Horror logo

The Unknown

The Fear that Lies Within it

By Eliza VargasPublished 6 years ago 3 min read

Everything is dark. I feel like my eyes are open but I can't see a thing. Everywhere around me it is pitch black.

I try to move but I find myself to be unable to. I can't tell whether or not I am bound to something or confined in a small place. With every move that I try to make my skin burns. Not just on the surface but deep down as if whatever was causing the feeling was flowing through my bloodstream. I feel the sensation all over my body.

I take in an overwhelming scent. I think it's smoke. It fills my throat with a similar burning sensation to that which I feel throughout the rest of my body. I begin to choke on the smell.

I try to scream but no sound comes out. Not even a small hum. It's like my vocal chords had been stripped from my body and are no longer existent.

I begin to hear a combination of a small pitter-patter near my ears and a light sound of crackling in the distance. The sounds grow louder but I can still hear the sound of my heart pumping blood through my body over them.

Where am I? What's going on? Am I dead? Or am I dying? It feels as though I am trapped in a world of nothingness. As far as I can tell everywhere around me there is nothing. Is this purgatory? That would explain the smell of smoke and the sounds of crackling.

My mind wanders amongst the endless possibilities of what could be happening to me. It scares me. The overwhelming thoughts begin to make me feel as though I am going mad. Wait...

What if this is a dream? A nightmare. That has to be it. Now I just have to wake up. Please wake up. PLEASE WAKE UP!

Nothing.

Everything around me is still unknown. The irony is that I feel as though I am dying now in the same way that I lived. Doing nothing in a place of nothingness. I just existed, not even living in the way you may think of living your best life. It's like I was the tiniest of specs you would barely notice on a blank piece of paper. That's exactly what I feel like in this moment. The thought terrifies me to the core.

What does this all mean? Can I say I even exist now? There are so many things I want to know, I need to know. I want another chance to live! To really live this time not just to exist.

Suddenly I can move. My eyes are open now. My lips part freely. For a moment I rejoice. I can speak now and see myself... and my surroundings. I soon realize that despite the new change in my physical self not much has changed around me. There is just white around me. The clothes that I am wearing are all white as well.

no... No... No. NO! NOO!! When will this nightmare end? I am either surrounded in darkness or in a white light. Both completely empty. If this isn't the true definition of madness I'm not sure what is.

"Help me! Someone tell me, what is this? Where am I? Why am I here? Someone please help me." I begin to sob. I get down to the ground and curl into the fetal position. Rocking myself back and forth, almost feeling my mind crumble little by little within the walls of my skull.

I'm existing in the unknown. And there is no

Way

Out...

psychological

About the Creator

Eliza Vargas

LA, aspiring singer, actress, and writer

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Eliza VargasWritten by Eliza Vargas

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.