Horror logo

The Veil

The demon

By Shelby ParkerPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
Like
First post so heres a pic of some artwork thats unfinished..

It always starts the same. The sound of water flowing slowly, the sight of fog, wrecked ships and vehicles, and the faint smell of Roses.

As I glance around I see an ocean. Cold, dark and occupied. There are other entities. I hear murmuring. No, whispers. The atmosphere feels uneasy and calming. It is almost suffocating. Glancing around the surrounding area becomes more clear. In focus. I see the ocean. The depth infinite.

I hear footsteps. The water has turned to glass. There are hands reaching underneath. I turn around quickly. I feel my anxiety rising. I am not supposed to be here. I am not supposed to see this place. I am not welcome. I see 'his' silhouette. He is closer than last time. His warm unsettling smile, his tidy blonde hair, his tall frame.. It is 'him'

For years he has been an acquaintance. Appearing in my dreams, manifesting behind me, guiding my choices. He was and is never summoned. He follows. Stalks from the shadows, stalks from the ceiling, the closet, the air that I breathe. He has no name but shows me this place every other dream.

I wake up. The lingering scent of sulfur and ocean salt lingers in the room. His shadow stands over me menacingly. I am frozen. My eyes open. I cannot scream for help. I try to lift my fingers and break free from the paralysis. I cannot fall back asleep. I glance around the pitch dark room. He is gone.

The next night. I am on my PC playing a video game. I feel a chill behind me. I lower my headphones and glance behind me. No one. I shrug it off and place my headphones back over my ears. The cold spot dissipates.

11 pm:

I am washing my face. The soft yellow glow from the restroom lights feels like a bright beacon to my sore eyes. An ocular migraine. Around me the air starts to feel thick. Breathing has become difficult. I feel pressure in the middle of my back...like a hand is pressing down. I shrug my shoulders and drop the wash cloth into the hamper. "It is nothing." I tell myself.

12 pm:

I am laying in bed replaying events from the past. My mind flying from topic to topic. I could have done this better. What if I said this? What would my life been like if I was born 30 years from now?

The floor creaks. I tell myself it is just an old house. Maybe shifting foundation. I hear my name whispered into my ear. The voice is soft, calming almost.

"What?" I ask impatiently. "No. Never mind. You are just my mind playing tricks on me."

The voice doesn't respond. I close eyes again only to open them again just as quickly. A hot flash of pain runs throughout my body. I sit up. The violet comforter stained with small specks of red. Blood. I stare at my left wrist which has three distinct scratch marks running down my forearm. I run to the lamp across the bedroom. Flicking the switch on I see...nothing. The pain has left, no scratches, no migraine.. Did I imagine this? Did my imagination make this pain, the blood and scratches up? Feeling uneasy I turn my PC back on. Maybe there is an explanation for this..I feel the air whoosh from behind my back. My PC crashes, the air conditioning stops and the air goes still. The room changes. I am back in the void. The veil is closer. He is standing in front of me. His hand is outreached. He gestures for me to take it. Everything is cold. He is smiling at me...

supernatural
Like

About the Creator

Shelby Parker

Hi I'm Shelby! My pen name is Cassio. On this page I'll be doing dream journals, comic ideas and story building, short horror stories, and some of my paranormal experiences from my life!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.