing but have always enjoyed doing it. My favorite topics that I will probably be writing about most are horses and pets. Along with anything horror and gaming. Hope you guys enjoy my content! Thanks.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.