Horror logo

The Wendigo

A true nightmare that I actually had

By Chloe Rose Violet 🌹Published 24 days ago • 3 min read
3
An image taken from Pinterest

Most people know what a Wendigo is because of the popular television series Supernatural. At least that's how I first heard of it. My step-brother fiercely believes he has heard a Wendigo in the woods before but I actually made fun of him for it because I didn't believe in such a thing. That is- until I had this nightmare a few weeks ago.

I haven't watched this episode since I was about 19 years old. It freaks me out thinking that something like this could exist.

For people who don't buy into Dean and Sam's explanation, I have done a little more research into the beings.

Wendigo, a mythological cannibalistic monster in the spiritual tradition of North American Algonquian-speaking tribes. It is associated with winter and described as either a fearsome beast that stalks and eats humans or as a spirit that possesses humans, causing them to turn into cannibals.

My dreams are usually pretty vivid. I keep having this recurring dream in which I move to a different community and start over. It's pretty cool actually. The house is really nice but the neighbours are a little weird. It picks up where I left off every single time.

But that's not what I am here to write about today.

This dream I had spooked me to the bone.

I never had a dream like this before.

I've heard whispering in my dreams before but never like this.

I was standing alone in the dream and a figure was standing before me. It was misty and in a forest area.

The creature looked like a human, and I was alone.

It whispered right in my ear, Wendigo.

I woke up covered in sweat right after that happened.

I told my partner in the morning what I had dreamed about as he doesn't dream at night and he usually finds my dreams fairly interesting.

But this one. This one chilled me to the bone.

It was the whispering. It was right there in my ear, taunting me with what it was. And when I say I never believed in these creatures before, I never did. But now I full heartedly believe in the Legend of the Wendigo.

The next morning I looked up the meaning of the dream, and what I found was really not good.

Most of what I found was on Reddit so I'm not 100% sure about how accurate most of it is. But I know it was a sign and a clear one at that.

While writing this post, I found another article that explained EVERYTHING.

If you're curious, I will link the post down below. It's for more spiritually centered folk but I know this dream chilled me to the bone.

This is what I think the dream meant:

In your dream, encountering a wendigo symbolizes a deep connection to power. Just as the wendigo possesses an inherent strength, you too possess an innate power within you. This power stems from your ability to tap into your primal instincts and embrace your raw emotions. You have the remarkable capability to assert yourself and achieve great things, both in your personal and professional life. This dream is a clear sign that you should trust in your own power and believe in your potential to make a lasting impact. Embrace the wilderness within you, for it is a part of your unique charm.

I swear it's going to take my whole life to figure out what that nightmare meant. It stuck with me, it really has- especially since I didn't believe in the creatures before this happened.

What do you guys think?

Am I being followed by a Wendigo? Or am I just being paranoid?

urban legendtv reviewsupernaturalmonsterhalloween
3

About the Creator

Chloe Rose Violet 🌹

Writing from the heart about love, life, music, mental health, and everything else in between. 💀🥰

•Follow me on Threads @rosefearless

•Like my new Facebook page ROSEFEARLESS

Purchase my affirmation cards here!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Novel Allen22 days ago

    Dreams are your subconscious thoughts, unless you had a huge meal before going to sleep. The it is just food nightmare. You choose.

  • Alyssa Nicole24 days ago

    The Wendigo is definitely at the top of my list of things that creep me out the most! As someone who has extremely vivid dreams, your dream sounds terrifying. But I really like your interpretation of the dream! It's so fascinating to think about our dreams and try to understand the underlying meanings.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.