Horror logo

The Girl by the Lake

A new lunch companion

By Matthew DonnellonPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
2
The Girl by the Lake
Photo by Martin Kníže on Unsplash

I was running the first time I saw her. I decided to take a different route and there she was, staring out at the water almost in a trance. I doubt she would have noticed me but I waved an said “Hi” so as not to spook her. It was still early in the morning. The mist was hovering over the lake and she almost looked like a phantom in the early morning light.

“Oh? Hi,” she said noticing me on the trail.

“I didn’t scare you did I?” I said as I walked past.

“No, I was just staring off into space.”

“Haha, it’s okay we all do it.”

I continued on my way leaving the woman by the lake to her daydreams.

She was there the next day.

“You come here often?” I asked.

“Most days,” she said.

“It’s quiet in the morning isn’t it?”

“Yeah, that’s why I try to get here before the sun comes up.”

“See someone gets it. I get made fun of for being an early riser.”

“Me too. My sister is the exact opposite.”

“My brother too. He doesn’t understand why anyone would get up before noon.”

We saw each other like that for the rest of the week. I learned her name was Alex. I would show up to run the trails by the lake and she’d be always be by the water. I would see her and talk for a bit and then I’d go on my way.

The next week I asked if she wanted to run together and she obliged. She was light on her feet and I barely noticed her. I would swear that her shoes were barely touching the ground.

She was in much better shape than I was. When I finished I was gasping for air, my shirt drenched with sweat, and my hair was matted firmly to my head. But she wasn’t even breathing hard and had not a hair out of place.

“You run often?”

“Not that much,” she said.

“Oh you’re one of those people.”

“What do you mean?”

“One of those natural athletes. If I don’t run every day it all goes away so fast. You’re lucky.”

“Well I’ve had my share of unlucky days so I guess it evens out.”

“I have an idea.”

“Yes?”

“Can you get back here today?”

“What do you mean?”

“Like can you leave for lunch at work?”

That seemed to catch her off guard, but she said, “I don’t have to work today.”

“Great. I have a long lunch. Want to meet back here?”

“That would be nice. I’d like that.”

I went through the some food options and we settled on a takeout place that happened to be near my office.

I jogged back to my car. Luckily, I had a shower in my office otherwise I’d only be able to run on the weekends. I cleaned up and waited for the day to go by.

Finally, lunch time came and I nearly ran out of the building to get to pick up the food.

I went to the lake, walking along the trails instead of running and she was in our normal spot.

“You beat me again,” I said.

“I like to be early.”

“Do you you stay here the whole time?”

“It was a nice day. I decided to spend it outside.”

“Not a bad idea.”

We sat on a log and I brought the food out. She held it and took a few bites.

“Ugh I haven’t eaten in so long this is good.”

“I know I’m staving too.”

We ate and talked. It was one of the best lunches I’d ever had. But, like all good things it had to be cut short when I checked my watch.

“See you tomorrow?”

“Of course,” she said with a smile. I left Alex by the lake and went back to the car.

Just as I got back to the parking lot I saw Alex on the sidewalk but she was wearing different clothes.

“Alex?” I asked.

She almost started crying, “How do you know Alex?”

“You’re Alex.”

“I’m her twin sister.”

Oh that explained it, “Oh I’m sorry she mentioned you.”

“When?”

“At lunch. I’ve been running with her all week. We’re kind of…friends.”

“You can’t be.”

“Why?”

“Because Alex drowned in this lake last year.”

fiction
2

About the Creator

Matthew Donnellon

Twitter: m_donnellon

Instagram: msdonnellonwrites

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.