Horror logo

The Frame

A Bargain find at a Thrift Store will have you Bargaining Everything Chapter One

By Allyson KieszkowskiPublished 4 years ago 4 min read
Like
The Frame
Photo by Clarisse Meyer on Unsplash

It was a typical day filled with chaos and laughter while our little family got

ready for the day. Just like any other, it started as me rubbing my eyes

scooting across our wood floors to the coffee pot. Half-awake half asleep

mommy zombie for lack of better terms.

As soon as the coffee that sweet sweet java hit my lips I was on the go.

Getting myself ready; throwing my hair up in a pony and hat, moisturizer,

and light make up so I didn't look like the sleep I had actually gotten the

night before. I was ready to embark on my day teething baby in tote! I saw

my husband off to work with a kiss as he ran out the door a couple of

minutes behind his normal departure time.

I was a new mother. Stay at home mother at that and it had taken some time

for me to become accustomed to not only motherhood but the lifestyle. I

looked around the house looked clean. I looked down at my phone it wasn't

blowing up which is actually not normal for at least myself. I had a

thought...Why don't get Melanie ready and finally check out the new thrift

store in town? I had been driving earlier in the week and had admired it as I

drove through our sleepy small town.

So, I put my cutie pie in her car seat, and off we went to the new thrift store.

As I pulled up I gazed at the front display in the window of the shop. They

had vintage mannequins dressed in what you would say very well kept

vintage 1920 dresses. I knew as soon as I opened the door of the shop and a

a bell rang above my head that this was going to be something fun for me

and my little one to do just for my own sense of well being and sanity.

I was currently adjusting to going out more now that our daughter was no

longer a newborn. Now that Melanie was a toddler I felt as though I had

some more freedom back in my life. Of course, now that meant my schedule

drastically changed. The days of feeling like a prisoner in my own home

filled with cluster feeding and late nights due to teething were now sudden

replaced with play dates, Montessori school drop off and pick up three

times a week, trying to manage the home, my relationship with my

husband, my side alteration business I took on for some extra money.

I obviously needed a day like this no obligations just able to do whatever I

would wish with Melanie today. The thrift store was a pure delight as soon

as I walked in I was greeted by an older woman. I'd say she had already

retired and this was something she wanted to do after. She was a busy

woman with curly silver-pepper hair; a deep raspy voice yet the warmest

smile only a grandmother could give.

"May I help you find anything?"

I replied with a smile "No Thank you we are just getting out for the day. I

saw your shop display earlier this week you must have just opened?"

"Why yes, I opened just this past Tuesday. However, you are my first

customer. I guess the locals must take a while to get used to someone new in

the town I am taking?"

"Oh yes this is a small town everyone knows everyone whether or not we like

it or not it comes with the territory of growing up here. But don't worry I

bet you'll be having a lot of customers soon it just takes time for people to

warm-up to anyone new so please don't let that discourage you from

opening your shop here!"

I started looking at a bookcase that had purses and hats on display all

vintage you could see the timeline of eras, fads, and how fashion varied

from decade to decade. Instead of really calling this a thrift store I felt like I

was walking into a museum of sorts. That's when I saw it. I was intrigued at

my first glance I instantly wanted to pick it up and admire it as though it had

actually found me and not the other way around.

"Ah HA! You like my Great-great grandfather Mac's picture frame I see!"

The shop owner said with excitement yet slight worry in her tone.

fiction
Like

About the Creator

Allyson Kieszkowski

I am a stay at home mother in rural Indiana that enjoys writing about daily topics regarding family, parenting, kids, and the ups and downs of life.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.