Horror logo

The Hidden Book

From Rags to Riches

By Ruby Estelle Published 3 years ago 10 min read
Like

I was taking the train from Berlin undercover when it all started. Using a fake identity of a dead person I was on my way to meet up with a corporate owner of a marketing company for an interview when my life took an unexpected turn for the better. After having had lost my house in a fire from a riot outbreak I was in the same clothes I had on for over a week. I felt like I was in rags. My T-Shirt under my sweater was ripped on the side where my sweater had got caught when I jumped the fence escaping the riot with nothing but my phone and my laptop bag.

Ever since I escaped I had been running. There was no real reason but I was afraid. Having had lost my empire I had built for over twenty years, my kids, my wife, my car and my life took away from me. People didn't look at me the same, why would I want to stay? The next thing, the only thing i had left was myself and my ambitions. Along with my fear that they were probably just waiting for the moment, and that is why I left.

Before the fire and riot I had gotten a video of my wife and kids sitting tied up. I was a complete mess, and couldn't imagine where I could start looking. The only thing I knew is they had been on a vacation with her mom. I was at home wishing I was with them but I had responsibilities like trying to find work since I lost my job. There was a virus outbreak, a pandemic, and the clubs? They were closed. I didn't want to let them go, I shouldn't have let them go, but what choice did I have? Me and my wife weren't getting along anyways.

Who had found them? Why were they threatening them? What did I do wrong? I asked myself the same questions every day. Thinking back and trying to remember something. Anything that would give me a clue. I had no enemies, and people liked me. I told myself every day they were fine, and that one day soon we would be a happy family again. If I could figure this out, get some money, and get a lead on where they were.

I had a plan and I knew that I could fix this. With a couple of hundred left in my wallet that was gonna keep me alive and get me going where I needed. It was enough that I could get a hotel, my beard trimmed, my hair styled, some food, and an interview outfit when I got to my destination. Luckily my phone was still connected. For anyone that saw me I probably looked like some cracked out homeless junkie who needed a shower and some clothes. It was pretty much accurate but I was stone cold sober and could really use a case of cold beer.

The only thing I had going for me was the fake ID i had saved that my friend gave me a long time ago in case of an emergency. And here I was five years later on a train running on my way to some interview from a random add online. Looking out the window and watching the scenery pass by I realized I was still a ways away from my final destination. Having two more trains to take and a long bus ride ahead of me I decided I would get a nap in the best I could. There was a couple of open spaces at my right luckily. Putting the arm down so I could stretch my legs out there was something in the way.

I felt under the arm rest and pulled out a book, whatever it was someone didn't do a bad job at hiding it. At first I thought it was a childrens' book pulling it from between the cushions underneath the arm rest. It was a black little book and there was part of it missing from the back. Curiously flipping through the pages I could make out names, dates, locations, and dollar amounts. Thinking it was a bank-log I flipped through the last pages before I got to the burnt binding where it was missing the rest of the pages I almost put it back down when I noticed something.

Every other log had a check mark and was crossed out, but the last one. I rubbed my eyes tiredly and put the book in my bag before anyone noticed. Thinking I stretched my legs out and put my bag behind my back and fell asleep. Abruptly waking up to a few people arguing behind me I checked my watch. Five hours passed and there was still four to go. My back hurt and I was hungry. Noticing I had missed the last call for dinner hearing the bell behind me I decided I would try and fall back asleep when I heard a guy behind me mention they were missing their book. By the sound of the conversation they were asking the people around them if they had found it since they changed seats.

I had been on the train for almost half a day, and when I got on here there was no one behind me. Someone else had been sitting where I was and I had watched them walk away and get off at the last stop. Thinking I quietly listened with my head resting against the seat. It sounded important that they got it back and I was a good person. Besides, what use was it to me? A financial log that dated back to who knows when. It was within my best interest to give to back but I was thinking. The one that hadn't been crossed of. Why? I wondered.

Reminding myself where I was going, how far I had made it, and who I was I reached my hand behind me when I heard a quiet grunt and what felt like and sounded like the sound of the person behind me falling into the back of my seat. I stopped and breathed. I trembled as I watched the other two guys behind me get up and walk past me. The train was preparing to come to a stop as the loudspeaker was announcing it. With discretion I eyed them as they walked off the train before I closed me eyes. Reaching back between the crack in the window and the seat I felt for someone when my hand stopped. Playing it off like I was stretching I yawned. Trying not to have a panic attack because of what I had just witnessed I did the unthinkable.

Standing up I acted like I was still stretching while I surveyed the people around me. None of them appeared to be paying any attention. Waiting for the people ahead of me to get off before I did thinking there was a good chance that the only reason they got off here is because this was where the logs coordinates were. Without knowing for sure I got off anyways. Thinking I had about completely lost my mind I took my glasses hat, and sweater off. It wasn't much but at first glance I would appear like I was unrecognizable.

Keeping my eye out I scanned the crowd looking for two tall guys with Fedoras' on. They both wore long black coats with jeans underneath. Walking fast I caught up with a group of people I had watch get off the train behind them. Not knowing how I should approach them I dropped my magazine I had rolled up in my sweater pocket and pretended like it was an accident. Loudly exclaiming as I bent over picking it up looking behind her was a young woman. She gave me a look like she was startled and turned back talking to her group. Picking up my magazine I realized my attempt had failed. Standing up I noticed black boots that looks like they belonged to one of the guys I looking for. Looking up to my right there they were standing and talking.

I had seen what they had done, had a feeling of what they were capable of, and yet I stood there. I could feel my palms getting sweaty and my heart racing. What was I doing? Who did I think that I was? A million thoughts ran through my mind while I just stood there. I anxiously anticipated the reaction that would reciprocate.

I could feel the hairs on the back of my neck stick up and blinked. Now what? What was I thinking I was even going to go? Now they knew where I was. Looking around I found the sign for the nearest restroom. I went in to a stall and put my accessories back on. I pulled the little black book from my bag and looked at the last page left. Taking out my phone from my pocket I typed in the coordinates. Why didn't I think of this before?

My phone pinpointed a specific location that was five miles away from me. The name of a lodge showed up and I took the book ripping it up and flushed the pages. I walked out from the stall and wrapped the binding in paper towels before throwing it in the garbage. I left and ran finding the nearest exit so I could find the closest street and catch a cab. Looking behind me I saw no sign of the boys with black coats as I walked out the doors and in the open. In a completely unfamiliar part of town I had never been before I looked around anxiously. Getting dizzy I gathered myself standing there thirsty, tired, and hungry. Coming back to my senses I waved down a cab and got in.

While I gave the driver directions I noticed the two guys out of the corner of my eye standing near where I had just been. Watching out of the window of the back passengers seat I saw them pointing across the street talking to police officers. Looking to my left as the driver took the next right I noticed the group of people whose attention I had tried getting earlier. A wave of relief went over me as the cab driver went to my destination. Passing by a flea market and a row of stores I took the last few minutes I had before arriving at a strange place to just breath. What was I going to find?

Getting out of the cab I gave him a $50 dollar bill telling him to keep the change. Walking towards the building with my bag I adjusted my glassed walking up to the glass doors. The building was empty and appeared completely vacant. Sitting outside of the door was a pile of newspapers and some mail. There was a briefcase sticking out from underneath the newspapers. Looking at it I flashed back a memory in my mind from looking at the book. There had been four random numbers on the side scribbled in ink by the coordinates. Pushing my memory to remember them I reached down setting down my bag and taking off my hat. Imagining what I would do and thinking I must be going insane I pulled the briefcase out and put in the numbers.

The locked clicked and the case opened. Surprised by what I saw I rubbed my eyes again. Thinking that I must be dreaming I was in complete shock by what I was looking at. Neatly wrapped up in bundles was a case filled with freshly printed cash. I closed it quickly and looked around. Seeing no one around me but a guy walking a dog across the street I waited for the next cab when I saw one coming down the street I waved it down. Getting ready to open the door when I noticed two guys wearing black fedoras getting out from either side.

psychological
Like

About the Creator

Ruby Estelle

Im Kezia, Family oriented & fun, loving, nature, people, music & animal lover. photographer, writer, cook, artist, lover & creator! I aspire world venture, vlogging, making a foundation, having a positive impact & inspiring you💕

🙏🌍🌏🌎☮️

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.