Horror logo

The Wishing Falls

a short horror piece

By Frank EnglishPublished 3 years ago Updated 2 years ago 10 min read
6
The Wishing Falls
Photo by Nsey Benajah on Unsplash

The Wishing Falls

October 17th was the last night I spoke to my brother. It's been two weeks now and as I hiked up the rampant river he was supposed to be camping at, I can't help but recall that last phone call. I remember being irritated that he called me so early in the morning, he was speaking nonsense and I was so tired from a party the night before I couldn't, or rather wouldn't make out what he was trying to tell me. He said he found all his Dreams beside the waterfall. I told him he needed to lay off the special brownies he's been into lately and to call me back in the morning.

Now the sound of the rushing water flowing downstream filled the mid-afternoon air. The birds chirped peacefully and the breeze blew through the trees and started to dry out my throat. Nature was around me singing its beautiful song. I remember seeing a few butterflies dancing in the afternoon sun. However, even with all this I've been following the river upstream for almost three hours now and the uneasy knot in my stomach sinks deeper and deeper. I pull my canteen from my camping gear and bring it up to my parched lips. A few scarce drops of water splashed on my tongue. I groan as I don't really want to slow down to grab the water bottles at the bottom of my backpack. I glance over to the river, the sun glistening off the running water.

The River itself wasn't very wide or deep, and I vaguely recalled reading somewhere that rushing water was safe to drink. Though I wasn't sure if it was true I figured I'd be okay and I got closer to the edge. The water here seemed more stagnant though, and I stepped into the water. The water rose to my ankle on the first step and a few more steps in and I was close enough to the middle that I could feel the water sloshing around my knees at that depth. I figured this water was as safe as any and I dipped my Canteen in.

As my canteen started to fill with the icy blue water low deep Snarls interrupted my thoughts. I slowly look up to see two Large Black wolves staring at me with their Teeth bared. Their deep yellow eyes in a trance locked on mine. Suddenly they jolted to life and ran straight towards me erupting in these Ghastly Devilish yelps. I fell backwards into the icy cold water and my body was trying to move so fast I couldn't move at all for a brief second. Then I was able to push myself out of the river and manage to get to my feet and I ran as fast as I could.

I ran until I could no longer hear the Howls of the wolves and then ran a while more. I finally came to a large oak tree on the side of the river, and I stopped at it to catch my Breath. My heart was banging in my throat and my whole body was vibrating as I slid my back down the tree. I sighed deeply and I took a large drink of the water I risked my life for. The cool water refreshed my mouth and I felt like I might finally be able to get back on my feet and find a safe place to camp for the night. I looked around for the river and realized that I couldn't see it anymore.

I started to look around frantically, feeling myself start to hyperventilate. I closed my eyes and took a deep breath. I opened my eyes and took in the Bright green leaves of the surrounding trees. I looked around the floor at the branches that twisted around like snakes on the floor. I took in the moss growing on trees helping me realize which direction I was facing. Then I heard the faint sound of crashing water to the North. I take a deep exhale and start to move forward, hoping that in my search for my brother I didn't get lost myself. As I moved towards the sound of the water I found that there was an almost eerie silence, the birds song that encouraged me earlier on had vanished in the thick evening air.

A Strange salty odor filled the air as the sound of the crashing water grew louder and as the sun slowly set leaving me wandering in the twilight hours of dust I caught a glimpse of water reflecting through the trees. A soft hum accompanied the sound of water. I walked into the clearing and out of the trees to stumble onto a small pond. Water fell from the small rocky cliff ahead of me and crashed into the water below. The water ran downstream and to the east, however I can't recall running that far away from the river I was following. I do a small turn to take in the forest behind me which I could hardly recognize from any of the other trees around me. I turn back to the water and watch as the light from the emerging moon and stars dance and flirt along the pond's ripple.

Without realizing I was moving I found myself staring at my own reflection on the edge of the water. I felt disconnected and strange as if I didn't even recognize the person in front of me. I heard the sound of a branch snap and I quickly spun around. So remotely lost in my thoughts the noise was more than startling to me, however staring at me from in the trees was a deer. Its eyes watched me constantly as it slowly walked between the trees. A slight yellow glow glimmered in its eyes. She was watching me and it made me uneasy. But the night was upon me and this was the best place to camp so I unclipped my backpack and tossed it to the side. The doe retreated slowly into the forest, but it's eerie behavior still chilled me to my bones.

The tent was simple to put up, as I paid extra for an easy mounting option. The forest wasn't my favorite place to be and I've never camped without my big brother before. As I set up I longed for the days we would camp out back for days and he'd tell me all the stories he had from being in the marines. My Older brother was the camper, he was the one with the know-how. That's how I know he is out here, he is a survivor. With the tent up I crawl inside and zip up the screen to keep the bugs out. I took out my canister and took a large drink, the cold water slightly calming my nerves, I reached into my bag and pulled out my travel journal. It was always my brother's idea to carry one, to document what we see, to maybe leave a story behind. While we were out camping at the beginning of last year, me, his wife and my girlfriend at the time, we all went to a neat little surplus store and bought matching journals. I flipped to the front after writing about all the weird things that happen today and gazed behind the front cover.

On the back of the leather cover was a plastic holder for a small 5 by 7 photo and in mine was a photo of him. He was at the beach with his wife Emily, his proud marine tattoo on his biceps poked out in the sun and so did their smiles. Happier times, three months later Emily died in a car accident and my big brother hasn't been the same. I'm sorry I let you get this low big brother, I'm sorry I wasn't there for you. A drop of water fell on the plastic covering and I wiped at my face and realized I was crying. I close my eyes and rest my head on my pillow to drift off to sleep

Green eyes locked on mine, the waterfall crashing, a scream. I woke up covered in sweat, I must have had a nightmare though I couldn't remember exactly what. My body was tense and I was scared. I heard a low female voice outside beside the water, it sounded sweet and it slowly became louder as I started to feel more relaxed. I grabbed my bag and rummaged inside for a flashlight as I made my way out to explore. The moon is right above me and shines onto the water and the waterfall casting a gorgeous teal glow around me.

“ Come … To me…” lyrics start to be heard as I glance out over the waters.

“Let me breathe… in you..” on the northmost part of the waterfall was a large rock protruding over the lake.

“Feed your emp...tiness..” that is when I see her. A Pair of green eyes lock against mine from across the pond, my heart beats slower as my body feels hotter. She pointed her pointy noise at me and watched me from behind her freckles.

“ take until …. You’re full..” I watched the curves of her lips as she sang, her blond hair falling down her bare chest, covering up her most delicate parts. I had no desire other than to be with her, she smiled at me and blushed her cheeks turning red as if she just now noticed how exposed she was. My throat burned with desire and my feet shambled forward. I felt as if my mind was no longer mine, but rather like my heart now belonged to her.

“Your touch is all.. I need” her words now rang clear, as if I was no longer hearing her with my ears but with my soul. I ran to her and she stood in the grass and opened her arms. I never felt freer, a light seemed to shine behind her, perhaps it was her aura shining it purifying light on me. Her hair falls to the sides and she is revealed to me as I crash into her embrace

“Come into me.”

I wake up in pain, my legs are on fire and my arms feel sore. I hear the faint sound of the crashing water. I open my eyes expecting to be in my tent but instead I'm in a cold damp cave. I feel water flowing beneath me and I feel my arms being held above me. I look up to see my wrist in shackles, my heart beat starts to rise and I look down in horror. My right leg was gone from the knee down. I screamed as my leg started to burn up more. My eyes dart around and I see that there are several chains attached to the wall and bones all around me. However across from me hanging against the wall was a single right arm detached from a body. The only thing left from the arm drained of blood and hanging limp for weeks was a marine tattoo on the biceps. I tried to scream again but a cold clammy hand gripped my throat and pulled my head back.

I was staring into Cold Dead fish eyes attached to a pale and slimy face. She had black frail hair and she opened her mouth to reveal long black teeth resembling nails sticking out of her gums. She slithered around me and I felt a wet tail slither across my left leg. That's when I looked down to see a fishtail with her fins where her feet should be. they was black and broken and she secreted this thick clear slime that mixed into the water I was sitting in and traveled down the cave where it mixes in with the waterfall falling at its entrance.

“ Get away from me..'' I tried to beg but she lifted a shell with her slimy and boney fingers and dipped it into the thick slimy water then she brought the shell to my lips. I tried to fight but she grabbed my face and forced the liquid down my throat. The slime oozing down my throat made me feel sick and I felt myself pass out.

Green eyes locked on mine, the waterfall crashing, a scream. I woke up covered in sweat, I must have had a nightmare though I couldn't remember exactly what. My body was tense and I was scared. I heard a low female voice outside beside the water, it sounded sweet and it slowly became louder as I started to feel more relaxed. I grabbed my bag and rummaged inside for a flashlight as I made my way out to explore. The moon is right above me and shines onto the water and the waterfall casting a gorgeous teal glow around me.

monster
6

About the Creator

Frank English

writing is my passion and boy do i have some stories to share!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.