Horror logo

The Shark Rory

She had to go.

By Isis Lyons Published 3 years ago 5 min read
1
The Shark Rory
Photo by Gerald Schömbs on Unsplash

One billion years ago aliens nuked the whole entire earth. These aliens were called Glasphames. In their language this word meant Godly, Holy. They tried to kill off all beings on planet earth. They did not succeed; instead they just made all sharks stronger. Sharks could breathe on land; they were mutated but they formed way more cells in their bodies. They had about 30 million cells all throughout their bodies. I have no clue what was in that alien nuke, but it made sharks develop in ways people couldn’t even imagine back in the 21st century. Sharks nowadays aren’t even gray whitish anymore, they’re completely pinkish. Their eyes are all black and they feed off of each other and other sea animals. There aren’t any more human beings left; there’s just four armed beings walking around like they own the place.. And I, I’m Rory and I’m half Alien and half human. My father got abducted by this alien that had the physical appearance of a woman. She’s my mother and she taught me all that I know now. I have the ability to shape shift so that means I could shape myself into whatever form I would like. I transform my physical appearance into a shark because I love how they looked before the nuke hit earth. I’m always in the ocean swimming trying to investigate and find new beings in the ocean. I’m a curious creature; I always wonder what is out there. I wonder what I am not seeing that is not right in front of me. They say curiosity killed the cat, but lucky for me I’m powerful as it is. I am not afraid of anything; never have been, never will be. Besides all of my friends live in the ocean with me, so does my mother. We explore the ocean together running into nymphs and mermaids. We kill sirens before they kill us because they became crazy after the nuke hit them.I really have so much regret for being born sometimes because my mother and her race nuked the whole earth. I get depressed sometimes; sometimes I wish I knew what it was like to be “normal”. It hurts not knowing who my dad was. She killed him; yup my mother killed my father. That’s how these aliens reproduce. They’re like a succubus. They mate with their prey. It’s cruel and it’s not sane, but I’m used to it. They don’t know any better; that’s how they live. That’s how they lived all of their lives. The only reason I am not that way is because I am both human and alien. Humanity still lies within me. You’re probably wondering if there are more beings like me. The answer is no. My mom chose not to kill me out of boredom. That’s what she told me at least. Even as a child and her telling me this it made me have a heartache. Who knew someone like me can come out of something like her. I have empathy and sympathy; she just has more powers than I do. I’m surprised that she hasn’t killed me yet. Maybe a part of her loves me; I’d like to think that.

Living in the ocean helped me make some good friends though. The mermaids I meet are extremely sweet and they also helped me understand the idea of love. They’re the only beings that are empathetic in this crazy and messed up world. One of the mermaids I am really close to is named Blanca. She is the most empathetic person I know. When I was having trouble understanding why I had these heartaches, she sang to me so beautifully. It’s amazing because me and her; we didn’t speak the same language. I don’t speak at all actually; she could just read my heart. Mermaid’s ears are magical and strong; they can hear from thousands of miles away. She heard my heart and she just understood what I was going through so perfectly. I fell in love with her over time. I feel like she may have already known this, but we didn’t really know how to express our love for each other. Like I said, we don’t speak the same language, so it’s hard to understand each other, but I know she loved me.

Even if I could be with her, I couldn’t because my mother is crazy. Even though she shows me no love at all she is really protective over me. She doesn't like to see me with Blanca at all. My mother’s eyes literally turn red; like she’s ready to shoot fire out of her eyes. I have to quickly get away from her, so my mother can calm down. One day I guess my mother was done with always seeing me with her, so she killed her. My mother killed the only other being that I loved. I had to get my revenge over time because I couldn’t attack my mother right away. I had to wait until this alien “holiday” came up. A time where every alien would be in one space and the only time my mother actually spends time with me. The holiday is called Glasphames. Yes, they are this conceited.

What I was doing was suicidal. She was the only being who could kill me and I’m the only being that can kill her. I had to do it though; she was ruining my life. I had no happiness after Blanca died. She was the only thing left. I had other mermaid friends, but they were too scared to get close to me. I could only imagine why..

We spent this holiday on land this year because I needed a reason to be around weapons. Things I could use to kill an alien with. Top notch technology that can kill anything. I had to be in her lair. Believe it or not she trusted me. She couldn’t imagine me having the balls to kill anyone or anything. She was wrong. While she’s sitting on her sofa, I’m thinking of all the ways I can take her out. I walk to her weapon chest and I take out any weapon I could find and I shoot her in the head with it. A tear falls down my face as I drop the weapon. My heart breaks slowly, but I had to. She had to go.

fiction
1

About the Creator

Isis Lyons

I am extremely passionate about all things writing. If you enjoy any of my stories please stay tuned and subscribe. I would really appreciate it.

Instagram; @isisthepoeticgod

@_isisthewriter

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Jori T. Sheppard2 years ago

    Fantastic idea. Great premise. Very creative and enjoyable. Keep up the good work

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.