Horror logo

The Grate X

Loongooru

By Isis Lyons Published about a year ago 3 min read
Like
The Grate X
Photo by Daria Nepriakhina 🇺🇦 on Unsplash

The outside world was unknown to her, but she could see a glimpse of it through the window in his room.

“Everything is so gloomy… at least that’s how everything feels. What a sad, lonely, and lifeless place this is. They say they keep us here for our protection, but they only want to strip us from the truth.” Trees are hanging over the coast, and she watches the water rush into the sand. I walk towards her, I rub her shoulder softly; it’s just my way of comforting her. “No need to get gushy on me now, Zavius.” I rub my head, not sure what to respond with. “I agree we deserve to be free, but there’s danger out there, Monica. We’ve seen it ourselves; we know they’re not lying about the Grate X.”

“They could’ve created the Grate X!” She turns around, gets into my face and puffs up her chest. “Okay, Monica. Enough with these conspiracy theories. They’re doing everything in their power to protect all of us.” I roll my eyes… How can she think that RSI- Real Souls Institution is lying to us? We’re being fed everyday and protected from these strange beasts. We had more now than we did before the Grate X came to invade. “OUR FREEDOM IS BEING TAKEN AWAY FROM US! AND YOU’RE TOO BLINDED TO SEE THAT!” Monica vocalizes, “Don’t be so dramatic… No one wants you to get ripped apart by those long, scaly, pointy creatures. It’s too dangerous out there for us to be free and wild.” I specify. “I’m done talking to you about what’s actually going on. You’re living in a dreamland and I’m not going to be stuck in it with you.” She grumbles. I quickly walk away; I know there’s nothing I can say to make her feel better. I go deeper into the steel dungeon; it gets colder the further I venture into this metallic cave. I walk upon the strong metal as I view the mess that the Gate X sprung on us. Loongooru used to be a magical place; clean blue water, bright days and twinkles in the sky’s… Now it’s all blood shot red, brownish, and black water and infested sand. The trees are being destroyed more and more every second of the day.

Loud noises creep up to me; my body jolts backwards. I trip over a tiny nail and as I’m falling I reach my hand out. I grasp onto nothing and I fall like a bag of rocks onto the metal floor.

Darkness is all I see, but I can feel the whole world spinning. I’m out of control; my body is being dragged and panic consumes me. “Wha.. what is happening to me?” I mumble, I feel my body wanting to shut down but I force myself to stay awake. “Please… please answer me.”

“Shush!” A familiar voice hushes me, “Mo..Monica? Is that you?” I close my eyes and I drift off into a slumber.

I feel my head bang into something hard, I jolt up and I begin to hold my head… “What the..” I look up and it’s Monica with a sharp grin across her face. “What’s going on?!” She caresses the crown of my head, she takes her bloody hands and rubs them on her face. “WHAT IS WRONG WITH YOU?!” I shout, Monica begins to peel off her own skin; scales begin to appear upon her. My eyes widen, my heart beat fastens and there’s no where for me to run. She rubs her nails on my skin and the fear of her ripping me open is the only thought left in my mind. “I thought we were friends… no I thought we were more than that. I thought we were family.”

She looks at me with a menacing smile… “You thought wrong. I crave my freedom.”

supernatural
Like

About the Creator

Isis Lyons

I am extremely passionate about all things writing. If you enjoy any of my stories please stay tuned and subscribe. I would really appreciate it.

Instagram; @isisthepoeticgod

@_isisthewriter

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.