Horror logo

The Candle On The Windowsill

Trouble in Paradise

By Ruby Estelle Published 3 years ago 10 min read
4

Chapter 1

Falling asleep in an unfamiliar place there was a breeze coming through the windows while she could hear the waves crashing alongside the rocks for the first night in her life. Different from the chirping of crickets she was accustomed to. Dozing off after a long day she fell asleep surely thinking of the better days that lied ahead of her. After having had thought she finally escaped me I’ve been following her after I ruined the life she had built for herself and her three sisters.

Waking up for the first time feeling far and safe from a series of unfortunate events for her which took place in the past few months she prayed and lit her favorite scented candle, leaving it on the open windowsill. Which I imagine is the same Jasmine sea breeze smell she has always liked. She made her way in the bathroom of her hotel room. After flying halfway across the world how couldn’t she have? How could she have imagined that I would be here, watching her every single move. Only letting her think that she had escaped my cousin and I after kidnapping and selling her little sisters on the black market.

I watched through my binoculars while she opened her bag taking out what appeared were vitamin bottles before having a swig of whiskey that was on the counter by her wigs and make up. Pitty she is still beautiful because honestly I have been wanting to move on with my life, but her rejection and strength has made me grow revengeful yet attached. As much as I need her dead the man in me still loved her aside from the monster I’ve always been.

Not helping but to admire her long henna colored hair she had died and permed for the sake of hiding who she was, and the curves of her body seemingly having disappeared. Gritting my teeth as I took shots of my bourbon. There was a reason I framed her family, and I can’t let her find them after the lie they her mother told so I would stay away from her and keep my son away from her.

Marline had gone further than I had anticipated, but here I am. Sitting on the balcony across from her hotel room. Not even a thousand feet away anything but paranoid at the risk of getting caught. Her sisters were dead and her real parents in prison. She had seeked out protection from the government but fortunately for me she left a small enough trail I could trace her down to her exact location. Even with the change of name and disguise she used by demand of her guardians.

Chapter Two

I woke up from one of the worst nightmares I have had for a long while. Walking in the bathroom so I could fall back asleep. Grabbing the bottle of whiskey off the counter as I stumbled to my counter still half asleep from my-jet lag the night before. I took a flight halfway across the world running from this guy under a fake identity. Why? Is all I can ask myself in pain and terrified.

There wasn’t a shred of doubt in my mind. I felt like that something was not right, and I have no idea what I should do. Need them to never find me again. My sisters are the only thing on my mind and how can I save them from my crazy ex-boyfriend Nali. Who has never been anything but a struggle in my life. But how? When the only choice I had was going across the world as a means of hiding from him.

The only thing I could do was leave where I was in a means so I could distract him and keep him away from me. But the worry still lingers in my mind did he find me? Will I survive? Will my sisters survive? These questions haunting me like the nightmare of someone who needs to keep away. I took every precaution that I would be free, in a beautiful place, but what if my sisters aren’t enough? Worse, what if they’re dead?

No..no..convicing myself I thought them so much better since my foster parents disappeared. Grimacing in pain I remember everything life and survival has taught me. Dreaming of the day I can find my foster family and sisters back because even though everyone calls them liars, I still consider them my family. Nothing in the world means more to me than family. But freeing myself first was the first step.

Watching the light from my candle I wish I could shake this feeling that he had someone trace my every step and follow me here. I hope and pray not. Because I do not want any of them trying to find me than how could I find my family? Falling back asleep nothing mattered. I was finally free. Reassuring myself he did not have someone follow me across the world.

Chapter Three

She fell back asleep as I called my friend who worked at the hotel requesting a wake up call before check out as a means of having an alibi which would not put me at the scene of the crime. The money she had took is a clear sign she is not going to get away with anything. Not even as long as she lives. Escaping is one thing but the lies? Another thing. I could be moving on with my life, but not until she is dead and I have my millions back.

I do not care what her reasons are, I only care that she is dead. The taste of her skin and the aroma of her hair couldn’t possibly matter less. Not even the hazy blye grey of her lying eyes. Even with her Orange Curly hair and her slendered figure that was once round and curvey years ago before everything changed. . Nothing in the world could convince me. No matter what she said. It was always a lie. Gazing through her open window through my telescope over my silenced gun I

Thought. Perhaps I should play some games with her before moving on with my life. After the years the trouble her and her family caused me for years I figured I might as well make the most off her while I am here before my flight leaves again in the next couple off days. Plus I could keep away the suspicion I was up to something I shouldn’t be. This could be fun….Taking another shot of my bourbon I laid down so I could watch the news. It was only ten O’clock at night, and there bound to be something good on.

Flipping through the channels I could see there was nothing that was worth watching on. The different colors and items, people and sounds flashing through various Television adds I decided I would write down a plan of how I was gonna make this all work for me. I grabbed my phone as I started checking through the web on my phone of what was available around the area, I saw a flash of light in corner of my eye go out and I looked up to find her candle was out. What?

There couldn’t possibly be a chance. They couldn’t have possibly gotten out and followed me here. I started picking at my thumb as I reminded myself I was just getting overly paranoid from all of the meth I had smoked before I flew out here. There was nothing I could do as I sat down and took another shot of burbon. Who else followed her here? I almost hadn’t considered the possibility there would be someone else who could possibly find her.

Thinking of the possibilities and tracing the steps I made back before leaving realizing that perhaps they found me, and baited me with her escape…Realizing the possibilities I flashed my light switch off and on ready for action. I was getting tired of her every move I could kill her and leave but perhaps I could do away with them both. Getting their attention was the only way I could do that. Chances are that it was my son, or even worse her fathers’ uncle who had more friends and family in the game I had ever met.

Chapter 4

Sneaking in her room I noticed a candle and the window open. How could she? After everything she had been through. How could I? There was nothing that I wanted more than to be able and go in the past that I could find out what had happened before our parents were took in custody by her crazy ex boyfriend, my father. I had been keeping an eye on him for some quite time before I came back home for the second ever since I was took in a different country away from my sister and my foster parents.

I started walking silently so I could avoid waking her up as I put the candle out for the sake of her safety. The sooner I could get his attention the less of a danger she would be in from him and whoever else could be looking for him. Lately the city of Kuao had been a danger zone since the news got around my older uncle and aunt were in jail for a lie they said for the sake of keeping the community safe. Little did he realize this because he was too busy wreaking havoc.

Blowing out the candle I realized just how lucky I was I finally found her, alone away from him and all of his ways. The feeling of pride overwhelmed me as I watched her sleep with tears in my eyes. I had waited all of my life so I could be here when she needed me but he was always in the way. There had never been anything I could until now. Checking the time on my watch I decided there was something I should do before I got her out and ran. I had gotten a ship ready so we could leave as the moment came I heard word of him coming here when I was with my son Preau across from the Island I was now. Grabbing the chloroform from my pocket and my senses I gazed watching her sleep.

Unexpectedly before I could react I heard the sound of a silenced shot coming through the window hitting the pillow by where she laid. Panicking on my feet I ran and picked her up holding the cloth on her mouth and nose for when she woke so I could escape quicker. My life was on the line and soon I would find out if I would survive or risk everything for her. Running towards the door holding her as fast as I could I opened the door. I noticed two guards walking down the hallway their backs facing towards me. Walking swiftly I made my way for the emergency stairs and closed the door as quietly as I could behind me.

What next? The question rang through my mind as I heard a fire alarm go off somewhere in the building. Oh no. He managed getting this far quicker than I had planned for. I scurried down the stairs with Marline over my shoulders. Fighting back the tears of fear and relief I opened the door for the garage basement when I saw my car was gone.

fiction
4

About the Creator

Ruby Estelle

Im Kezia, Family oriented & fun, loving, nature, people, music & animal lover. photographer, writer, cook, artist, lover & creator! I aspire world venture, vlogging, making a foundation, having a positive impact & inspiring you💕

🙏🌍🌏🌎☮️

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.